We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little locals place”
Review of Wirtshaus zum Platzl - CLOSED

Wirtshaus zum Platzl
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Operates mainly as a pub during the day and a restaurant in the evening, it's very small so you really need to book. Super friendly staff and standard German pub cuisine served with a smile, drinks and food both fairly cheap. They also offer small portions of some dishes at a discount if you don't have a huge appetite.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Dixie_Cup_Refil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2017

Not a lot of seating but excellent food. Run by sisters i believe and they take great care of their guests.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Donnette2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

From outside this restaurant there are lovely views of the mountain which is why we chose to stop for a drink. The local Mittenwalder bier was being served at €2.30 during Happy Hour and our waitress was very friendly as we're the locals who sat around us. Unfortunately we didn't eat here but the menu did look very good.

Date of visit: April 2017
1  Thank gigicray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We called in here the other evening and had a wonderful meal, its a very popular restaurant and very traditional with an excellent menu of local fare which was exactly what we were looking for, the ladies running the place were just charming and friendly and helpful, there was a menu in English for those who need it and we had supurb food, thank you for looking after us so well.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank debcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

We stopped in for lunch on 2nd Christmas. Interior is quaint and today was filled with locals. We had a ham and cheese omelette and the schweinebraten with rot kraut and knodel. Food was good and service was friendly. The schweinebraten was obviously homemade because it had a layer of fat and a layer of crispy crackle. It was very good. Rot kraut was crisp and not too tart. I am pretty sure it was homemade. We enjoyed the atmosphere as much as the food.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wirtshaus zum Platzl also viewed

Mittenwald, Upper Bavaria
 
Mittenwald, Upper Bavaria
Mittenwald, Upper Bavaria
 
Mittenwald, Upper Bavaria
Mittenwald, Upper Bavaria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing