We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury chalet with luxury service and food, all...”

Review of Chalet Valhalla

Winter exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Winter exterior
Fireside and Minstrel's Gallery Across the meadow to Valhalla, spring
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Winter exterior
Fireside and Minstrel's Gallery
Across the meadow to Valhalla, spring
Bedroom 5
Valhalla in Summer
Bathroom detail
View from the terrace
Master bedroom
Bedroom 3 (with mezzanine)
Valhalla in Winter
Kitchen
Living area
Summer views from the living area
Bathroom
Winter view from gallery
Dining room
Dormitory bedroom
Looking down from gallery to living area
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 4
Stairs
Upper hallway
Boot Room
Bedroom lower ground floor
Shower room, lower ground bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jett123
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Luxury chalet with luxury service and food, all delivered with a huge smile”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have been to many catered chalets in France, Italy and Austria and this was the best Chalet we have stayed at across the board. The service for the booking was outstanding. Barbara from Collineige was extremely knowledgable and helpful and this did not stop after we paid up.......Firstly the transfer is very short from Geneva and for the first time did not involve Nausea. We were greeted by 3 Chalet staff. Chris and Kristy and Carter who were extremely kind, generous with their time and went the extra mile to help. They had a 'can do' approach to everything and helped us from the moment we arrived, with our luggage, to the second we left. Carter is an extremely talented young chef who will for sure be a star amongst his peers. We are all extreme foodies and are never satisfied with chalet food but this time we hit the jackpot. Carter did not work from a simple day to day recipe. He pretty much cooked us gourmet food every day with whatever we requested.
There must have been a budget for food shopping and alcohol but unlike other chalets we did not feel the restriction. Oysters and champagne as canapes one night; luxury breads, premium wines, Seasonal Fruit baskets, Fresh flowers in the chalet brought over by chalet owner. Colliene who was the chalet owner was extremely friendly and approachable and came to say hello on a couple of occasions which is again rare.
Breakfast was simple but efficient.
Hot tub with a fantastic view of Mont Blanc. Cleaned after each week and fitting 8 people.
Bedrooms were of small size but did the job. Very warm overall.
Lounge spacious and galleried. Fireplace beautiful.
Toileteries were luxury and we have robes each and separate towels for Hot tub.
Ski room with boot warmers.
Lift to and from slopes every day.
Kristy babysat twice for us and she was very professional and kids loved her.
Only Negative comment I have:
Our bath had a shower head which you had to hold so very tricky to shower.. I hope this gets fixed as it would be nice to have a decent shower after a day in the slopes.

Thank you so much to Colline for having such and incredible chalet and being very generous and employing the best Three Muskateers in town. Thank you to Carter, Chris and Kristy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The food was incredible
Liked least: Showers were hand held in bath tub
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShahrzadR...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Where should I start? If you are planning a ski trip to Chamonix, look no further. Each year, 15 of us go skiing and always stay in a catered chalet as we have 7 kids ranging from pre-school to teenagers. Chalet Valhalla by far was the best chalet we ever stayed in as it ticked all the boxes for a big group with children.
Before we got there, the Collinege staff efficiently and good humouredly organised every aspect of our trip and Barbara never lost her temper attending to our numerous calls and emails. They were extremely knowledgeable and helpful and I could not praise them enough.
The icing on the top was having Carter (chef), Chrisy and Chris look after us effortlessly and pampering us with whatever we desired. From giving us a lift to the ski slopes and picking us up whenever it suited us to preparing mouth watering dishes which did our waist lines no good, to looking after the kids and even picking them up from ski school on the last day, we were spoilt beyond words! The hot tub was just perfect after a hard day skiing, sipping champagne and chatting to friends. The trouble is that now we feel we have to go back as we can't imagine getting a better, friendlier service!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Chalet staff and food
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne S
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent service provided by the Collinege team”
Reviewed 25 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Chalet Valhalla certainly exceeded our expectations in Chamonix. Fantastic chalet with some lovely luxury touches. The service provided was first class, including the mountain drop off service for transfer to and from the chalet.
What made it for us though were Carter and Kristy - two amazing people who couldn't do enough for us. Carter's culinary skills were outstanding - check out the photos which I couldn't help but take!
Even though more than I would normally spend on a chalet, it was worth it. You do get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Penn
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BrightonM...
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Hen Do...Location, Scenery and Amazing Chalet”
Reviewed 17 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Chalet Valhalla - Was just amazing. Stunning views all around the property with each room individually heated to suit you own needs. No need for slippers thou, as that under floor heating keeps your toties warm.
Kitchen was well equiped with everything you could think of, from basic cup of tea making to preparing a full roast dinner.
The log fire sets the mood in the lounge, and seating of 16 people around the dining room table was fantastic.
Walking distance from the town centre, where we were able to enjoy the Saturday morning open market. Restaurants, bars all near by, and plenty of shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing