We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but some strangeness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel
Ranked #56 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location, but some strangeness”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The best thing about the Sheraton Westpark is that the location is brilliant. Right next to the U Bahn and S Bahn entrance made it perfect in the snow. Room was clean and spacious with comfy bed.
Walking into the hotel was slightly strange as the revolving doors clearly had a "No Bags" sign on them and pointed to the door next to it, which had a sign on it indicating that the door was broken and to contact the staff if help needed. My husband and I got very confused as we didn't want to cause a stir by bringing our luggage through the door which had a "No Bags" sign on it. So I got someone to help him while I checked in, who just took the bags through the "No Bags" door! Not a huge problem, but maybe a sign needs to be put up explaining that you can take the bags through that door.
There was a horrible smell near the lobby lift and we could smell it on the 10th floor lift as well.
One particularly strange happenning was one day was when we were sitting in the room and I herad what sounded like someone trying to open our door. I got up and saw a member of the hotel staff (or what looked like it) walk off. From then on, our keys wouldn;t work in the door which slightly un nerved me. We got it fixed up, but it was just odd.
Restaurant very expensive as well when not many restuarants around.
Great for a business hotel, but was a bit of an odd stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyp09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander_Bieber, Executive Office at Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Hello „nyp09“,

we read your comment with care and apologize for having you leave with a strange feeling. I assure you immediate attention and follow up on the stated issues but for what I could investigate now we had to get our side entrance fixed and didn’t take down the signage (NO BAGS) on our revolving door for that short time which led to confusion. Because it is tough to push baggage through alone, we therefore posted a sign to please ask for assistance. Sorry if it was a bit of a hassle for you.
Concerning the smell we did manage to get rid of it after fixing a process in the system of waste disposal.
Locks can be reprogrammed only through our personnel from Engineering. There might have been the need of doing so and we will talk to the head of this department about this. We regret the coincidence of these points during your stay and hope to see you again to show you our full attention!

Wolfram, Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    547
    142
    31
    15
See reviews for
206
390
77
268
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I have stayed in this hotel several times on business trips and was always very pleased. The staff is friendly, the rooms are big and clean and the spa area gives you a good chance to relax after a day full of meetings.
Since it is directly located at subway station, you can get to the city center within 20 min.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robirob15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander_Bieber, Executive Office at Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Hello "Robirob15",

Just wanting to spread the news to you as well that our spa area is closed at the moment due to renovation and remodelling this area into a great gym. Please check it out on our website to read more about this great holistic program called “Sheraton Fitness programmed by core performance”!

See you soon?

Wolfram, Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
purley
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Attending a trade exhibition at the Munich showground’s this hotel may not be the natural choice. However with the underground station right outside the front door and a less 30 minute journey time it was just right. 15 euro taxi ride to the city centre.

An excellent hotel. Very comfortable well-appointed and well thought out bedrooms, good bar area and good though expensive restaurant. Very clean. Germanic efficiency at its best!

Great for business and a good choice for leisure with a short ride to the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardPurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander_Bieber, General Manager at Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Hello „RichardPurley“,
Thanks for this positive comment. The direct connection to the underground enables our guests to reach their destination in the centre quick, comfortable and for low cost. Our branded “Sweet Sleeper” beds provide you the most comfort and a good nights’ sleep before important meetings. Have you noticed our free of charge internet terminals in our lobby “Link@Sheraton”? Also one more hint for any further stays: we are opening our new fitness area with sauna in March again where you can work out & relax after a long business day. Looking forward seeing you again!
Alexander, Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuoetting
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

location: not exactly in the center but the U-Bahn station is in front of the hotel. The best is to buy a day or 3 day trip single or partner ticket. 3 stations to the main train station, not a problem. parking isn´t a problem, one can use the parking of the hotel 20E per day or park on the street 4E per day.

Hotel: 4 Stars. I can only review a CLUB-Room,. These rooms are on the tenth floor and depending of the location one has a very good view of MUC Some rooms overlook the train station, most of the time, it still remains quiet. The size of the room is average and one finds everything one needs for a nice stay. Very unusal to get a special mirror with light in the bathroom to shave or put make up on. Normally reserved to 5 Stars. Little details in the bathroom count a lot, for exemple, a soap dish!! But do not accept a room with communication door, this is bound to go wrong (see below).

Club: all is there for a nice breakfast or snacks during the day. Soft drinks or wine and beer to prosecco. As the wine bottle had only one glass left in it, the service person bought another one straigth away without having been told! This a nice service. But should anything go missing, one can ring up and ask for it.

INFO: the spa and swimmingpool area is shut until the end of March2012. I didn´t find any mention of it on the website, even looking carefully. But it was mention on my confirmation (small printed) once I had done the booking. it is ok, I suppose as long as one reads carefully or one doesn´t make a non refundable booking?! I told the people behind the reception and they were very nice about it. Took note of it and told me they would investigate.

Service: Super nice. We got greeted by all the employees without any exception. As I did mention the lack of information about the spa being shut, we got a bottle of wine sent to our room with a plate of nicely presented fruits. The is the attention that counts. We check out early after having had a very bad night due to our very loud neighbours (for which the hotel isn´t responsible), we got a full refund. The reception lady was helpful, would have moved us, but as she realised we wanted to check out, she accepted it and remainde very nice. Very unusual! Thank you to the staff.

facit: this is very difficult to judge a hotel. Some things can go wrong anytime, it did with us, but the way the staff handle the situation, was very good and one can see that the management is really behind it . From the location to the service, there was nothing negative to report and this hotel is certainly a good alternative to the very expensive hotels located nearer the town like le Meridien or the Bayerpost. We stayed last year in "le Meridien", De Luxe room, we did find that the room was super nice but the service wasn´t as good as in the Sheraton Westpark!

Room Tip: Club Room without communicating door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odile R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander_Bieber, Executive Office at Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Hello „Odile R“,

thanks so much for taking time to write this informative comment. To ensure you will not be put into a club room with communication door we would like to update this in your profile in our system here with your permission. Please send us a quick email through the "contact us" option on our homepage if you like to do so and we will take care of it.

Our remodelling phase of our wellness area is moving to an end and we will be opening our new fitness area in March with a great program called “Sheraton fitness programmed by core performance”. You may check it out and track it viewing our homepage or visit our Facebook page for some pictures as well.

We will share your comment among our teams and thank them that they did the right thing. It is our motivation to hear that our efforts in fixing issues and managing the relations with our guests are successful. As you said things can go wrong but it is our task to follow up to ensure you are taken care of!

Warm regards from Munich,

Stephanie, Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I recently visited Munich on a business trip and had very little time to book or plan my stay over. I found a great rate on this hotel and booked without further references.
The room was clean and very comfortable, the location a little bit off the grid but with excellent connection via U-Bahn. You must consider almost 1 hour to get to the airport via public transportation but if you plan ahead it beats sitting in traffic if you try to get there in a taxi.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panama-Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander_Bieber, Manager at Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Hello „Panama Frank“

Thanks for having faith in us in this world of pre-checking references. Hopefully we won you over and will see you more often :-)

Marco, Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.2 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Munchen Central
6.6 km away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
1.9 km away
angelo by Vienna House Munich Westpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
The Westin Grand Munchen
1.4 km away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
6.3 km away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#72 of 382 in Munich
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel

Property: Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel
Address: Garmischer Str. 2, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Munich
#31 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#40 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#51 Family Hotel in Munich
Price range (per night): $125 - $607
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing