We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After 20 years, a return”
Review of Brasserie Georges

Brasserie Georges
Ranked #324 of 3,759 Restaurants in Lyon
Price range: USD 23 - USD 28
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Perrache - Charlemagne
Description: Situe dans le centre de Lyon depuis 1836, la Brasserie Georges est un authetic lieu d'histoire et le rendez-vous incontournable de la gastronomie Lyonnaise. La richesse du decor, le service chaleureux et la cuisine ont fait sa renommee depuis bon nombre d'annees. Ouvert tous les jours de la semaine et de 11h15 a 00h15 le Samedi et Dimanche. Located in the center of lyon since 1836, the Brasserie Georges is a historic monument and one of the high points of gastronomy in Lyon. The atmosphere is unique...Open every day of the week, all year round, until 11h15 pm and 00h15 am on Friday and Saturday.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Information at Gare Parrache hesitated when I asked about the Bistro St. Georges then said "Oh, Brasserie Georges"? Our last visit to Lyon was 1997. Name change, new table arrangements, nothing drastic, same huge place. Big disappointment was we were too early for the famous Onion soup only served after 7 PM. Otherwise a don't miss attraction for a meal.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Goldig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 83 of 6,463 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

What a place and what an overall performance
All speed ahead in this vast room.
Attentive waiters, great choice mostly
French/ German items of food. Chunky portions, modest seasoning, and fair prices. Hearty happy place, well oiled production that is worth a visit.
We ate beef cheeks with mashed potatoes
Provencale style cod. Fish selection with sauerkraut. Floating island meringue is a must. And if it’s your birthday one gets a loud clap from all and surprise sparkle.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Lazylemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Reading most reviews, we thought we at least try a classic Lyonnaise standard. This is a huge restaurant with service running like a fast food joint. We were hurdled in like cattle, first by staff that clearly has forgotten that dining should not just be about food but about experience. The table was not ready despite reservations and we were forced to have drinks in a crazy bar on the side. At dinner, the service was rushed with really poor regard for their guests. Food was very average for Lyon. Just terrible. For a city that boast being the gastronomic center of France, this place only exist for the tourists and what it once was. Skip it.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank meuricemaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

we were advised to go there by a very good friend who goes to Lyon quite often
Very nice restaurant, the real French brasserie.
The service is fast and nice but quite cold.
We were served so fast, I have never experienced it before. The food was really good.
They have a lot of seafood but we wanted to try something very local so we had raised Cheek of Beef Burgundy-style, Mashed Potatoes and Pork Foot coated with Breadcrumbs and cooked in a Cloth, Tartar Sauce, Potatoes with Parsley
Not my cup of tea but it was very good
They are doing their craft beer and i have tried la dorée, very good

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 219olga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

This is a place worth going to see an authentic art nouveau brasserie in Lyon. The menu contains interesting local specialties like the sauerkrauts with sausages and smoked bacon. Dessert and service were excellent!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gadec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Georges also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing