We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and Newly renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Carlton
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Stayed 2 nts in May 2017 on business. Hotel is new and completely renovated. Friendly efficient staff. 2min walk to bus and train station. 10 min walk to lake, 5 min to old town. Plenty of cafes/restaurants nearby, but the area is quiet at night. Breakfast is a continental buffet with very good selection but a little expensive at €16 additional charge. Would recommend for couples and Business trips, not sure if there are family rooms.

Room Tip: Close to lake, old town and bus/train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2017

I would like to stat by thanking the staff for making this such a lovely stay. The Hotel had just completed renovations to the bar in the lobby, we left the day it opened. It might have been nice to have had this completed but in all honesty we may not have used it. There are so many bars and restaurants in walking distance not to have to worry.
Having said that we had perfect weather so walking outside was not an issue, had it been raining or snowing the bar would have been used.
I would request or pay for a a room with a balcony, rooms are only small and this gives you a bit of extra space as well as a good place to enjoy a glass of wine
The hotel has undergone a refurbishment and the rooms as i said are small but are very clean and our bathroom was as big as we have found so far in Europe
Great location to wonder the sites of Annecy, locals are very friendly
a walk or bike ride around the lake is a lot of fun
a great place to spend a few days doing not very much
thanks to Eleanor and the rest of the staff, very nicely done
Ben C
Sydney Australia

Stayed: May 2017
2  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Hotel is located near to the old town. Rooms are nice equipped and big enough. Car parking is very safe at the side of the hotel (15€) but entrance narrow. Wifi very fast and stable. Water pressure good. Hotel is new restored and furnished in very nice colours. Breakfast we have not tried. Directly enface the hotel you will find a little super market. Bed comfortable.

Room Tip: 506 has a big balcony all around the room with view to park and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Klabautermann07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for a long weekend and was very pleasantly surprised. Clearly newly refurbished, the rooms were lovely and tastefully decorated and very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast included within the price was also more than adequate. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank sallygirl_sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

This is a perfectly acceptable hotel in a good location in the lovely town of Annercy.

The hotel is very near to the train station, and just a short walk into the old town, the lake and the other tourist attractions you may want to visit.

We paid extra for an executive room which, although recently refurbished, was smaller than you would expect for an upgraded room - I can't imagine what size the ordinary rooms are. Nice toiletteries, they were nice enough to supply a toothbrush as I had forgotten mine and they will bring you an iron and ironing board if you ask for one. Good coffee and tea making. The wardrobe has a strange hanging arrangement and is only good for trousers or short skirts - the hanging length is no longer than that. The reception area is still being finished. The beds were very comfortable.

We didn't eat their breakfast - we usually only have croissants and coffee and I would recommend walking into the old town, just a couple of minutes, and have breakfast at 'Paul' where you can sit in the sunshine and have a lovely breakfast for a few euros.

I had a run in with reception as we returned back to the hotel at 10.30 pm one evening only to find the reception door closed and the bell not working. We had to telephone the hotel to get someone to let us in - there is supposed to be 24 hour reception - the gentleman on duty didn't apologise and had the cheek to say that it was 24 hours as he came as soon as I telephoned!! Anyway we complained the next morning and they did refund us the cost of our room for that night - but it wasn't a great ending to my birthday evening.

I can't see how this is a four star hotel but honestly we didn't see any better in Annercy and we did think the room rates that we got were reasonably (we did not book directly). If we go again I think we would stay in one of the very nice apartments that seem to be available in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.4 km away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 47 in Annecy
785 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Hotel International
1.8 km away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
0.2 km away
Mercure Annecy Centre
Mercure Annecy Centre
#15 of 47 in Annecy
572 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Novotel Annecy Centre Atria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Carlton

Address: 5 rue des Glieres, 74000, Annecy, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Annecy
Price Range: $112 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlton
Best Western Annecy
Annecy Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing