We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Bad Place For Families ”
Review of Zum Alten Rathaus

Zum Alten Rathaus
Ranked #55 of 72 Restaurants in Mittenwald
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

No high chairs or booster seats to be found in the whole establishment so we took our meals to go.

Actual food was delicious. I ordered bratwurst and sauerkraut while my wife ordered the chicken and scalloped potatoes. No English at all so you order by pointing to the items. Prices very reasonable, our total was only 9,70€, less than we would have paid at McDonalds for 2 people.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank caleb192837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2018

We stopped in this pretty and picturesque Bavarian town for a quick lunch and casually found our way to the Zum Alten Rathaus.
We spent approx 15€/person for a generous roast (of average quality) and a beer. The problems were the restaurant's hygiene (which reminded me of a steelwork's cafeteria) and, particularly, the personnel's attitude. Both the cook and the server spoke only their local dialect (not even German) not only making no effort to understand or make themselves understood but even being rude (and in the server's case) outright offensive, on the verge of becoming physically aggressive (which in his case wouldnt have been a very good idea). Never again as far as I'm concerned and I strongly reccomend to steer well clear of the place. P.S. Instead of the business's trading name, receipts indicate ownership as "Partyservice Franz Ostler" in Tiefkarstrasse 9, Mittenwald.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cosmopol70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Delicious food
Simple menu, local cuisine, generous portions.
The pork and chicken dishes are amazing.
Very reasonably priced.
Well worth a visit

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

For the right amount of money the right dish. You can have a good meal with good ambient for a fair price. The staff is friendly sometimes they run out of food but apart from that a good place to eat a typical German plate.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

This is a nice place for a fast family lunch with real food. Roasted pork or chicken are well prepared and service is quick. Prices from 6,50 to 8,90 euros the dish. There are also sausages with bread options. You can also take your sandwich in the back shop and keep on visiting. Food was tasty. It is an everyday place.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Viajanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zum Alten Rathaus also viewed

Mittenwald, Upper Bavaria
Mittenwald, Upper Bavaria
 
Mittenwald, Upper Bavaria
 
Mittenwald, Upper Bavaria
Mittenwald, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Zum Alten Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing