We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice panoramic view”

Telepherique du Mont Faron
Ranked #2 of 87 things to do in Toulon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
london
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice panoramic view”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Non mass touristic panramic view of the area. Nice surprise for us as we were taken there by a lcal friend. At the top, you could ind the marine museum.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank spasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    359
    99
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
844 reviews
514 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 657 helpful votes
“Definitely the highlight of any trip to Toulon”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

In Toulon for the day having arrived on the Thonson Dream cruise liner. We had been advised in advance that we must go up in the cable car if we were able. We bought our tickets from the Tourist Information Office in the centre of town. 6 euros each for a ticket that gave unlimited bus travel for the day, the return trip on the Telepherique, and a trip on a boat around the harbour. Truly incredible value for money. The cable car ride was quite an experience but only took about 10 minutes going up; and a bit less coming back down! There is a small cafe/bar at the top - Le Panoramique, where you can have refreshments and sit down and take in the view. Not only can you look over the city on the seaward side but a short walk around the summit takes you to the north where you can look over a valley full of numerous villages and houses. Well worth the visit. If you are nervous about the ride in the cable car then you need only look inwards during the journeys up and down but you will soon find once you get accustomed to the movement of the cable car that you will want to look out over the mountainside below you.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
25 Thank Brucestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 694 helpful votes
“For a spectacular view of Toulon”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Our cruise stopped in Toulon on April 29, which was a Sunday.

We bought a combo "unlimited bus/telepherique" ticket (6€) and headed for the telepherique as soon as we left the ship.

The telepherique ride is impressive and you have a spectacular view of the city while you climb the Mont Faron. Unfortunately for us, the day was cloudy and when we arrived to the top we could not see the city at all.

There is not much to do on Mont-Faron with kids, so the zoo is a nice option.

We walk around and saw a couple of interesting things (the chapel, the observatory, etc) and then we took the telepherique back. But then we wanted to take a bus back to downtown but we would have had to wait about two hours for the bus. We did not notice earlier but the bus schedule is very limited on week-end and holidays. So we decided to walk back to the port since the weather was nice. It takes less than one hour to walk from the telepherique to the port and it is not too complicated.

There is not much to do in Toulon so I would recommend the telepherique ride since it is not too expensive and the view is breathtaking.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
31 Thank Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth a trip!”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

If you're in Toulon definitely visit Mont Faron! The cable car is fun, the mountain is beautiful and there are some amazing sights over the coast.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
16 Thank twentyfourthworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent cable car ride”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Visited Toulon for one day from a Thomson cruise ship. What a lovely city with lovely people who could not be more helpful. Went on the cable car to Mt Feron. It was great with beautiful views similar to one on Lake Garda. We got a No 40 bus from street near harbour. We were dropped off next to the cable car. Bus ticket 1 euro 30 approx one way.
Cable car 6 Euro 70 return. Met two girls who informed us they had visited the Tourist office near the harbour where they purchased a ticket for 6 Euro which included unlimited bus travel in the city, Cable car ride and a boat trip. Real value for money.
Visited a QUICK (like McDonalds) near square for quick lunch. Again excellent.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
75 Thank mini0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Telepherique du Mont Faron also viewed

 

Been to Telepherique du Mont Faron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing