We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in an old farmhouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gutshof - Hotel Waldknechtshof
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Baiersbronn
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We stayed in one of the apartments on the 3rd floor. Our apartment had a loft and we were literally in the attic. The room was rustic with lots of exposed beams and yet the bedding and furniture was wonderfully comfortable and charming. It was very peaceful and we enjoyed opening the windows to look at our surroundings early in the morning from high up in the house. The breakfast was excellent, especially the restaurant manager Sebastian who was very kind and helpful and gave us a lot of good suggestions about things we should see or where we should hike in the area. This is an ideal base to explore the Black Forest. We only wish we had more time here, because we stayed just two nights. When we come back we would definitely stay longer. Thank you Sebastian!

Room Tip: Get an apartment on the 3rd floor, sleeps three and is very cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SHydeandLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2015

We turned up late in the afternoon on a rainy Monday in August after booking via Expedia an hour or so before. We were met by Sebastian who provided us with complimentary juice cocktails while he was sorting out the booking (it hadn't quite come through). He was very professional and sorted things out quickly. He put us in the 3 bedroom apartment on the top floor and then asked what time we would like to have breakfast. He explained that we were the only ones in the hotel that night therefore we could choose when it suited us to come down for breakfast. He also arranged for us to have dinner in the restaurant that evening.

The food for both meals was great. Even our fussy eight year old daughter managed to eat. The restaurant was quite busy but the service was still good and the waitress was very helpful with choices for us all. The spread at breakfast time was both overwhelming and beautiful to look at. Overall we received great service from everyone we met in the hotel and the room was not only spacious but well maintained and very clean. We would definitely stay again if we are ever back that way.

Room Tip: Wifi was erratic but this has been our experience in all of the hotels we have stayed in over the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2015

What a delightful surprise this hotel/inn near Baiersbronn in the Black Forest was. It is a converted
farmhouse dating to 1769. Our spacious room had slanted ceilings and heavy beams and was
absolutely charming. The establishment has 2 restaurants; the generous breakfast and a rather
simpler menu is served in one, the other being a gourmet restaurant. It was in the latter where
we celebrated a fabulous New Year's Eve with wonderful food, champagne and several wines
making up the menu. The ambiance was elegant, the service everywhere exquisite, warm and
friendly in both German and English. I very highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The hotel has suites although we chose just a room. All are quiet because of the location. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ghminiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed in the large apartment and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The large apartment with three bedrooms, with wooden beams was welcoming, but spacious. The proximity to restaurants, supermarket, bakery, tram station and a multilingual tourist information office, as well as walks and bike tracks was ideal for us. The staff were wonderfully helpful, speaking excellent English and willing to take the time with us to make sure that they had answered every request (including a full translation of the menu). The couple of things that would have made our stay perfect were the availability of some of the hotel literature in English (yes, we know it's a German hotel, but clearly such an effort had been made to inform guests that it was a pity that we couldn't access much of it) and daily emptying of the bins. The bistro was okay, with a fabulous paprika soup, but just not large enough serves. However, breakfast was fantastic, and the hotel staff couldn't do enough to keep our kids happy and full of hot chocolate. The complimentary tram pass is a great way to view the valley, and covers bikes, meaning you can ride down the valley and tram back up. In fairness, we saw a bit of the challenges others referred to (particularly in the restaurant), but for us, the positives far, far outweighed the few challenges.

Room Tip: We're a family of four and loved the large apartment - it has a kitchen (although no frying pan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AGeckoStoleMyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Don't be fooled by the quaint images of the unique post and beam construction of this renovated barn. Everything was nice, but the overall feel from the owners/staff was cool and distant. There were two helpful staff that spoke English, but others seemed to remain at arms length. Dinner was very expensive and not that great. Breakfast was cooked to order and well done.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baiersbronn hotels
3.2 km away
Hotel Traube Tonbach
Hotel Traube Tonbach
#2 of 32 in Baiersbronn
600 reviews
9.6 km away
Flair Hotel Sonnenhof
Flair Hotel Sonnenhof
#19 of 32 in Baiersbronn
45 reviews
5.5 km away
Hotel Lamm
Hotel Lamm
#12 of 32 in Baiersbronn
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Hotel Sackmann
Hotel Sackmann
#5 of 32 in Baiersbronn
248 reviews
6.9 km away
Hotel Schwanen
Hotel Schwanen
#22 of 32 in Baiersbronn
21 reviews
13.4 km away
Nationalpark-Hotel Schliffkopf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gutshof - Hotel Waldknechtshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gutshof - Hotel Waldknechtshof

Address: Baiersbronner Str. 4 | Klosterreichenbach, 72270 Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baiersbronn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Baiersbronn
#10 Romantic Hotel in Baiersbronn
Price Range: $168 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gutshof - Hotel Waldknechtshof 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gutshof - Hotel Waldknechtshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldknechtshof Hotel Baiersbronn
Gutshof - Hotel Waldknechtshof Baiersbronn, Germany - Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing