We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,220)
Filter reviews
2,220 results
Traveller rating
1,362
676
115
46
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,362
676
115
46
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfamous hofbrauhaushofbrau housebreakfast buffetbeer hallold citythe air conditioninglovely hotelquiet roomtwo blocksloved this hotelcentral locationby european standardsreception staffwithin easy walking distanceminute walkvisiting munich
Filter
Updating list...
1,175 - 1,180 of 2,220 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Have been staying @ Platzl for many years. The hotel has a brilliant location and serves one of the best breakfasts we've ever experienced. What else a traveller may need?

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Very confortable, clean room and really nice staff, well located in the city-centre (2 minutes from Marienplatz by walk), easy to reach and difficult to forget! An ideal place where to stay in Munich and really not expensive. It has also a very usable relax area with sauna and solarium.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matteo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed here with the in-laws whilst visiting the Christmas markets in December. It is clean, in a fantastic position and has a great little bar for a nightcap. It is a hotel in a tradational Bavarian style rather than a modern hotel and this added to its charm. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Munich.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We found this hotel to be very comfortable and welcoming. The staff were all extremely helpful and helped to make our first visit to Munich a very pleasurable one. We would certainly consider staying with them again.

Room Tip: Specify a non-smoking room at time of booking if that is your wish as they may be short on them if you only specify upon arrival.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We wanted to spend a few days in Munich to attend the Christmas markets and do some shopping, so we chose the Platzl which turned up to be the perfect choice

The Pros:
Perfect location, a short walk to the Marienplatz and all the famous walking and shopping streets
Meters away for several very good restaurants including Dallmayr, The Hofbrauhaus, the hard rock café, and Pfistermuhle
Excellent breakfast
Very friendly and helpful staff
Renovated in 2007 and our large deluxe room was very nice
Very close to the fresh food market (Viktualienmarkt), and walking distance to the English Garden.

The Cons:
Internet is not free but costs 4 Euro per day which is much better than the other hotels we checked
The street outside can get noisy specially if we open the windows. They do have quiet rooms overlooking the courtyard but I understand they are pretty small
Most of the TV channels are in German and the few that are in English are news channels
We very much enjoyed our stay at the Platzl and will surely choose it when we visit Munich again.

Room Tip: Choose a large room if you do not mind some street noise.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherif S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews