We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$187
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 June
No prepayment needed
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Joy D

Lovely decor and super clean

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Aug 2020
The staff in this hotel was friendly. The room was clean. The bathroom was modern and felt new and clean. The room had great decor...art deco style. It was spacious.. It was very convenient for going to the centre of Munich which is a great city.
Date of stay: August 2020
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Florian Maier, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels, responded to this review
Responded 3 Sept 2020
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your 5* review. It makes us happy to see you enjoyed your stay at Metropol a lot and found our hotel to be the perfect choice for staying with us while visiting Munich. Great you appreciated the amenities we offer and enjoyed the friendliness of our staff as well as the cleanliness of our house. We are looking forward to host you and your family again soon in the future.

Best regards
Yours Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$379
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels
Restaurant
Room service
Tripadvisor
AU$256
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.8 km from Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$253
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.6 km from Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Tripadvisor
AU$155
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Tripadvisor
AU$269
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
29.6 km from Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels
Pool
Restaurant
Room
Tripadvisor
AU$220
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Hilton
    AU$220
3.5 km from Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$450
  • Expedia.com
    AU$482
1.6 km from Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$370
  • Hotel Website
1.8 km from Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$403
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$217
  • Priceline
8.5 km from Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Munich
Reviews (2,351)
Filter reviews
2,351 results
Traveller rating
1,535
686
106
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,535
686
106
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet street train station great hotel excellent breakfast side street minute walk would stay here again walking distance convenient location excellent location comfortable room city break visiting munich old city air conditioning s bahn yogurt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 2,351 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2020

Chose this hotel during our road trip through Southern Germany as it was close to the centre of town, no more than ten minutes, and it has private parking. Let's talk about this. The parking will not work for you if you have a very large car, you park underground on relatively narrow ramps and it is tricky. That aside, the hotel is very comfortable for a short stay, we even had an unexpected terrace in our room, there is not much storage space in the room if you are staying more than a few days. The highlight of this hotel has to be the breakfast. Immense variety, you can make your own juice, there's all sorts of tea blends, there's even a honeycomb to use as a sweetener, never seen this before anywhere. Definitely take the breakfast option, you won't regret it. Staff at the front desk are very helpful and friendly too.

Date of stay: August 2020
2  Thank TangoHotel1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Florian Maier, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2020

Dear guest,

so nice reading your feedback. Thanks a lot for sharing your positive experiences with us and other guests. Hosting you again would be wonderful.

Best regards
Yours Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2020

Our hearts sank when we walked into the lobby of this hotel, which is dark and dingy. Even the front doorknob is a shabby, broken-down piece of wood, and not a glamorous kind of shabby either. In addition, the layout of the lobby is so poor that it allows for only one or two front desk people to be on duty, which meant we had to wait both to check in and check out.

To our surprise, however, our room was lovely - clean and newly renovated with an excellent bathroom and firm beds.

(The renovation seemed a bit confused about the placement of the TV, however, which was pointed at an area with no bed and no couch. Should the viewer float in air while watching her favorite programmes?)

I'd be happy to recommend the hotel to other travelers - and I'd recommend to the management that they work on that lobby.

In particular, the three steep steps required to get into the hotel could be replaced by a ramp to help the disabled, parents with strollers, and people like us with heavy rolling luggage.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerKate8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Florian Maier, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2020

Dear Kay,

thanks for your visit and your review. Hosting you was nice and we are glad you liked your stay at Metropol. The location of our hotel is very central and makes it super easy to go and get to the central station but also to the city center of Munich. Great you enjoyed the amenities of your room very much and appreciated the friendliness of our staff too. Looking forward to host you again.

Best regards
Yours Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2020

Amazing staff, amazing breakfast and location close to central station, metro, bus and train. Also, is very close to the city center. The rooms was very cleanest and quiet. Highly recommend this Hotel.

Date of stay: July 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank palomapspimenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Florian Maier, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2020

Dear Paloma!:-)

it was a pleaure hosting you recently. Thanks a lot for sharing your positive review. It makes us happy to see you enjoyed your stay at Metropol a lot and you would stay with us again! Hopefully you will return to our hotel soon again as we would love to convience you again.

All the best.
Regards
Yours Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2020

Nice room, clean, airco, comfy.
Garage is tricky as there is not much space to maneuver the car.
Breakfast is awesome!
Neigbourhood is not great, but it is very well located (close to central station, old town and restaurants), and in a quiet street.

Date of stay: July 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank klaas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Florian Maier, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2020

Dear Klaas,

hosting you in July was a pleasure. Thanks a lot for sharing your review and your positive experiences you made during your stay at Metropol. Great you enjoyed your stay and found the location of our hotel to be perfect for any excursions to the city center of Munich. So nice to read you liked the breakfast we offer very much. It's indeed a wide selection of food we offer. Our staff is always happy to host and welcome our guests and of course we do also always try to keep the friendly service up even though there are busy times. We are looking forward to host you again.

Best regards
Yours Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2020

Great hotel right next to the Munich Central station. Very clean hotel and superb breakfast. The front desk lady was so helpful. We arrived early but she made sure we got an upgraded room for free so that we would not have to wait !! Made our stay memorable. Staff was very nice and helpful. Clean hotel. Very convenient for tourists since hop on hop off buses start from a block away.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Rajiv_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Florian Maier, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Metropol by Maier Privathotels, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2020

Dear Guest,
it was a pleasure to welcome you to our home recently. Thank you very much for giving us your evaluation and letting us know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel very much.
We are very happy to read that we could inspire you with an upgrade. After an exhausting journey every guest should be able to relax with us. We always do our best to check in early and clean a room preferably. Many thanks also, for the nice words about our reception team. We were happy to share them with our staff.
We would be happy to welcome you back near the future
Yours sincerly
Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews