We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic and peaceful place”
other travellers have booked this property
Le chateau de Moiré
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le chateau de Moiré
A pool with a view The pool and chateau.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Le chateau de Moiré
A pool with a view
The pool and chateau.
Kitchen with aga, bosch oven and hob and French doors leading to terrace.
The Carmen suite.
Carmen's bath room.
Swings and roundabouts.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Lyon, Rhone, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
TimingsEv...
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful home and pool in a great location, but some quirks.”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The owner of this large house is a gifted artist, with many beautiful paintings rendered in the Impressionist Style. But there are a number of things about the house you should know about in addition to its beauty and ample size.

Most significantly, there is no air conditioning. This is noted on the Airbnb listing and not uncommon in rural Europe, but no mention is made of this on the chateau’s web page. Each day during our June stay, the temperatures were in the mid-80s to mid-90s F (30 to 35 C), and on some days, together with the humidity, it was stifling. This made for a very uncomfortable first night and majority of our stay, as there was no way to cool down the house at least for the first night we were there because it remained very warm outside at night with no breeze. There are large windows that may be opened, but especially if you keep any lights on, moths and other insects enter the bedrooms, as there are no screens. We followed the recommendation to open the windows at night and close them during the heat of the day, but that helped only a little.

Besides letting in insects, keeping the windows open at night also means you should be prepared to wake at 5:00 a.m. each day, because what was not pictured or described is that the house is adjacent the town church. While it has a lovely steeple, it also has a very lovely and loud bell, which begins ringing at about 5:00 a.m. each day, and then rings periodically through the day and into the night until about 11:00 p.m. Open the windows in the rooms facing the church, and it’s like being IN the bell tower, as the sound is almost a focused beam to your ears if not into your very consciousness.

For a small, quiet town, you'd think there would be little traffic at night. Mostly that’s true, but every now and then, even at 2:00a or 3:00a in the morning, with the windows open we would hear the roar of some vehicle speeding past. The town limit is 30kph, but these late night riders seemed to be going faster, disturbing the still air with raucous exhausts and tires that rumbled over the uneven pavement. A look out the window during the day revealed that the house is literally adjacent the town’s main road with no sidewalk or buffer zone. Looking at the signage on trucks coming by is rather like sitting in the front row of a movie theater.

It is true that the rooms are large and we would expect well heated during the winter with old-fashioned steam radiators. But part of the reason the rooms look so large is because at least some of the beds are rather small (some with no headboards). The bedrooms have closets, some quite ample and supplemented by an armoire here or there, but one had only shelves and no clothes-hanging bars. So that meant sharing hanging space with the bedroom across the hall.

The house has some other quirky features you should know about. Some would say this only adds charm, though others might take a different view. Some of the paint was cracked and flaking off in several areas, and the exposed-wire electrical work worried us a bit. If I could post pics, you could decide for yourself if this would concern you, but I can't, so I'll mention a few more things.

One bathroom has no door or shower curtain, and where one would expect to find a sink, there is a large bowl with no opening at the bottom. The large brass ball atop the staircase post at the bottom of the stairs was not fastened during our visit, so if you were to grab it to steady yourself you would be in for a surprise (we did manage not to drop it or to fall). The sink in the hallway bathroom that serves most of the second floor bedrooms drained very slowly. The uppermost shower had no shelf for soap or shampoo, so you would have to pick up those items from the shower floor to use them. There is no shelf or storage space for your toiletries around the bathroom sink, so washing up is a bit of a juggling act. During our visit, the downstairs toilet decided to keep running after flushing but reasonable efforts to get it to stop were to no avail, so we were forced to shut the inlet valve, which rendered it useless for the remainder of our stay.

Another thing you should know is that while the house is advertised as having wireless Internet, you should not expect it to reach anywhere outside the front sitting room. The thick walls seem to keep the signal confined to that space.

Oh, and if the term “billiards room” conjures an image of paneled walls, ample leather chairs, and a full size, slate-bedded table, the actual room has none of these things. Instead, the “billiards” table measures about 1.0 x 1.5 meters with pool balls that measure around 4.0cm; more of a kids game table.

The centerpiece of the property is the pool, which is very nice, but there was no mention on the chateau’s website of having to share it with the people across the courtyard, so don’t expect that you will have it to yourselves. There is a beautiful view of the valley from the pool, though, particularly if you stand poolside at one end.

Besides the nice pool, there are things kids might find fun and interesting, such as the above-mentioned game table, some board games and a brick structure in the yard that’s equipped as a play house. You can close the heavy front gates to the parking area and feel that the kids will not wander onto the adjacent thoroughfare.

Of course, staying in a small village like Moiré is not about seamless wireless Internet coverage or modern amenities. Rather, it’s about an authentic French countryside experience (“Marie, the baguettes!”), and in that regard, it delivers. The town is quaint, and you are well-situated amongst several others, each with a different charm and excellent restaurants. And just down the road from the chateau (maybe 100 steps) is a charming, family run winery.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
Let's put this in context. Here is the five star review of the paying guests who stayed after you:
Fantastic and peaceful place
Left on Jul 6, 2017 for a stay in Jul 2017
I have been there for two days for a company meeting and it has been really fantastic to enjoy this place with this nice view and as well we enjoyed the swimming pool. It is very big with many huge rooms. Nice place to go for company activities but as well for vacation with many people.

1.You were a guest of Make A Wish (Bay Area) to whom I have gifted the house 4 times in the last four years (raising $80000 for Make A WIsh) and you are the only person who was anything other than delighted with their stay.
2. The house has no air-conditioning. This is normal. Solar gain is controlled by closing the external louvred shutters and the windows during the heat of the day. The walls (being about 26" of solid stone) also act as a buffer. If you leave everything open during the heat of the day and complain about it being too hot it is similar to leaving everything open in winter and complaining about being too cold. We stayed for two weeks in July and were perfectly comfortable inside.
3. The church is on the opposite side of the village square and its bell rings. We like it, but it does not wake us up. It doesn't disturb our neighbours in the two houses between us and the church either. It's a shame you let it disturb you. The story of the princess and the pea comes to mind.
4.The beds in the principal bedrooms are 160 x 200cm which is between a king size and super king size on UK measurements. In smaller bedrooms there are smaller double beds. Regarding the inset basin in the 19th century marble wash unit, it is the original swivel wash hand basin is a real antique. As its name suggests you empty it by rotating it.
5. The billiards table is (as described online) a 6' table.
6. The pool is absolutely for the exclusive use of the guests of the chateau.
It is not shared. My maintenance guy checks on the pool from time to time.
7. The plumbing fault with the wc was reported on the last day of your stay and was repaired in under 24h.
8. The fast fibreoptic broadband, as I already explained to you, works best closer to the router and even with extenders it does not reach all round the chateau.
Happily most guests leave us 5 star reviews, but then again most guests have paid and chosen to stay here based on its great reviews, on its accurate description and the photos on its various sites.
Regards, Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sciacca_a...
Cernusco sul Naviglio, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic and peaceful place”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I have been there for two days for a company meeting and it has been really fantastic to enjoy this place with this nice view and as well we enjoyed the swimming pool. It is very big with many huge rooms. Nice place to go for company activities but as well for vacation with many people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2017
I'm very happy you had a great time here. It is a haven from the normal rush and crush of life. You are welcome back any time. All best, Robert and Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph A
Yorba Linda, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was all my wife wanted it to be. Fantastic view, in the country, and plenty of room for 11 people.”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Plenty to do within a short drive from the chateau. We took a long drive (2 hours) to Annecy. It was well worth the drive. Great restaurants in Oingt plus Oingt is a very interesting place. Had two dinners served by 2 different local chefs. One is a part owner in a restaurant in Oingt. The dinning room accommodated all 11. Made for two very nice dinners. I would like to know the history of the chateau. If you want something new and shinny, this is not the place. It is old and has a lot of character.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2017
Delighted to have shared our chateau with you and that you appreciated its character and the richness of the local area. You're right, I should include a short history of the chateau in the guest folder. All best and here's to the next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy P
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Glorious chateau in stunning location”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked le chateau de Moire for a family Christmas. There were 10 adults and 2 children in our party. This is a beautiful family home that has a lovely atmosphere and the views from the house are breath-taking. The rooms are huge so we never felt cramped; it was warm and very comfortable - including the beds. The kitchen is very well equipped with every cooking facility required. The garden is enclosed and a good size; we did not try the pool as it was winter. The local area is wonderful. Great for walking, wine tasting and plenty of towns and villages to explore.There is a great little village 10 minutes away by car that has good local shops. The owner was very helpful before our trip and gave loads of good advice. There are also plenty of local people to help if needed. We would visit again and imagine it would be stunning in summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2017
Thank-you for your great review. We are always delighted when guests love our house, village, countyside as much as we do. You would be welcome back any-time. Summer swimming in the pool with 40km views in the day time and sparkling under the moonlight at night are quite memorable. All best, Robert and Louise Innes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robandeil
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“What a perfect spot!”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week's stay at the amazing Chateau de Moire - a party of six adults, four children and one teenager. The property is perfect for such a large group - the rooms are huge and there is so much space for everyone to do their own thing. The week was hot so the superb swimming pool was in almost constant use. At the weekend there was an amazing thunderstorm - which finally broke into torrential rain just as our party was returning from a family wedding a few miles away. At the chateau there is everything you could possibly need to keep a family happy and busy, including table tennis, etc. in the barn. We were very well looked after by the concierge, Fabienne, whose home is nearby. Communication with the owner, Robert, was quick and easy by e-mail. The views from the grounds are absolutely spectacular - what a beautiful place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the building itself and the swimming pool
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Delighted that you had a fantastic time. We love it and love it when our guests love it too !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing