We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“No frills, but everthing I need at a good price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Residence
Ranked #44 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No frills, but everthing I need at a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This hotel hasn't been renovated for a while, but it's clean and comfortable. Rooms are spacious and contain a good-sized writing desk, safe, and mini bar. Free wifi is included. I've stayed here three times and the staff have always been friendly and efficient. Great location. This hotel had everything I need in a hotel at a very reasonable price.

For EUR8 I thought the breakfast was fine. I like the fact that they trust the guests to state how many breakfasts they ate at the time they check out.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bfc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    268
    108
    11
    2
See reviews for
119
171
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Location in the middle of the pedestrian area, between
two subway stations, right in the UNESCO heritage area.
The room small, but clean, the bathroom quite big, There is every-
thing one really needs, but do not expect fancy stuff. We slept wonderful. Room rate for
France very competitive, We will gladly return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABC2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

A comfortable Hotel with easy access to City highlights and Train/Metro connections.
A reasonable Breakfast 8 euros and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keirhardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yverdon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I have been there many many times and to my sense this is the best deal in Lyon if you don't want to pay too much. Great location, nice people, nice breakfast, perfect for a short stay for shopping.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ovechkin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Nothing special. Only location is good. Lift is small, breakfast is poor, double room is better for one. But the price is very reasonable and personel is very courteous. If you have luggage better use taxi than metro to get to Rhone express tram to airport.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PavMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel des Celestins
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#30 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Bayard Bellecour
Hotel Bayard Bellecour
#83 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Globe et Cecil
Globe et Cecil
#45 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.6 km away
Elysee Hotel
Elysee Hotel
#66 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#31 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residence

Property: Hotel La Residence
Address: 18 rue Victor Hugo, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price range (per night): $141 - $165
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 3-star hotel is located in the heart of downtown Lyon, a 5 -minute walk from Old Lyon , 150 meters from the Place Bellecour and 10 minutes from Confluence . Our central location allows you to discover all the attractions of Lyon life , both in terms of shopping, cultural tours or even the many restaurants making Lyon the capital of gastronomy. Our modern rooms with contemporary decor are equipped with flat - screen television, mini bar, air conditioning , hospitality tray with tea and coffee making facilities . A friendly and personal welcome awaits you and we will be happy to advise you throughout your stay to make you enjoy the charms of our beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia APAC and Wotif.com so you can book your Hotel La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel
La Residence Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing