We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
85
23
2
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
23
2
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jean marie hosts basement megeve slopes snow mountains chef
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We felt very comfortable here. We were late for everything - late arriving, late for breakfast, late for dinner. With beautiful smiling faces they reminded us you are never late for anything here. The restaurant, bar and front desk are available 24/7. This was all such a comfort as we explored the area and adjusted to the 7 hour time difference from home. We expected to try restaurants throughout the area and found ourselves returning every night to dinner at the hotel. Everything we had there was heavenly - the soups, the omelets, the salads, the breakfast - everything was obviously of the highest quality and very fresh. The owners were very helpful with tips for how to make the best of a visit to the Aiguille du Midi and Annecy. The bathroom was comfortable and had a separate room for the toilet, which helped with getting two people ready in the morning. The hotel is far enough from the main road that there is almost no road noise even with the windows open - which was essential as our room was no air conditioned. The design showed lovely craftmanship in the woodwork, and the decor was comfortable and not kitschy. There is a very comfortable living room/bar area, and a library. We were encouraged to take home any books we wanted, so we took a couple and left a couple. We've stayed in a dozen or so hotels in France and the hospitality here can not be beat, even at twice the price.

The only complaint is that the bed was quite hard. I didn't mind but my hubby was sore after three nights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aujourdhui2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Beautiful family run hotel that puts many corporate run hotels to shame. Lovely owners and great staff. Fantastic food hand selected by Madame each day. Before we went my son said he would like to eat out at different places throughout the week. After the first meal he did not mention this again. Our third trip to Grange d'Arly but it will not be our last.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

This is a really lovely place to stay but get in quick as it books out fast. Such lovely rooms although the beds are pretty hard.
That's my only gripe though. Really nice hotel. Helpful staff. Great location. Such a lovely town. We stayed over NYE 2012/13 and had such a nice time. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alycat1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My wife and I had seven nights at the Grange in January 2012 on our first trip to Megeve and had a fantastic stay. The hotel is located literally next door to the bus station so getting there from Paris was very easy (TGV then bus). Jean-Marie welcomed us and showed us to our room personally and although he does speak English, preferred to explain the trappings in French to us, which added to the charm for us more than anything.

We didn’t have an issue with language which others had mentioned (a little bit of French is required to order at breakfast) and definitely not an issue with the multi-lingual Christina who changes from French to Italian to English at a million miles an hour as she hosts, jokes and entertains her way around the room at dinner time. We had a number of meals at Grange during our stay and they were all excellent, as was the breakfast each morning.

The Grange is about a 5-10 minute walk from the main gondola and centre of town, but it isn’t challenging (no hills) and it is an easy walk home from the restaurants and bars. The room we had was great. A corner room with a lots of room to move around and a reasonably sized bathroom. From memory it didn’t have many English language channels (the usual CNN and BBC), but if you travel in Europe regularly this isn’t much of a surprise.

The only issue we had on the trip was that they were having issues with the WiFi and while we were there they had tech people in on a number of days to resolve the issue. It mainly meant that the WiFi wasn’t working in our room at all times, but we got around this by going down to the nice lounge and bar area and using it down there.

Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bospub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at this family run hotel for a five nights skiing.It was a short walk (5 minutes) to the ski lift and the charming main town. There are several ski rental shops by the lift which will store skis and boots for the duration of your stay or a season for a small charge.

The hotel is very friendly with all the staff keen to help. Our bedroom and the reception rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable with a roaring log fire in the bar and seating area.

The highlight of the hotel has to be the wonderfully eccentrentic and charming owner, Christine Allard. Both she and her husband run the hotel with great efficiency but the dinners are legendary! Christine chooses the menus and oversees the charming dining room looking after each guest individually. Being multilingual she makes sure that every nationality feels part of the evening. Most of the menu changes daily apart from the usual traditional dishes and the cost is not excessive given the quality of food and service. This, and Christine are definitely not to be missed!

Our room in the second floor overlooked the front towards the main town and the mountain backdrop. I don't understand the complaints made before about radiators-the room was perfectly heated but you could regulate the radiator and there is always the window!

Overall wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel-it is rated as a 3* but in our opinion was certainly a high 3*. It was exactly as promised, didn't try to be anything it wasn't and offered great service, great food and good fun. Couldn't have asked for more.

Stayed: March 2012
3  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews