We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #23 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. Just the place we needed for a good nights sleep after a long flight from Australia. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. There is free parking and wifi and it's right across the road from the tourist office. We could walk easily to all the sights and lovely restaurants.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louisehod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    455
    141
    63
    18
See reviews for
175
662
75
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
233 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My friends booked into this hotel for one night recently after leaving the Loire Valley a day early. All seven of us were totally wowed by this hotel. We were able to get a reasonable price through Expedia though it is an expensive hotel, even with a deal. Having said that, it is a delightful hotel with all the amenities and extras you would expect in a five star hotel. Rooms are charming and comfortable. Bedding and bath linens are luxurious. Everything is spotless. The location, right on Bellecour, is terrific.

The staff is really wonderful - attentive, helpful and they go that extra little to make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpikeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrara, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Hotel Le Royal was truly high in quality in all respects. Indeed, it was exceptional. The room was extremely spacious with a fantastic bed, Lighting was excellent, and we had a splendid view from our window. This classy accommodation provided a massive bathroom with shower and a large bath. A lift provided access to the rooms.
The staff were friendly, exceedingly helpful and blessed with a sense of humour.
Lyon was a city that we had not visited before, and this hotel was conveniently located adjacent to the historical older part of the city, between two rivers, with public transport, restaurants and shopping all close handy.
The old town was stunningly beautiful in architecture, and full of character and charm. The city of Lyon was maybe a more spacious, slower version of Paris in some ways.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJeppos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Just perfect for us, situated in the lovely Bellecour, gorgeous views from our elegant round suite, deliciously comfortable beds, discreet friendly staff. Would go again in a heartbeat. Close to the riverside markets on the weekend. A jug would be a nice addition to the rooms and if i was being picky i'd say the furniture is not as beautiful as the room and bed are but not a problem at all. The other thing is that the restaurant is wonderful but if all you want for breakfast is a croissant and a cafe au lait then it is a little expensive to eat there.

Room Tip: If you can stretch to the round suite then do. the doors and windows open onto the square but the do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 81KRollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is a beautiful hotel that has had a bit of an identity crisis. For my last night in France after a three week vacation, I wanted an old world hotel that reflected very French decor. Some where in the late 90's some one went shopping at Ikea. So we have a mix of periods that don't meld together. Now this building is a couple hundred years old, so nicks in basecoves and woordwork is ok. The scrached up 1990 laminate made the whole effect a bit trashy. The desk, rolling endtable and bathroom vanity have to go.

The staff is very proper but approachable and helpful. I asked for a kettle for the room-twice and one was delivered. Our room was very small but after I put the rolling Ikea end tables under the scratched up desk, we had room to move around. The robe and slippers in the closet were welcome since I didn't want to unpack much on my last night. The turndown service with a treat for the morning are a nice touch, though the card telling you what to wear the next day is a bit much. I would stay here again though. I loved Lyon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwoodRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,249 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Villa Florentine
#7 of 194 in Lyon
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price range (per night): $191 - $413
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing