We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal”
Review of L'Atelier d'Edmond

L'Atelier d'Edmond
Ranked #1 of 104 Restaurants in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 71 - USD 200
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Benoit Vidal cuisine is a successful mix of sunny and local notes and Mediterranean flavors: citrus and herbs bring a personal, fresh and slightly acid touch to this inventive cuisine. Benoit Vidal started his training in his hometown Perpignan, then worked in many different starred restaurants.
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Really excellent meal, fantastic flavours and first class service. Unbelievable how the chef can create such stunning food in such a remote location. A really great evening. Highly recommended.

Thank mikeysmum2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benoit v, Gérant at L'Atelier d'Edmond, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear MR mikeysmum2008
Thanks for your review.
We appreciate what you liked in our restaurant.
We hope to see you soon at l'Atelier d'Edmond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2018

I am mostly plant based and when I go off course I want it to be worth it. Let me tell you the three course lunch menu they offer is a freakin steal! We went there as a group of 8 and as we ate I literally bet them that they misunderstood the price and there is no way it could be 60 euros pp, especially when my husband accidentally paid nearly 50 euros for a truffle omelette elsewhere the day before. The amuse bouche was generous and amazing.The courses were light and refreshing flavors which I personally love. If I ever go back, I would definitely try their dinner menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aslito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benoit v, Gérant at L'Atelier d'Edmond, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate the fact that you liked everything in our restaurant. We hope to see you soon or next year for dinner this Time.
Kind Regards, The Chef Benoit Vidal and his team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

I visited last night for dinner with friends. This is one of my favorite restaurants in the world and I just keep wanting to come back! The attention to detail is second to none. The staff were faultless. Thank-you to Pierrick , the sommelier for the excellent choice of wine (and future recommendations). But most all top marks to 2 star Michelin chef Benoît Vidal for the beautiful plates, the exquisite flavors and all the extra « amuse bouche » plates and tastes that he added to our chosen menu. A true master and a credit to his art. Thank-you.

Thank JaneGrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benoit v, Gérant at L'Atelier d'Edmond, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hello, thank you for having taken time to write us.
We thank you for the kindness of your message.
Looking forward to seeing again you very soon.
Benoit Vidal and all his team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Supper à deux for a special occasion. We chose the menu dégustation with wine pairing and were not disappointed.
Menu has 12 set courses not including amuse-bouche and mignardises. Wine pairing of 9 very well chosen French wines, 3 local, wonderfully presented and described by a passionate sommelier who took time to share tasting notes, insight and philosophy with us. We discovered wines we would never ordinarily have chosen - of course this is the idea of wine pairing, but beyond that it opened our minds to different wines for certain foods. And so...on to the food. Local produce and a distinctly asian influence inspired by the travels of the chef; lemon grass, kaffir lime, youzu, and various ingredients we had never heard of. A succession of perfectly sized courses left us feeling wonderfully satisfied but not overly full. We struggled to pick our favourite courses. Crayfish and pike with the most exquisite juice; scallops in pine liqueur came ready sliced so easy to make the perfect mouthful; warm Atlantic oyster with perles du japon and another incredible consommé; noisettes of deer... all with delightful presentation. Only one false note for us: the cheese course was "prepared" and overly fussy but didn't give us the true cheese experience we would have preferred. The staff and service, including the chef, Benoit Vidal, were professional, friendly, appropriately present without ever being overbearing. Of course you expect this from a 2 star Michelin - but you don't always get it. Oh and i forgot the open fire in the middle that adds to the already lovely atmosphere. Overall we had a fabulous evening and will go again for other nice occasions. (If you go back before they change the menu, and tell them, they will adjust the menus accordingly to give you more variety)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benoit v, Gérant at L'Atelier d'Edmond, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Hello, thank you for having taken time to write us.
We thank you for the kindness of your message.
Looking forward to seeing again you very soon.
Benoît Vidal and his team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Wonderful 2 star Michelin restaurant
The menu degustation was amazing we had the wine to go with it
Superb in every way for my wife’s 50th
A must visit place

1  Thank Jimb067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benoit v, Gérant at L'Atelier d'Edmond, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Hello Madam, Mister
Thank you for having taken time to write us.
We thank you for the kindness of your message.
Looking forward to seeing again you very soon.
Benoit Vidal and all his team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Atelier d'Edmond also viewed

 
Val d'Isere, Savoie
Val d'Isere, Savoie
 
Val d'Isere, Savoie
 

Been to L'Atelier d'Edmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing