We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional cuisine”
Review of Gasthof Neuhaus

Gasthof Neuhaus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 3 - USD 40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The traditional Gasthof Neuhaus in Berchtesgaden has been given a new lease on life by the Hettegger family. Enjoy both the excellent food and the historical atmosphere. The Neuhaus Inn on the market square in Berchtesgaden is the right choice for all who love traditional Bavarian cuisine! Quaint, comfortable and inviting: In the summer the Gasthof Neuhaus Beer Garden is a absolute higlight! Take a seat in the shade of chestnut trees and order a beer or something from our bavarian food menu.
Reviewed 8 October 2018

This restaurant have been suggested by the receptionist of our hotel and it didn't let us disappointed. It offer traditional cuisine. Prices are slightly higher from other restaurants (about 5-10%). They have two dining room: one is more traditional and beautiful, the other is more spartan and bare. Staff is kind, but at the same time not very warm. We ordered half pig's knuckle (a little too burnt) and Wiener schnietzel (that was well done).

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Piergiorgio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina H, Feedback at Gasthof Neuhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Dear Piergiorgio,

thank you very much for your recommendation - this is perfect and we really appreciate that!

Have a nice day and all the best to you and your family.
- Team Neuhaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2018

We recently had a great meal here. This place was recommended by the Hotel where we were staying. Great food and service, large servings and great atmosphere. The duck portion and spatzle and Pork in pepper sauce were both really nice and washed down well with a beer. Recommend this as a place to eat.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 536LouiseM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina H, Feedback at Gasthof Neuhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

... and we say thank you very much for your recommendation dear "Louise M"
- all the best!
Team Neuhaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

It's set up like a beer hall. You're likely to share a table with other people. The beer was very good and so was the service. (I'm not a fan of German food... so I won't rate the food).

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank shirleyh108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina H, Feedback at Gasthof Neuhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

... also without rating the food we say THANK YOU for your perfect recommendation dear "Shirley H"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

This is a professionally run, yet friendly and delightful beer garden in the heart of Berchtesgaden. Wonderful experience all around.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank donSeoul_SouthKorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina H, Feedback at Gasthof Neuhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

... this is perfect - thank you very much for your recommendation !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

I’ve had a few ‘typical regional meals in the last 10 days and this one didn’t top the bill. Added to that - we waited 20 minutes trying to get served. There were lots of waitresses but every time we asked them they just said ‘my colleague will serve you’ - except their colleague never arrived. When she did arrive it wasn’t exactly service with a smile.

The band were a great accompaniment - the food was fine - nothing special. Then when it came to paying the bill she didn’t have the full amount of change to pay us so just let herself off giving us 80 cents. It’s not much but given the circumstances it was like rubbing salt in the wound. It should be us to decide what we leave as a tip - not her. Wouldn’t recommend this place unless you go prepared for poor service or happen to sit in the area where the waitress is a decent one!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Scarlet-Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina H, Feedback at Gasthof Neuhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Dear "Scarlet-Poppy",

Thank you for staying with us at our tavern "Gasthof zum Neuhaus". We were pleased to have you as a guest and we extremely regret that you weren't fully satisfied with your stay.

We talked to our waitress, she says that she can partly remember the situation and that to her it was a little different but she is not sure about it. She is really sorry about what happened, it was a busy day and she really wants to apologize. To us it is important to know about those situations, during everydays life you sometimes forget about those "little things" and we really want to thank you for your feedback.

Positive feedback is, naturally, what we strive for but we embrace your constructive and valid criticism as an opportunity to improve our service. We would love to be able to convince you of our merits during your next stay, and to give you a holiday which you will be fully satisfied with.

With best wishes from Berchtesgaden,

Your host family at
Hotel Edelweiss Berchtesgaden / Gasthof zum Neuhaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gasthof Neuhaus also viewed

 
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Gasthof Neuhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing