We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!”
Review of Maison Pic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maison Pic
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Valence
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Maison PIC has beatiful rooms. Very well decorated and designed. It is very comfortable. Very modern and super clean as you would expect in a top five star hotel. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OnlyTop5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    39
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
42
178
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
106 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The room I stayed in was large and comfortable, a large closet in the hallway by the door, which can be closed off to the rest of the room. The decor is very modern and chic, with light-tone leather trimmings. The desk is placed behind the headboard of the bed, which is pretty convenient. Wifi is available throughout the hotel.

The bathroom is large and probably a little on the cold side, literally.

We had a cup of mixed season fruits as well as a chocolate dessert as our welcome gift. The chocolate one gets at night is about 6 times the size that one normally gets elsewhere, and very yummy.

The hotel has a 3-star gastronomic restaurant as well as a bistro that does brisk business. Both offer good food at different pricing levels.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

When you pull up to the hotel it seems a strange location for a hotel and restaurant of this format, but that should not stop you from going. This is of course a place to go for the food. The 3 Michellin stars are well deserved.

We had the season's menu at €210 per person. Anyone can cook fois gras, lobster and prime cuts of meat, but to see how "ordinary" ingredients as carrots and beetroot was transformed into the masterpieces of taste was part of the good experience. The experience of different kinds of peber in just the right amounts was also a master piece. Anne Sophie Pic masters taste and presentation to perfection. The carrot and beetroot starters are shown in other reviews and in real life it looked even better.

Throughout our stay all members of the staff were great - just once exception was the sommelier. He did not posess the same charme as the rest of the staff or maybe he kept his distance when I politely said that I would not follow his recommendation for wines at €200-300 per bottle.

To this day we do not know if any of our friends have told the hotel that we celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary here, but somehow they knew (or had cleverly asked "you have a special occaision here with us, right?) so after dinner an extra cake was presented. We could of course not eat it after dinners, so it was kept in the fridge by the staff for our check out the next day.

The staff will park your car and put it in front of the hotel when checking out. A very nice touch is the bottles of water and some sweet for the road!

We enjoyed it and the total experience, but of course you have to be prepared to spend €1.000 for 2 persons for dinner, drinks and a nights stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CPHworldtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Its modern, its clean, its convenient. Its not very charming, its hardly value for money. The town is nothing to see. Its a stop on your way to or from the riviera, with excellent food and the trimmings that goes with it. If you're not interested in gourmet food; Don't go. If you are; you should consider it as part of your dinner stop.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BRLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

My husband an I have been indulging ourselves with a tour of exceptional hotels and 3* Michelin restaurants every year for the last 15 years. Our general experience at Maison Pic has been the most disappointing so far, mostly because of the bedroom. We had booked a suite at a quite unreasonable price. It was anything but pleasant, even depressing! :
- all black, brown and dark purple: sad and plain and not welcoming at all.
- no or little indirect light
- grotesque but true : right in front of bed, 1 meter from it, without any separation, were the 2 sinks of what was supposed to be the bathroom.
- bedside lamps so far away from bed: totally impossible to read !
- one single narrow window directly above roof of adjacent building and in the near distance, a rather ugly building from the 60's, council estate-like in a poor state
- aircon in entrance/salon part of the suite was out of order, blocked on freezing cold temperature. Hence impossible to even stay there.

In short, the kind of place where you spend over 500 Euros the night (without breakfast!) and you are so happy to leave so gloomy the room is !!!
And on mentioning our surprise and disappointment to staff on leaving after paying a total of over 1000 Euros, no reaction but neutral nod of head. Chocking indeed.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mothorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valence hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#3 of 20 in Valence
334 reviews
0.6 km away
Novotel Valence Sud
Novotel Valence Sud
#6 of 20 in Valence
802 reviews
1.9 km away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#4 of 20 in Valence
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#1 of 20 in Valence
438 reviews
1.1 km away
Ibis Budget Valence Sud
Ibis Budget Valence Sud
#5 of 20 in Valence
314 reviews
1.7 km away
Mercure Valence Sud
Mercure Valence Sud
#9 of 20 in Valence
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Pic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Pic

Property: Maison Pic
Address: 285 avenue Victor Hugo, 26000 Valence, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Valence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Valence
#1 Family Hotel in Valence
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valence
#4 Business Hotel in Valence
Price range (per night): $430 - $716
Hotel Class:5 star — Maison Pic 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maison Pic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pic Hotel
Maison Pic Valence, France - Rhone-Alpes
Maison Pic Hotel Valence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing