We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in good location”
Review of Hotel La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Residence
Ranked #44 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Nothing special. Only location is good. Lift is small, breakfast is poor, double room is better for one. But the price is very reasonable and personel is very courteous. If you have luggage better use taxi than metro to get to Rhone express tram to airport.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PavMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 155 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2011

This hotel is in the middle of the city center, a couple of subway (metro) stations are very nearby. The streets are filled with shops and a Carrefour mini-market, some bakeries and a Mc Donalds and Subway are only minutes away. I didn't try out the breakfast but it smelled good. Only the beds were a little small (I'm 1.91m) and not wide enough. The street out front can be noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The hotel has a wonderful position, and I find the other reviews very accurate. For me it was preatty cheap, 100€ the triple room, and the room was clean and big. It's no luxury hotel but for the 3 star rating is a little over the average, they cleaned our room every day and changed all the towels every day, even if not asked to. They even folded one of our pijamas that we left on the bed. The people at the reception are very kind. It's true that you have to leave the key at the reception but it is the custom even in lots of Italian (and European) hotel. I never took a key with me in any of the hotel I visited over the years. In our experience there is always someone at the reception, maybe non at the desk but near, and if someone is worried about room-security there is a safe in the wardrobe. There is wifi in all the rooms and a computer in the reception that you can use. We didn't buy the breakfast but the price is good, we just preferred to try the french patisseries over the city, but for a full "italian" brakfast 8€ are pretty much the standard in the cafès over the city, but if you like to eat cheese or ham or something like that the cafès price rises to 10-12€. We will sure come back here when we return to Lyon and we will suggest that hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meba411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Highly recommendable option in the heart of Lyon. Location couldn't be better, you can explore the city easily from here. Rooms are basic but comfortable, hotel personnel is kind and ready to assist you. Only caveat refers to loose security at the entrance: room keys can be reached by anyone and more than once I found the reception empty,with no front desk officers. But I had no problems and would stay again at the La Residence.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NigriParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Easy walk to train station (Perrache). Room was large and bath adequate. Quiet at night. Good location for strolling or dining. Not too far from the old town. Service, breakfast were just fine. A/C, WiFi. Overall this is a good value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rambleyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel Bayard Bellecour
#100 of 196 in Lyon
331 reviews
Hotel des Celestins
#12 of 196 in Lyon
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel des Artistes
#26 of 196 in Lyon
439 reviews
Globe et Cecil
#55 of 196 in Lyon
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residence

Address: 18 rue Victor Hugo, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: $150 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 3-star hotel is located in the heart of downtown Lyon, a 5 -minute walk from Old Lyon , 150 meters from the Place Bellecour and 10 minutes from Confluence . Our central location allows you to discover all the attractions of Lyon life , both in terms of shopping, cultural tours or even the many restaurants making Lyon the capital of gastronomy. Our modern rooms with contemporary decor are equipped with flat - screen television, mini bar, air conditioning , hospitality tray with tea and coffee making facilities . A friendly and personal welcome awaits you and we will be happy to advise you throughout your stay to make you enjoy the charms of our beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel
La Residence Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing