We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard room is terrible, but the location makes it up.”
Review of Am Sendlinger Tor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Am Sendlinger Tor
Ranked #356 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The location was excellent, you can walk to nice restaurants and city center easily.
This is almost a hostel. Service is poor, there is no restaurant or cafeteria, the lady from the front desk didn't speak good English and was not able to recommend a tour, the vfree wifi didn't work that well for me.
The room was tiny and not comfortable. We asked to switch, and were upgraded to the nice suite that appears in the photo... That was nice, although there were some problems there too, such as broke drawers and one infiltration in the bathroom.
But it's worth staying there due to the great location and good rates.

Room Tip: Room 109 (actually a suite) was fantastic, but it's probably more expensive.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliana0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Am Sendlinger Tor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

Good location, 10 minutes from everything pretty much, fine neighbourhood. Staff helpful when we arrived, recommended somewhere to eat, provided map etc.
Considering it was -10 outside, we were relieved that the room was nice and warm! The room is medium size, the bathroom was pretty small. We each had one pillow and they were pretty insubstantial, although I guess we could have asked for another.
The furnishings are fine, plenty of drawers etc.
Wifi was totally fine, no issues connecting, steady 3mb connection at all times. We didn't try the TV.
Although the other people staying in the hotel we not particularly noisy, we were aware that the wood floors and thin doors meant that this is the hotel where noise travels, even though we requested a quiet room. We were not disturbed as such, but there is definitely potential for that.
The main gripe, such as it is, is the poky bathroom. I won't add to the other pictures that have been posted, suffice it to say that they're functional rather than pleasant, the shower in particular. That said, everything worked, plenty of hot water, fine really.
You could do worse than this hotel, particularly if it's used as a base for exploring the city.

Room Tip: If you walk out of the hotel and cross straight over the road, there's a nice bakery where you c...
Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank jk80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I repeat FREE wifi in the room! High speed! Not in the lobby and not paying 40$ like many other hotels in Munich. With the underground two minuts away this was just perfect!! Rooms are good too!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannaaase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We reserved our room a week in advance to find it occupied. Not a great start after a seven hour journey. The night porter who in fairness was left to pick up the pieces offered us a single room with a 1.7m wide bed until the next day when we would get our room. Worn by travel we agreed. The room was awful & would take too long to describe. Next day true to his word we were given a proper room on the first floor, which was perfectly good. The remaining two nights were fine,the bed was very comfortable, no complaints. Staff were not exactly tripping over themselves to assist but were helpful when asked.
The real advantage of this hotel is it is five minute stroll to the dead centre & one minute to the U Bahn. It is the same distance to the shop filled Sendlinger Strasse. This makes up for a lot of it's faults. A bit dear at €11 pp for breakfast (which was never offered) instead go across the street to the top of Sendlinger to the Bakery/Cafe & enjoy a healthy start for about €5 (coffee & a fresh baked sandwich)
Because they messed up the booking I have to deduct a star. Very basic but ok.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is more like a workers hostel than a Hotel & have no double glazing, very noisy...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingAngeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The worst hotel I have ever been in my life. I think even the budget backpacker hotels would rate better.

The lady at reception was good enough to let us go after we paid for one night. but apart from that I will let the pictures do the talking.

Stay away from this hotel people. This hotel should be closed down.

Room Tip: You can find lots of good hotels in around Hauptbahnhoff, which is very close!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Georges_Kevork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Atlanta
Hotel Atlanta
#271 of 385 in Munich
130 reviews
0.0 km away
Acanthushotel
Acanthushotel
#236 of 385 in Munich
136 reviews
0.3 km away
Centro Hotel Mondial
Centro Hotel Mondial
#259 of 385 in Munich
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Der Tannenbaum
Hotel Der Tannenbaum
#323 of 385 in Munich
62 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel du Train
Hotel du Train
#341 of 385 in Munich
314 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Am Sendlinger Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Am Sendlinger Tor

Address: Oberanger 47, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #356 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $86 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Am Sendlinger Tor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityhotel-munich Hotel Am Sendlinger Tor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Am Sendlinger Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Sendlinger Tor Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing