We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful apartment in historic location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lyon, Rhone, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
RuairiJK
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment in historic location”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Spacious, clean and well appointed apartment in a notable part of Lyon old town. Spoilt for choice for nearby places to eat and a helpful list of recommended local places to eat. Handy for local bakery and supplies. We loved Lyon and want to go back (and stay here)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H
Orange, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gem in middle of medieval city”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My wife and I have just spent 4 days in this lovely apartment in the middle of the old city of Lyon.

Patrick met us on arrival after we had taken 36 hours from Australia to get there. He was a friendy and helpful host who explained everything to know about the apartment that was exactly as it was described when we booked it.

Very clean, well supplied and so quiet.

Only suggestion is if you stay for more than one night bring extra soap with you there is only a very small supply.

Kitchen is great and well stocked if you want to dine in. But with so many restaurants and Bouchons why do that?

We will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derk N
Louisville, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect little apartment in the heart of old Lyon, Françoise & Patrick were so kind and helpful!”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife Eugenia and I, and our grown daughter wanted to stay in the old part of Lyon, within walking distance of the wonderful pastry shops, restaurants and historic sites near by. Eugenia found Lyon Renaissance on line and thought it sounded perfect for the three of us. She was right! The apartment, which includes a master suite loft accessible by a charming spiral staircase, is in a historic courtyard next to an old picturesque turret. Attached to the courtyard are various shops including a family owned silk shop where, if you are interested, you can watch the owner of the shop paint the silks. One of my favorite walks from the apartment was up the nearby hill to the La Basilique Notre Dame de Fourvière, a 19th century Cathedral that was only built a little over 100 years ago and is spectacular. The marble is pristine and must be what the great Cathedrals of Europe looked like 600 years ago. Patrick gave us many other suggestions for great restaurants and sites to see as well. Françoise worked with Eugenia before our trip to make sure we had everything we needed to get to old Lyon quickly and efficiently. And Patrick surprised us one evening with a very nice bottle of wine from the nearby Rhone region. Lyon Renaissance was by far our favorite place we stayed during our three week trip through Europe with our daughter. I don't write very many reviews, usually just for the best places and we think this is one of them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm of the apartment and surrounding location.
Liked least: The shower is dark and small, but works fine.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louiseP09...
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Beautiful apartment”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The apartment is in a very charming neighborhood in the old section of Lyon. Patrick welcomed us and provided all we needed for a 3-day stay. The furnishings and kitchen supplies were top of the line. The courtyard leading to the apartment is a tourist attraction, so could be pretty busy during the day. The very comfortable bed is in a loft with a narrow spiral staircase, and unfortunately the toilet is located on the main floor, so nighttime trips required a bit of dexterity. Despite these minor obstacles, I give five stars to this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Ambiance
Liked least: Spiral staircase
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chinookga...
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“perfect accomodation in Vieux Lyon”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Patrick was a charming host, who ensured that we were familiar with all the apartment amenities and neighbourhood. Sparkling clean, nicely decorated, lots of seating in living room area.
Wonderful location, with shops and restaurants nearby (see reviews for Les Adrets and Les Retrouvailles).

Things to note:
-There is no oven, but we managed perfectly well with the stove and microwave
-Stairs to bedroom could be difficult for those with mobility issues, but there is a railing all the way up
-living room lighting somewhat dim in the evening

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: modern and comfortable, in a great location
Liked least: dim lighting at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing