We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Choice”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lyon, Rhone, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Chris C
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I just spent three night here in the studio apartment and would highly recommend it. First of all, it's right in the heart of Vieux Lyon and within walking distance of pretty much everything else in Lyon. You have great restaurants and shops right on your doorstep.

The apartment itself is immaculate and very well appointed with everything you need for a short stay. The bed is comfortable. The kitchen has all the pots, pans, dishes, utensils and appliances (except for a toaster) you could possibly need. There were even some containers of salt, pepper, sugar, tea and coffee in the cupboard which is a nice touch. There is also a vacuum and umbrella if you need it.

My favourite bit was the bathroom with an amazing shower that has better water pressure than I have at home...and a hair dryer with a diffuser attachment, which was a big plus for me.

The wifi worked very well – no problems at all. I didn't watch TV, but there is one and it seems to have a lot of channels. For an ancient building, the renovations to this apartment are very good.

On the downside, there is a very tiny, narrow winding staircase up 3 floors to get to the apartment. If it hadn't been for my wonderful host, Patrick, I would not have been able to get my heavy suitcase up and down those stairs. But he is very helpful and even booked me a taxi for on the way back. Unless you have mobility issues the walk up and down those stairs is not a big deal.

The other thing some people might not enjoy is the noise and activity from the restaurants just below. I live in downtown Toronto so it didn't bother me at all, but for anyone used to quiet in the evenings this might be a bit much. It all pretty much wraps up around 10:30 or so with the occasional party of revellers passing by later on. Still it's a small thing for a place that's really awesome otherwise.

The price is great, you're in a place steeped in history, the host could not have been nicer or more accommodating and it's close to everything. Excellent value.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le0ncaval...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming apartment in glorious area”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved returning, after a hard day's sightseeing, to this exceptionally well situated and well equipped apartment. Lyon has many delightful areas; Vieux Lyon tops them all. If you go, try to choose the second weekend of September. By chance, we came out of the metro to find the largest and most spectacular ceramics fair we have ever seen. We enjoyed every moment of our time in Lyon, from the silk story (and a wonderful cheese shop) of Croix Rousses, to the Musee des Confluences where the two rivers meet - fantastic building, fantastic exhibitions. Do get a Lyon City Card - it's well worth it. Our thanks to our courteous hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming jewel in "Old Lyon."”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment deserves all top ratings, but due to a mix up with another Lyon place with a similar name ("Renaissance"), a negative review got posted that skewed their results--what a shame, because: This apartment is lovely, tastefully decorated with touches of the Renaissance vintage of Old Lyon, with all immaculate, comfy bed, and fully stocked modern kitchenette and bath--even a convenient umbrella by the door!. Large sunny windows overlooking the courtyard restaurants lend it a cheerful atmosphere, and the hosts are fabulous: Patrick had his son help us carry the luggage up the stairs upon arrival, he came to personally check on us, and at departure he and Francoise invited us for coffee to their home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Merci pour ce charmant commentaire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sol E
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic room in the heart of the old town”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Studio ideally located in the heart of the old town. 3rd floor of an old building with a narrow staircase. Fantastic room nicely decorated. The owners are great and extremely helpful. They will happily share tips and their best spots in Lyon. We had a great stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knapper20...
Kingston, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well equipped funky apartment in heart of Old Lyon”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A charming small apartment in a small sqaure in Old Lyon, overlooking the district mairie. My exceptionally gracious host was there to greet me at the door, carried my case up the 50 steps to the flat, and provided an informative tour of the flat and advice on what to see in Lyon. The apartment has a bedroom/kitchen plus a well equipped modern bathroom. The facilities are very well organised, with everything you might need, from ironing board to umbrella, plus a useful selection of local guides and reading material. Excellent value for money!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host's welcome!
Liked least: The long clumb up three floors!
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing