We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Celestins
Ranked #16 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

stayed here from 29th March to 1st April as Me and another 17 blokes were in Lyon to play a rugby game.
first impression of the staff was that all the staff I had dealing with were extremely helpful and friendly even when 18 blokes descended for breakfast. The Hotel is old and shows sign of wear and tear but this adds to the character. There is a lift for the less able but it is quite a primitve construction. some of the lads said it reminded them of when they worked in the mines.the breakfast was a substantial continental one with fresh fruit salad,yoghurt, cold meats and cheeses and a selection of bread. I shared a room with my friend who is a baker who reluctantly addmitted that the bread was good. There was unlimited fruit juice, and tea and coffee on demand.
My room was small but functional and suitable for a long weekend but it was small, there are larger rooms to be had so ask about this when making your reservation. Saying that, the room quality does not bother me too much as I went to see Lyon and not the inside of a hotel room. The hotel location was idea for exploring on foot with bars and shops within walking distance. THe hotel reception closes at 2200hrs make sure the staff show you exactly how to get in with your key because after too much red wine this process can become an ordeal.
There is also a market that sets up on the river bank selling local produce. try the cheeses and the wines on offer if you visit here.I didnt use public transport so I cant comment. the general cost of living I found to be double of what I would expect to pay in the north of England.
There are bars and restaurants all over the city , we tended to frequent an area across the river Soane where the bars and restaurants seemed to be concentrated. not a McD nor Burger king in sight, so "Bravo" to the Lyonaise (there is a McD if you look hard enough) but everything else is local people selling local delicacies.I would certainly return and would use the same hotel.

Room Tip: the hotel is on a side road so all rooms are quiet, ask for a larger room when making your reservati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Hello and thank you very much for your comments.
It was a real pleasure to welcome you and your rugby team.
We look forward to welcoming you again during your next match in Lyon.
Kind regards to you and your 17 friends.
Oriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    461
    84
    17
    7
See reviews for
160
502
61
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Hotel des Celestins in March 2012. The hotel has a Very good location in the very centre and everything is at hand and nearabout: shopping or walking streets,embankments, sightseeing and many restaurants. We very liked this calm hotel. Highly effective personnel eagerly supported us in all our needs, either in choosing restaurant or booking some place of our interest. Cozy rooms are decorated with ancient small paintings. Comfortable bed and additional pillows helped to sleep well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parzifalinthemood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Hello, we thank you for your flattering comments. We look forward to welcoming you very soon. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
271 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Our stay was Sept. 2010
We booked this darling little hotel thru their website. Connected with Oriana, who was a sweetheart to work with. We spent 4 nights in one of the larger Theater rooms. We had flown in from Paris and took trains for the next 3 weeks. So we needed a place where we could walk to most major sites. This was perfect for us.

We would head out early after breakfast, come back in the afternoon for a nap, then out again for dinner and a walk either along the Rhone or the Saone.

Something we really enjoyed were the concerts held right in the courtyard of the Theatre. We could sit and have a glass of the local Macon wine outside of several restaurants in the square.
Our favorite Bouchon right next to our hotel was Francotte, on Place des Jacobins. The lovely owner would stop by our table and chat with us and explain the local wines. Her foies gras (duck) was melt in the mouth wonderful. She told us our hotel was well spoken of with her visitors.

We were able to walk from our hotel to Theatres Romains, the Odeon with the unreal geometric tiles, the Grand Theater (15 BC?) The gardens on Fourviere Hill, I could go on and on.

A very fun thing we would do is after lunch we would stroll along rue Merciere and review the restaurant menus for that evening, and make reservations at that time before went back to our hotel for a nap.
Most restaurants open 7 pm for dinner.

We learned from our hotel owner that a real, or certified Bouchon has the official "Gnafron" displayed on the entryway. One of these was Cafe des Federations, where my husband enjoyed his tete de veau (calves head)

Would we stay at this hotel again? Absolutely! Warm, generous, friendly staff. Great room. What more can one ask for?

Life is good.

Room Tip: Spend the extra euro for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABohemianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Hello and thank you very much for all these compliments. We are glad to have made your stay in Lyon a success. We hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This hotel is in a good location and the people who work there are very helpful. It is just a bit tired and in need of renovation. Our stay was comfortable, wifi is good, easy to get around Lyon from the hotel, walking distance to some nice areas and restaurants. I would stay again because of the location but I would book a more expensive room (we had the cheapest one) as it may have more space.

Room Tip: More expensive rooms may be nicer and have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EzzOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcelestins, Responsable réception at Hotel des Celestins, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Hello and thank you for sharing your experience. We’re delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. As stated on our website, we have several room categories with various room sizes. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

A lovely find in a very convenient location, although surrounded by designer boutiques, there's heaps of other shopping that is easily accessible. Also, about 10 minutes walk across the river to the old city, which is extraordinary. Just up the road from Place Bellecour, where you'll find the Tourism Office where you get loads of information about Lyon, tours etc and they also organise great walking tours. Restaurants absolutely galore minutes from the hotel. We had a double room and our children a twin room just next door (not interconnecting).

Both rooms were fine and reasonably sized, although the fittings in the children's twin room were slightly outdated. But rooms clean, comfortable and quiet (we were on the 4th floor) and secure. Staff were extraordinarily helpful and cheery - we received a wonderful welcome from the young woman on duty when we arrived - after 900pm sometime. All speak English, WIFI effective, no problem. Breakfast was good value at 9 Euros for full continental and eggs you boil yourself. Absolutely marvellous wine shop just around the corner. Would stay here again no problem.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sitilewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 194 in Lyon
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Hotel des Artistes
#34 of 194 in Lyon
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Celestins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Celestins

Property: Hotel des Celestins
Address: 4 rue des Archers, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#11 Family Hotel in Lyon
#17 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price range (per night): $135 - $295
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Celestins 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the city,between Place Bellecour & Place des JacobinsYou will be within walking distance ofThe old town & the nicest shops.The Célestins CarPark & Bellecour underground station: 50 yards away. Access by elevator 25.6 p X 45.3 p.Air-conditionned & Non Smoking Hotel, free wifi.Charming Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel des Celestins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Celestins Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing