We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
25
80
53
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
80
53
18
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

The hotel is located very close to the city center and for business trips, but the personnel and the quality of the rooms is not at the same level. A very old style hotel that would need a refurbishment

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Bombeiro_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

Booked 3 rooms during fair in Nuremberg. Cancelled one of the room with 2-3 weeks advance cause of illness of one of the participant. Still they charged 940€ for this unused room cause of greedy booking policy that you have to cancel 30 days before arrival during the fair time. I was told that the hotel was fully booked during this time so they are charging 940€ for nothing.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Geir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

I often stay at this hotel when in Erlangen, been doing this for 8 years by now, time to give a review. The hotel feels a bit old and the surfaces in the rooms may have a scratch here and there, but are clean and nothing is broken. The rooms are fully equipped and have wall outlets at the bed table for easy charging of telephones and the best of all, the rooms have shoe horns! The hotel breakfast is well made traditional German style with some additions, like freshly made omelette and state-of-the-art Franke coffee machines. The staff is nice and friendly

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank JoakimThulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayhofer, Manager at Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Joakim T.,

thank you for your review and thank you for being a loyal customer.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Best wishes, the management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

The breakfast is good in a nice area.
The rest of the stay is less nice, I stayed here 2 times. Both on the front side. This is very noisy, since you are directly next to the outside terrace and you can hear the bar and the music. Also the wifi did not work in my room.

So overall, I would recommend another hotel, but i am sure there are worse options.

Also it seems that guests in other rooms have better reviews, so try to avoid the rooms in the front.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank ks942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayhofer, Manager at Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear ks942,

thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you liked our breakfast and the hall. We have not had many complaints about the front being noisy, but we understand that might happen.
In this case, should you return, please refer to the front desk and let them know - we will taking measures accordingly.
In the upcoming two years we will renovate our rooms and move the bar to another place within the hotel, so the noise should get less.
We would love to have you back as a guest some time soon.

Regards, the management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

This hotel need urgently a renovation. The restaurant is terrible, nothing to eat. The only normal room is the breakfast room, the breakfast is ok and the restaurant for breakfast is good. The room and the furniture is old and used used used, no viewes. The reseptin is not good. They give as for three persons only two towels. Thehotel is good situted in Erlangen town centre. but even for bussiness trip i would recomend to surch for something better
I leave the room at 9:00 and i came back at 17;00, could you image they have not done the room. I ask why they answered me they do not have time. I had repeted the question and then they make up the room

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayhofer, Manager at Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Luis D,

thank you for reviewing our house. We are pleased you enjoyed the breakfast in our traditional breakfast room.
Starting 2018, we plan to renovate our guest rooms and expand our hotel.

We appreciate your feedback but we are really surprised about your comments regarding there being nothing to eat in our restaurant „Rosmarin“. As an excellent restaurant in Erlangen – which has been rewarded by Gault&Millau und Michelin several times – and still receives overwhelmingly positive reviews for its food and service, we are very surprised about your comments
Our Restaurant is open from 12 to 14.30 at noon and open again from 1800 to 2200 at night. Our bistro is open from noon until 23.30 at night and after that guests can still get two different dishes from the bar until its closed.

Certainly, there must have been some kind of miscommunication regarding your room. Our cleaning staff is constantly trained and is very meticulous when cleaning the rooms. We checked our cleaning schedules for this certain day, interviewed our head of house keeping and verified that your room was clean by 16.00 the latest. Furthermore we checked back with our receptionist that helped you with the check-out and she told us that you didnt issue any complaints – not about towels or your room.

Nevertheless, we will report your feedback to our responsible superior / house staff and will make sure to further better our communication. Therefore, your feedback is very much appreciated.

We would be delighted if you visit us again and give us the opportunity to convince you of our house.

Sincerely, the management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews