We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
10
7
12
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
7
12
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clean bed linen minute walk from the hotel cold cuts reception desk supermarket station
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Messehotel Waldhorn June 08 to June 13, ( 5 nights )

we have stayed at the Messehotel Waldhorn in Stuttgart-Degerloch for many, many years and always come back each year. This Hotel feels like “ Family “ to us. The Waldhorn is a Family operation and they really pay attention to detail and that their guest leave happy and are well taken care of. The Waldhorn is located close to the Stuttgart Airport too.

We always stay in room No. 7, which works for us. It is a large room has two twin beds, comfortable to sleep on, clean bed linen, a desk a flat screen TV, the bathroom is clean including the towels.

There is a good selection of food items for breakfast, cold cuts, cheeses, eggs, Yogurt, fruit salad. If you want something special, at 8:00 AM go next door to the Butcher shop and pick up some “ Fleischkaese “ hot right out of the oven it is delicious and have it with your breakfast. Also if you are looking for a Supermarket, there is one right across the street. The Hotel is in close range to shopping , Restaurants and Cafe’s.

The staff you came in contact with is friendly and have been on the job for several years, there is free parking available too. Should you stay three days in Stuttgart , go to the Front Desk and buy a three day Ticket for the S-Bahn which is about a 10 minute walk from the Hotel. This is the best & fastest way to go to the Center of Stuttgart which will take about 15 minutes.

We highly can recommend staying at the Messehotel Waldhorn and we will be back and thank the people who always take good care of us.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2014

we have been staying at the " Hotel Waldhorn " in Stuttgart-Degerloch over the last 14 years and are always well taken of and satisfied with the room & service. We use this Family operated Hotel for our annual Stuttgart visit which is very convenient. With the S-Bahn ( buy your three day pass at the reception-desk ) you are just about 10 minutes away from downtown Stuttgart. The town of Degerloch is a nice, clean quiet place far away from the hassle of the big city. There is some good shopping there too using small business establishments. Opposite the Hotel there is a Super-Market.

The Hotel is very clean, the rooms ( renovation has taken place ) are clean and functional . Perhaps the TV needs to be upgraded to a " flat screen " now... the beds are comfortable to provide a perfect sleep. The breakfast is good too, including coffee,Yogurt, fresh rolls, cereals, with a selection of sausages ( cold cuts ) and cheeses ( and the selection goes on ) . You can park your car free of charge at the Hotel too. The Staff is very friendly and accommodating. We salute Manager Julia, her husband Nino, Mr. Laib & Ms.Mauch for a " Job well done " and providing a wonderful family atmosphere for it's guests.

We shall return in Spring 2015.... we can recommend this Hotel for your forthcoming visit.

Room Tip: we love room # 7
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Erfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Yes, the hotel was cheap, and I didn't expect five star luxury. So while I was surprised to see just how tiny the room was, I did not need more space. Really, for the money I paid, that was totally fine. How small was the room, you are wondering? Well, I had my phone plugged in to charge by the bed's headboard, and I was still using it while sitting on the loo. That's how small. The bed was tiny, too, and for persons over 6 feet might become a bit of a challenge.

Breakfast in the morning (an additional 7 Euros) was standard German fare, and the price seemed fair.

There was a supermarket across the street, open until 10pm (at least during the week). That came in very useful.

The light for the night entrance didn't work, and the parking lot in general was very dark.

Other than that, it was clean, and functional. If I need an affordable place to spend a night in that area of Stuttgart again, I'd book this place, again. However, if I were to spend a little longer in Stuttgart, with the possibility of actually spending time in my hotel room, I'd go for something bigger.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceans242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The hotel is very clean and the staff were nice. This is a typical German guest-house and with this comes traditional German breakfasts and surroundings. The rooms were clean and benefit from a few extras such as tea and coffee making facilities in them. Breakfast is very-very expensive, but dinner is very nice and too expensive, considering this is a Euro zone. You can get breakfast in the center of the city (15 mins away) three times cheaper. Beds are great.

Room Tip: i would suggest first floor. For some reasons rooms are starting for 501. There are steep staircase to the first floor and no elevator, so if you have heavy bags it could be a chore to bring them on a higher floors (3-4-5)
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

The hotel is very clean and the staff were nice. The hotel is a typical German guest-house and with this comes traditional German breakfasts and surroundings. The rooms were clean but would really benefit from a few extras such as tea and coffee making facilities in them. Overall, though the hotel is near some really good German restaurants and close to the tube to get into Stuttgart. Degerloch is a nice quite area that is set up on the hills and so you can actually walk down through the vinyards into the city - although it's a longish walk and steep so you'd only want to walk down and not up!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Visit0r123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews