We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
TripadvisorUSD 450
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUSD 450
Orbitz.com
PricelineUSD 450
eDreamsUSD 450
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,257)
Filter reviews
1,257 results
Traveller rating
848
252
82
46
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
848
252
82
46
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews former convent old town hill overlooking the michelin starred restaurant welcome drink basilica of notre dame concierge city gerald jacuzzi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 1,257 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2019 via mobile

From the moment we stepped into this historical gem, we received consistent outstanding service from each and every staff member. They went above and beyond to assist us with our needs.

Set in the hills above the old city this hotel has history, which the staff we very proud to share.

Our room was very large and well appointed. There were 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms separated by a short hall making it the perfect layout for a family with 2 young children.

The pool and jacuzzi on the roof top have exceptional views. The kids enjoyed considerable, especially with the sweltering heat wave.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank TinaS321
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-cmanager, Emmanuel LALLEMAND, General Manager at Villa Florentine, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2019

Dear Madam,
Thank you for your kind review.

We are pleased you had a memorable stay and appreciated your spacious rooms. We strive to maintain a constant high quality of standards in all areas and appreciate knowing we met your expectations.
It is always rewarding for our team to be commended by a guest and we are truly delighted to hear that you received friendly and professional service.

We would love to welcome you back for another memorable experience in the future.
Best regards,

Emmanuel LALLEMAND, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2019

We had a wonderful stay at Villa Florentine. the location is perfect. We found the facility beautiful, the rooms spacious, and the staff extremely helpful. They even kept suitcases and did laundry for us while we went to Paris for a few days before returning.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Flyer80950
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-cmanager, Emmanuel LALLEMAND, General Manager at Villa Florentine, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2019

Dear Madam & Sir,
Thank you for such a positive review of your stay at Villa Florentine, in Lyon.

We are glad to know your stay with us was an excellent experience and are pleased that you appreciated the spacious room, our perfect location, and style. Thank you for mentioning our helpful team, we hope to make every stay as memorable as yours for our guests.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes,

Emmanuel LALLEMAND, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. It is perfectly situated for visiting the old part of this beautiful city. Unfortunately we were unable to experience the restaurant as it closes Sundays and Mondays but hear its very good food and has some of the best views across the city. We would go again but would avoid rooms 22 & 23 as they are both very dark.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Flyer770596
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-cmanager, Emmanuel LALLEMAND, General Manager at Villa Florentine, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are glad to know your stay with us was memorable and that you appreciated our privileged location with breathtaking views of the city. Such positive feedback encourages our team to continue making every experience with us a memorable one. We regret that you were not able to visit our restaurant during your stay, however we hope that you will be able to fully enjoy it during your next stay with us. We have duly noted your comments regarding your room; please do not hesitate to request one more to your preference during booking.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Kindest regards,

Emmanuel LALLEMAND, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2019

We stayed here for 4 nights in June. The hotel is lovely. It's a former convent.They give you some fresh juice when you check in.
The rooms are nicely appointed but they are not big. Ours had the bedroom upstairs which was a bit of a hassle to be honest. There was no bathroom upstairs so you were up and down a spiral staircase, sometimes in the middle of the night. The amenities in the room are of good quality and there is a turn down service in the evening.
The breakfast was fine but not worth 23 Euros. We had a few minor service issues- i.e having to call down for ice more than once, no one staffs the inside bar when the outside bar is open, but often times there was no one out there and you had to hunt someone to help you. Nothing awful, but for the price you would expect them to have all the outlets open and staffed.
The swimming pool is beautiful and you can't beat the view from it.
As many reviewers have noted, the location is both a blessing and a curse,. The views are great but it's a schlep to get to the hotel on foot. If you're not in the best shape there are either a lot of steps or steep hills.If there is any kind of traffic disruption it takes awhile to get a taxi or an Uber. If you are going to stay in Lyon more than 2 nights I would probably stay somewhere on the Presq'ile. It's much easier to get public transport, ubers etc from there. If you are just in Lyon for a night or two and want to focus on vieux Lyon then this is a solid option.

Room tip: All the rooms are different so ask for what you want when you check in.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nisajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-cmanager, Emmanuel LALLEMAND, General Manager at Villa Florentine, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2019

Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that our architecture and decor were to your liking and that you enjoyed your complementary drink. However, we are sorry to hear that your room did not completely meet your expectations. Please do not hesitate to inform us of your preferences in the future as our team would be pleased to provide you with a room better suited to your requirements. We would like to believe that our breakfast buffet offers a varied selection of quality dishes that cater to all tastes at a competitive price; we regret that you were not satisfied in this respect. Please know that your comments have been duly noted and will be helpful in educating our team as we make the necessary improvements. We regret that our location was inconvenient for your. Nevertheless, we are very pleased to hear you mention the spectacular view from our heated panoramic pool and jacuzzi over the rooftops of Old Lyon and the Saint-Jean Cathedral which stands majestically below.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Kindest regards,

Emmanuel LALLEMAND, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2019 via mobile

The utmost best views of Lyon and an absolute fantastic location. Staff is great and service even better. The pool area is perfect and those hot long chairs are awesome. We were able to walk down to the old city and then took the funicular to the Basilica which is a must see. We then walked down again back to the villa. The restaurant is also a must. Like all Michelin star restaurants it's not cheap but worth every penny. The wine list is worth looking at also as they have some beautiful hidden gems. The food was TOP quality and service was just as good. The only reason they get 4 stars is for certain little details with regards to infrastructure that are minor. 5 stars is perfection afterall. Worth a trip.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cheffrankie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-cmanager, Emmanuel LALLEMAND, General Manager at Villa Florentine, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

The satisfaction of our guests during their stay among us is very gratifying for our team and we are pleased to hear that everything about our hotel and your time with us were to your liking. Indeed, we are truly lucky to have such an ideal location in Lyon. It’s very rewarding to know that we have exceeded your expectations with our service and amenities. Thank you for speaking so highly of your dining experience; Chef David Delsart and our restaurant team will be happy to know they were able to satisfy your taste buds with their superb choices and excellent selection of wines. Rest assured that our renovation program should erase some imperfections that you mentioned.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,

Emmanuel LALLEMAND, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews