We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
440
50
11
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
50
11
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool cake buffet half board breakfast and dinner cable car spa facilities every afternoon beautiful location lake konigssee german alps sauna area hotel is located wonderful hotel relaxing stay bad reichenhall berchtesgaden area local attractions
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 505 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had a sudden decision to come here - was looking for the hotel near Eagle Nest and accidentally saw this hotel. It turned out to be 20 minutes away from Eagle Nest by car, however I never regretted about my choice. The hotel surrounded by nature and mountains and located in very quite place. The location has its pros and cons as there are no restaurants or shops nearby (you’ll need to walk or take car or bus to get anywhere), but due to its location, you can enjoy a lot of tranquility and privacy. Very good if you have a car, in this case you wouldn’t experience any difficulties. Service was really good everywhere in the hotel, starting from reception to the staff in the restaurant. Room was clean and spacious enough - small bedroom with living room which you could separate by using a curtain plus the balcony facing the inner garden and mountains. I didn’t liked so much the type of bed we had which looks like queen size, but made of two separate mattresses. It’s not really comfortable if you want to sleep hugging your loved one. However, it’s the second hotel in this area with very similar sleeping arrangements, so may be it’s something very common here.
The hotel has indoor and outdoor swimming pools, plus outdoor jacuzzi. Outdoor pool and jacuzzi are closing at 19.30, so don’t wait too long to come. They also have a spa. But it’s everywhere a sign that spa is a Nude area and only for adults. As I’ve been with my 5 years old daughter, I didn’t tried it. And honestly I’m not so excited about idea of nude sauna and spa area for men and women at the same time.
The hotel located about 20 minutes walk from Jenner Bahn cable car and 30 minutes walk from Konigsee Lake (one of the best attractions of Bavarian Alps), where you can find restaurants, souvenirs shops and take a ferry to St. Bartholoma church and Obersee Lake. The walking path is passing through quite roads with typical Bavarian houses. Looks very lovey! Overall very good experience!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Tatiana_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Once again this hotel didn’t disappoint its fabulous in every way, the staff are so friendly and helpful, the facilities are first class, the food is amazing and its set in beautiful grounds.
I would totally recommend this hotel to anybody who appreciates quality.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank drewjo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

If you prefer peaceful place surrounded by walking trails and beautiful views, then this is the place for you.
The restaurant and food are excellent, and the service of first class. The rooms and beds are spacious and comfortable.
Best of all, what makes it special and different are kind, dedicated and professional staff with the owner on the forehead.
We would definitely come back. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IrenaOstojic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We have traveled with our family throughout Europe and North America on many occasions, and have stayed at many hotels, including high-end luxury hotels in the capitals of Europe. But the Alpenhof in Schönau has without a doubt always had a special place in our heart, and is our favorite place to visit. The setting and location is perfect, the views spectacular and surrounding activities will keep everybody busy. The hotel is charming and reflects the local Berchtesgaden Gemütlichkeit. The restaurant and food are excellent, and the service of first class. The rooms and beds are spacious and comfortable. The spa is extensive, with two pools, saunas, steam rooms and every imaginable relaxation room - all with local unique flavor. You never forget where you are. The grounds are beautiful and everything is spotlessly clean.
But beyond that, there is a certain intangible charm to the Alpenhof. It's not just a sterile luxury hotel, but feels like a Bavarian mountain home away from home. The hotel functions on the highest global levels of comfort, cleanliness and convenience while maintaining the local charm of a family owned Inn. Familie Zapletal and staff have always been courteous, helpful and a pleasure to deal with. In seven visits there, we can honestly say that we have never had an unpleasant experience - and that is saying a lot, given that we have traveled with our small children.
Overall, it's a gem.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wandrers_Nachtlied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

We adored this hotel. First, the views are incredible and property was very comfortable with lots of different options for sitting indoor or out, and there are lots of possible activities. The rooms and facilities are all well-appointed, spotlessly clean, and have everything you could possibly need. The staff were so pleasant and happy - they were a real pleasure to meet and gave us very valuable advice about how and when to see the best sites in the area. I highly recommend the evening supper here -- course after course, all priced very reasonably for outstanding quality dishes. We send special compliments to the chef and the kitchen team for inspired dishes that surprised us every evening. And then there are the wonderful pools and jacuzzi, and a fantastic fitness and wellness complex that's like a rabbit warren of treatment options, relaxation rooms, solar rooms, sauna, salt, everything. Naturally you need a car because the location is a quiet nook on a plateau between Berchtesgaden and Konigsee, but it's very easy to find. We would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ridgwaypl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews