We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Experience”

Berggasthof Oberkalberstein
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

My pork was dry and tasteless. Not what I expected. Had much better in backcountry huts. Very poor execution. My wife’s trout was excellent. One of the best she has ever had. Beer was tasty. Service was mixed. It was clear the first server had no patience with someone with limited German language and was extremely rude to my Chinese wife. Not sure what was going on but we would not return for this reason. The night was saved by a much better server who was polite and seemed to take control of the situation.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank CalFox1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Visited this nice and cousy place with great atmosphere inside during our summer vacation.Very friendly staff helped us to make our choice. All the dishes we chose were big and tasty.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Albina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

We stopped here after a tour of the Eagles Nest. There is literally no other restaurant so luckily the food wasn't terrible and it was reasonably priced. The beers were tasty. For lunch I had the deer goulash with spaetzel and rhotkol. The goulash was tasty with a yummy gravy. The deer meat wasn't too gamey tasting either. The spaetzel was good and the rhotkol was delicious and a little sweet. Service was quick and efficient despite our entire bus sitting down at their restaurant. It was a good stop!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Stephanie0988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

We got there early evening before sunset and had a table on the terrace. Looking out with the panoramic view of the Alps.

Food was amazing and very friendly service!!

We went back again for dinner next day.

Fish was lovely!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank SoranatOonsiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Between a mix of Germans, Austrians, and Brazilians, there was no doubt, the food was amazing!! The PfifferlingRahm was the best we ever had:)

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Katrin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Berggasthof Oberkalberstein also viewed

Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 
Schonau, Lower Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Berggasthof Oberkalberstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing