We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing Experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel
Reviewed 29 September 2017

We booked our stay through American Express Travel, believing we were getting a room at a four star property; I was disappointed as soon as we arrived. In spite of very dated decor, the hotel has great unrealized potential primarily due to its great location. It's an older building, but could be easily improved with a deep cleaning, and updating of the mauve and teal furnishings and carpets that appear to date form the 1980s. Unfortunately, I would agree with some of the other reviews posted here that the less than friendly staff does a poor job making up for the property's shortcomings. Our major complaint though, was with the excessive heat in our room. The hotel's hot water system is used to heat the floors and towel warmer in the bathrooms, but there is no thermostatic control, so its always on. Our room was easily 90 degrees F or more when we checked in. When I asked the grumpy night manager what could be done, He said, "nothing, its always that way; open a window." Eventually, we negotiated a fan, but the room never cooled to below 80 degrees. It was really quite miserable sleeping. We stayed two nights, and moved on. This is a four star property by definition of amenities perhaps, but is definitely not what one would expect from that designation or price point. Simply put: Spend you money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RoadDogFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

I had planned for a weekend but left early after my first night. The room was noisy and hot as there are no fans for summer heat. The staff was not nice. The wellness/spa is only open 4 1/2 hrs a day and is quite small. 3 people fit.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at this hotel. We found both the front desk staff and the breakfast staff to be very professional and helpful. It was hot in Bavaria during our visit. We requested fans for our 3 rooms, but the caretaker had already left for the night. However, they did manage to find one fan for our pregnant daughter's room, and the next day had fans in all of our rooms. The front desk was great with recommendations and informed us of the upcoming parade and beer fest. The rooms were nice and the balcony was enjoyable. We also enjoyed the breakfast with all the different jams and the made to order eggs. Free parking was available but a little scarce at times. Heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie0319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

This hotel does not deserve four starts at all. Maybe it had some quality in the past but definitely not any more. The rooms are outdated and they do not care about the cleaning at all. The breakfast is OK, rather poor. The strangest think out this place are the employees. It needs a special talent to put so many weird and rude people in one place. If you want to enjoy Garmisch Partenkirchen, avoid this place where the guests are the nuisance for the staff.

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank Kaca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Ample parking, great location, easy walk to shopping, Great staff, Super Breakfast. Views are ok, outside eating is super if desired, Balcony outside rooms great for morning coffee, large tubs in bath.

Room Tip: Rooms away from front are off the main street. No noise on side street or little river end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank33rso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
1.5 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Obermuhle
Best Western Premier Hotel Oberm...
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
44 reviews
0.5 km away
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
Reindl's Partenkirchner Hof
#15 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
339 reviews
1 km away
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenk...
#11 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkir...
#17 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
709 reviews
1.2 km away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
231 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#33 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Von-Brug-Str. 24, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 42 Hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: $208 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Wittelsbacher Hof Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing