We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Finest City Hotel in the Savoie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Hotel Grenoble - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Grenoble
Certificate of Excellence
NY/Westport/Provence
Level Contributor
330 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
“The Finest City Hotel in the Savoie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

I travel throughout France every few months as my business has me traveling from Nice across to Biarritz. Aside from that, I have spent the last 20 years exploring all the regions of France. I am writing reviews on some of the more memorable Hotels and Restaurants , from a 3* michelin to a local bistro gem.

The Park Hotel was a wonderful experience. Grenoble is a beautiful city to explore and the views of the mountains ciricle the city like a panorama. This Hotel absolutely adds to this special ambiance. First. It is the top 4/5* hotel in town and thank godness. For those of us who like 'the 'top' when traveling, you couldn't do much better in this area of the Savoie. The building itself has more of a comfortable, clubby feel than a big modern hotel and the wonderful staff emulate that feeling as well. The lobby and hotel restaurant (we dined there one night when we were too tired to walk to the nearby 'trendy dining quarter. It does not profess to be a 'Restaurant gastronomique'..but it was very , very nice. Comfortable booth with a potage legumes, lovely pasta pomodoro and fine local wine that were just perfect for this rainy night after too much walking during the day...at a moderate price'), have had great attention paid to all details and the result justifies the means as you feel renewed every time you enter the hotel. The rooms fromj Superior to Executive are lovely. Again that Club like feel with expensive comfortable furniture and the most luxurious beds and bathroom. We were upgraded for free from a Superior to an Executive and the views of the mountains with the lovely room was a wonderful combo. Breakfast in the room while looking at the morning view, andample room to enjoy a breakfast for two in leisurely fashion was another highlight. The trendy nightime quarter where the locals go to dine and where we found two amazing bistros at very reasonable prices were a short wak from the Hotel. Grenoble is a town for walking and the location , although not in the direct center of town...actually benifited from being just a bit off of centreville. Still..it is in the heartof the city. Grenoble is a wonderful base to take day trips in many directions to discover this amazing region of stunning beauty as well as small antique shops along the roads, little bistros and small anicnet villages. The special rates for the hotel are 1/2 of what you would pay in Paris for a hotel of this caliber. A lovely two day stop over on the way to the South from the North of France.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeTerrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    75
    27
    8
    8
See reviews for
29
124
18
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

I'm writing this during my stay at the hotel. I stayed three nights, and while the hotel would meet the expectations of a clean two star hotel, that's where it would end. I'm a big fan of Grenoble, as I lived here for some time, and love the city. I selected the hotel for its location. In the three mornings I was here, the restaurant was completed closed for breakfast on two of them. The restaurant and bar was closed for dinner entirely on Sunday night, and both were closed by eleven pm on Saturday. I waited for twenty-five minutes for a coffee in the lobby because the desk person could not find the waiter. When I called and asked for an extra pillow it was "impossible" as the laundry was closed. When I asked for an iron that was also impossible until the next day. How a four star hotel cannot produce a pillow with fifty empty rooms is a tough one for me to handle. When I arrived on Sunday night and asked what would be open for dinner, I was told "McDonalds." When I asked about the number of Brasserie's I knew would be open (as I recall them from living here) I was given actual suggestions. There is no fitness center, no business center, and nothing exceptional about the hotel. I never saw a person in the restaurant at any point, and of the five staff people I saw, four of them look like they are twenty-two or three. (So not the savvy, experienced staff.)

On the flip side the rooms are clean and furnished competently. Internet was free. The Park Hotel is not a bad place to stay but I had a better experience at the Mercure, and for less per night.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJTravele_SanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2009

I spent 4 nights at this hotel. I was in Grenoble on business so this hotel was booked and paid for by my company. It cost 140 euros a night. I would not have paid that much for an average hotel.
The reception and the bar were very nice and the staff really helpful and pleasant.
The rooms are of a decent size but are very dated and a bit tired.
Personally I have paid a lot less for a hotel and got a whole lot more.
Cheers
Davie

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — The dated room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eor7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2007

In 10 years I visited Grenoble 100 times and sampled many hotels. The Park is one of my favorites for business visits. I like the staff at the reception and the restaurant who welcomed me nicely (even the first time). Dinner is served up to midnight, convenient if you have to work late. There is a choice of light and gastronomic food. Overall the service is very professional.

There are wide differences between rooms : a few are still a bit old fashioned and that might have been the reason of some poor reviews on this site. But most of them, and definitely all "luxe" are refurbished with large and clean bathroom / showers. On two occasions I was upgraded to a suite which would be perfect for small business meetings, although I did not need that. Internet is charged but TV is free.

Arrival is direct from the Chambery motorway and transportation has improved after several years of road works for the new tram. Parking spaces are reserved for the hotel (not enough). The reception will let you park overnight in front and offers valet-parking ( I used it once when in a hurry). The town is now improving the park Mistral, but, I would expect a better place to go jogging in the morning.

Improvements could include a fitness ( poor point for all Grenoble hotels), CD/DVD or iPod connection. And yes, it’s a bit pricey 4* but not a boutique hotel with stylish design.

  • Liked — Good reliable consistent service
  • Disliked — Parking space, no fitness
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cflorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2006

Do not let the rating fool you!

The question here is "What criteria is required to earn star rating in Grenoble, France?" This dump would hardly register 1-2 in the US! My husband and I stayed here with another couple for a few nights this past week and were shocked to see the state of this "4 star" hotel. The smell in the hallways, common areas and rooms reeked of cheap room deodorizer that had no way to ventilate. The stagnant air was stifling throughout the entire hotel. Overall, the wallpaper was dark, the carpet a total disaster, the beds were sagging in the middle and the room decor was dated, dreary and totally uncomfortable. Paint and wallpaper were peeling from ceilings and walls everywhere...

The absolute most inexcusable factor was the blatant rudeness of the hotel owner whose presence was looming and haunting the poor staff (who were very nice and accommodating!). This man yelled at my husband and his friend for putting their bicycles were the staff had instructed them to put them (in a meeting room that was not being used nor did it look like it had seen any activity in years). He walked around with a most disagreeable disposition and alienating all who had the misfortune of encountering him. Please research another hotel in this charming, sweet town! I am sure there are better!!!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank dtbPasadena_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grenoble hotels
Hyper-Centre
Grand Hotel Grenoble Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Grenoble Centre
#6 of 50 in Grenoble
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Grenoble - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Grenoble - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Park Hotel Grenoble - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 10 Place Paul Mistral, 38000, Grenoble, France (Formerly Park Hotel Grenoble - MGallery Collection)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Grenoble
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grenoble
Price range (per night): $162 - $219
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Grenoble - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Happiness is in the Park .... Luxury, elegance on every floor, the Park Hotel is a great business hotel with all the services of a 4 star. Very central, near the park Paul Mistral, one of the largest in Grenoble he was fully renovated in a contemporary spirit, tinged with ancient design and tradition. A universe "Ralph Lauren Home" with 38 rooms and suites, 2 living seminars, air conditioning, free wifi throughout the hotel, valet parking, room service. Elegance, sobriety, keen eye for detail and refined materials. Open to the world, all have 34 international channels with free BEINSPORTS and CANAL +, Standard Double (TV screenshot flat, WiFi and Free Mini bar with espresso maker), Double Superior and Suite with private lounge. An Invitation to Travel ... facing the park Paul Mistral. The hotel offers to its customers a catering service to its space Lounge Bar "The Zebra" on-site or room service. Wellness Room open daily from 7am to 23h Composed of a bike, an elliptical, a treadmill. Sensory shower, ice fountain and a Hammam open from 10am to 22pm Free admission and reserved exclusively for hotel guests. Parking at the parking Chavant nearby: Package 1 night 12 € or Valet parking: 16 €. WiFi, new high-performance system and free throughout the hotel. For your sporting excursions (mountain biking, hiking) or intensive (cellars of Chartreuse, walnuts) near the city center and a short walk from the Stade des Alpes. The Park Hotel is ideal for all outputs intramural (Musée de Grenoble, Dauphinois Museum, Museum of the French Revolution, shops, restaurants, shows or to get high with the cable car to the Bastille which offers a unique panoramic view of the city . Taking a cruise on the ship Mira few kilometers from Grenoble or a baptism sidecar ... In season, enjoy daily shuttles to major ski areas such as Les 2 Alpes, Alpe d'Huez, Chamrousse Villard de Lans or ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Hotel Grenoble - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grenoble Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing