We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Aiguille du Midi
from USD 97.01
More Info
from USD 120.16
More Info
from USD 87.09
More Info
from USD 85.99
More Info
Reviews (7,368)
Filter reviews
7,368 results
Traveller rating
6,037
944
226
74
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6,037
944
226
74
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car mont blanc amazing views glass box warm clothes day pass du midi once in a lifetime afraid of heights out of this world visiting chamonix void cars queue altitude weather gondola
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 7,368 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2019 via mobile

We arrived in Chamonix today and we were anxious to experience cable car to Mont Blanc. We walked from our hotel to the station and purchased tickets with no delays. We took both cars to the top and enjoyed the scenery. Once we arrived we were given tickets with a number that meant we would have to wait 2 hours before before we could return to the bottom. We decided to eat in the restaurant to pass the time. With 20 minutes to go we got in line and were herded into a car 15 minutes late but we were packed in so tight, we regretted the experience. Anyone who is anxious or claustrophobic or unable to stand in one place for 30 minutes should avoid this activity!!!! The cable car was overloaded!

Date of experience: August 2019
3  Thank pamiepat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONT BLANC N, Service Marketing at Aiguille du Midi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2019

Dear Madam, Sir,

Your comment regarding the transportation on board the cable car have received our full attention. We inform you that we respect the maximum capacity authorized by the manufacturer. In summer high season, the influx of visitors is important and we try to satisfy the maximum of customers who often come from far away to visit the Aiguille du Midi.
In order to free up as much space as possible, passengers are asked to remove their backpacks and to occupy all the available space in the the cable car.
We regret that the descent by cable car inconvenienced you.

We would like to assure you that we make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction of our customers, your comments will help us to improve and to better respond to your needs.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2019

First I really have to admit that it was the BEST attraction in Chamonix, views from Aiguille are amazing! If you wish to visit only one telepherique in Chamonix - this is the one! Another important thing is to take warm clothes, we had winter jackets and were a little cold, but it was only May. There are awesome views from up there and I recommend to go early in the morning, when there is a high chance to actually see Mont Blanc as most of the time it's hidden in the clouds.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Claude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2019 via mobile

This is worth the money though it isn't cheap. The views from the top on a clear day are spectacular.

Tips:

Go early - less wait and likely to be clear. On a weekday in late August there was minimal waiting either at the bottom or top at 8am. Once we had done what we wanted at the top we could go straight down.

Get a pass - this also allows access to many other cable cars and attractions such as Montenvers and the Mont Blanc Tramway. The cost is only a little more than the Aiguille cable car alone, and if you get it in advance that's one less queue you need to be in!

Reserve your ascent in advance - likewise with Tramway de Mont Blanc. You do this on the website for free (you still need to buy a ticket or pass at some point). If you do this and get your pass in advance you basically join the boarding queue at the alloted time, bypassing the much longer queue for people who do not have reservations or tickets.

It's cold at the top, so bring a coat

Date of experience: August 2019
4  Thank oehugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2019 via mobile

A trip up to Mt Blanc is worth every cent of the c. EUR 195 we paid for 2 adults + 2 young kids ... but its worth it. 2 amazing cable car rides take you almost to the top (but obviously not to the actual summit). Amazing views ... pick your day of you can ... we had clear blue sky but the weather can cha ge quickly up mountains so be warned. It was 30 deg at the base by 0 deg up top ... so remember warm clothes ... it is cold and windy up there ... and we went in near perfect conditions. Avoid the snacks up there ... take your own food and drink. Youd need a mortgage for 4 hot choc drinks + 4 bags of crisps ... but lesson learnt. Kids absolutely loved it... sure its expensive but you are going up Mt Blanc ... enjoy its worth every penny and minute of queuing.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank funfamily70s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2019 via mobile

Not cheap at 63-64 euros and better that you check the weather and reserve ahead. People who comes here likes to check this cable car item off so reservations helps. 2 stage ride and timing bit hard to understand to and fro, guess they need to manage both ways’ traffic.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank ungraded
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews