We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit...after 14 years!”
Review of Dorint SportHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorint SportHotel
Reviewed 12 August 2017

And in 14 years, not a lot has changed although that's not necessarily a bad thing. The accommodation is spacious and well equipped with many rooms and apartments having great views of the spectacular scenery. Yes, the accommodation is somewhat dated and the lack of air-con can be a problem on the hottest nights but rooms have a certain charm and generous balconies or ground floor patio areas.
Food is excellent, both the wide choice available at breakfast and the open-air tables in the large central area. Service in all areas is friendly and responsive (we were readily accommodated when we wanted to change our ground floor room for a higher floor with a balcony).
Parking is no problem at just 7 euros a night with adequate underground space linked to underground walkways that join all the accommodation blocks.
If you want a spacious resort as opposed to a standard hotel then give the Dorint a try... we'll won't leave it so long before booking again1

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krefelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorintGAPA, Direktionsassistentin at Dorint SportHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you very much for spending time to give feedback!

I am very happy that you ejoyed your stay with us and that you could enjoy your time.

The view is simply fantastic and invites to to forget the everyday life...this is what holiday means :-)

Kind regards,

yours Kathrin Tryba | Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017

I visited this hotel as part of my summer holidays. Staff were very welcoming and even tried to get me a room on one of the upper floors, alas none was available.
My room was a very generous size, with a kitchenette (extra charge, did not use), separate bathroom, dining area, terrace and a comfortable bed.
Everything was spotlessly clean, although the room could have done with some renovating and updating as carpets, furniture and furnishings were quite dated.
The breakfast in this hotel was the best on my whole trip and I loved the waffles they had every morning. Try to get there early as it can get busy.
I had dinner twice and it was delicious.
The pool is an okay size, slightly too small for a proper swim, but nice to relax in.

The one thing that was really a bit of a challenge was the parking. The hotel does offer an underground garage for €7/day, which is very reasonable. Finding a spot was sometimes a bit difficult, though. The spaces are quite narrow, so there were usually only 2 cars on three spots, because that was all that could fit there.
Lots of local number plates in the garage, as well, probably visiting the gym facilities or the Italian restaurant. This might be due to the fact, that the first three hours are free, so maybe if the hotel started charging these hours, it would discourage locals from driving there.
Staff at the hotel were wonderful and gave me the information I needed when I needed to see a doctor.

The hotel is right above the road leading towards Mittenwald and Innsbruck, but despite this it was quiet.

On my next trip to GaPa, I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room on the upper floor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ILoveLondonandNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorintGAPA, Assistant to General Manager at Dorint SportHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback!

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in the lovely mountains.

Hope to see you soon again!

Best regards,

yours Kathrin Tryba | Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

We visited this hotel in the beginning of the summer vacation. The hotel has a great Sport complex but the rooms and halls have quite shabby carpets. The pool area also needs some rennovations. And last but not least: there are no elevatorsto the highest rooms. So you'd better stay in the first floor!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sibelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorintGAPA, Assistant to General Manager at Dorint SportHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thanky you very much for your feedback!

Not without reason we call Sporthotel ;-)

It is correct, due to the construction as a small mountain village are almost no lifts available. But we help at any time if you need help with the luggage.

Kind regards,

yours Kathrin Tryba | Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We stayed here with a group tour. It was very nice and very hot. Like most hotels, there is no A/C, but they did bring me a fan. You have a ways to walk uphill to your cottage and then our suite was on the third floor, no elevators. This was a challenge for some in our group. Gold carts to get older people to their rooms would be nice. The food was excellent and the views spectacular. I'm sure its really nice when their is snow.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorintGAPA, Assistant to General Manager at Dorint SportHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thanky you so much for this kind feedback!

Nice idea with the golf cars ... I will forward this :-) our Housekeeping-Team would certainly be very happy about it.

Best regards,

yours Kathrin Tryba | Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

A fantastic resort in the heart of Garmisch-Partenkirchen with excellent views of the mountains. The rooms are very well appointed and the staff is extremely courteous. The resort also has a swimming pool and a very nice restaurant next to it. Definitely a great place to stay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank NVPARIKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorintGAPA, Assistant to General Manager at Dorint SportHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Wow...I thank you so much for this kind feedback!

Sooo nice that you enjoyed your stay with us in the lovely mountains. Arrive and feel good - what could be better...

Hope to see you soon again!

Best regards,

yours Kathrin Tryba | Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
3.4 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Obermuhle
Best Western Premier Hotel Oberm...
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
34 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
287 reviews
2.9 km away
Staudacherhof
Staudacherhof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Riessersee Hotel
Riessersee Hotel
#21 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
419 reviews
2.7 km away
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenk...
#13 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
300 reviews
2.1 km away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint SportHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint SportHotel

Address: Mittenwalder Str. 59, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#9 Family Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range: $163 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorint SportHotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen at the foot of the Zugspitze is the ideal destination for year-around active vacationing. Not only the hotel itself, but also its spectacular surroundings, offer just the right vacation opportunities in Bavaria to suit everybody's taste. Find nature and tranquility for stressed city-dwellers, the perfect trails and slopes for skiing, and any number of fun recreational activities for the entire family. The Dorint Sporthotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen is particularly suited for families, because with its Alpine chalets the hotel complex resembles an idyllic little mountain village. You will enjoy the atmosphere of true Bavarian hospitality and the special comforts and amenities of a hotel in our spacious studios, apartments and suites. For conference and event guests our hotel is a haven, too, since we provide an environment that makes working a productive pleasure.Come and see for yourself. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dorint SportHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Sport Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing