We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a 5 star spa hotel - very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We booked a 5* spa hotel as a special weekend break to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary. However, upon arrival we were disappointed to see that our room was far from 5*. We were informed by the reception staff that there were no alternative rooms available. We have previously stayed in many other 5* hotels around the world and in Europe, and it is clear to say that the hotel does not meet the same standard as other 5* hotels.

I have summarised the main issues below:

- Room very run down, the bathroom and terrace had pealing paint and the balcony door would not shut or lock properly.
- We booked a restaurant table from the bar, and were informed that we could sit on the terrace by the hedge bordering the pool.
- We pre-ordered our meal from the menu whilst at the bar terrace.
- We mentioned to the waiter that we would like eat at around 8pm, when no-one came to inform us that our dinner was ready by 8.20 pm we mentioned to the waiters we were ready to eat.
- We were taken to our table and canapes arrived which we started to eat whilst looking at the wine menu.
- The waiter seemed surprised we had pre ordered our food and asked us which waiter we had ordered with.
- The waiter then went off and came back and mentioned we had ordered from the bistro menu and that we were sat in the Gastronomic restaurant.
- We were then informed we would have to be moved to the bistro terrace around to corner.
- The waiter picked up our canapes in front of the other diners and we were moved to the terrace around the corner.
- This was a very embarrassing moment for both of us, given that the restaurant was not very full and that the waiters had allowed us to sit in the wrong place, this is not the service we would expect from a 5* spa hotel.
- The new terrace was no where near as nice, and if we had known that we would have to sit there we would not have booked a table.
- We ordered the “ Oeufs Cocote” for a starter, when this arrived the dish contained Foie Gras which my wife does not eat. There was no mention on the menu that the dish contained Foie Gras and therefore she was unable to eat her starter.
- On mentioning this to the waiter he mentioned that she was not the first person to complain about that during the evening.
- At no point was an alternative starter offered and we were still charged for 2 courses although my wife was only able to eat 1 course, again very very disappointing as this was supposed to be a special meal for our 21st wedding anniversary.
- Whilst sitting at the table the arm on my wife’s chair broke, this is dangerous and a child or elderly person could have fallen or hurt themselves.
- Upon mentioning the above failings in the restaurant 2 staff members apologised but no action was ever taken to rectify the issues.


Whist pointing out the short comings of our break, it is important to also point out some of the positives points which were:

- We found the staff very welcoming.
- We were showed around the hotel and facilities on arrival.
- Champagne and rose petals were placed in our room for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PatrickSpaight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolas_barriquand, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Dear Madam, Sir,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience during your stay in our establishment.
We would like to inform you that the pictures displayed on the website correspond to the room 32. This one is going to be refurbished in November 2011.

Yours faithfully

The direction of the Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Damien Gallon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed at this beautiful place with our child in jully 2011. French common sense everywhere! Excellent 5 stars boutique hotel in a residential area. Superior interior and exterior design. LED big flat screen tv. Good sized bathroom, very stylish. Intimate place. Very clean rooms and public areas. Very helpfull room cleaning staff. Bistrot restaurant and gourmet restaurant, michelin star. More polite and helpfull reception desk staff. They speak English. We booked a junour suite by DERTOUR operator. We asked before by e-mail for a quiet junior suite, and they upgrade for free in a deluxe suite double, pool view, with terrace. Good sized suite, in L shape: one part sitting area plus one part bedroom, after the corner. They gave my child a Wii Console and many games for free. Direct international telephone number in suite. Very confortable bed. Excellent food and fruits sellection at breakfast. Good sized swimming pool, really 5 stars one. Not a crowded pool. Free parking places. Free wireless, excellent signal.
One of the best 5 stars we stayed. A little bit expensive (normally at 5 stars), but very good value for money.
Very good place for explore PROVENCE. Must see St. Remy, Baux, Gordes, Lacoste, Fontaine de Vaucluse, Avignon, Apt, Valensole with lavanda fields, Bonnieux, Pont du Gard, Arles, Rousillon, etc. Take care: you can eat at lunch at dinner time only, in Provence !!
Our score for the hotel: 9,5

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ovigalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The welcome service was fantastic. The porter fetched our luggage from the car and we seamlessly were checked in - an upgrade to a suite was even complimentary. The pool was beautiful and relaxing - didn't feel pretentious at all. The room seemed outdated even though it was obvious it had been updated - hard to explain but just didn't feel like 5star room. The hotel had a spa, but had inconsistent hours (closed the day we checked in) and therefore made it difficult to plan any treatments in my visit. The breakfast was completely overpriced for what was offered - this was really a surprise given dinner in the restaurant was quite exquisite. All in all, probably a good choice for the area, but was not worth 5 star rates.

Room Tip: Booked on expedia and was given an upgrade - don't know if the two were connected
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catchthefever22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

took the euro star and tgv down to avignon and booked to stay 3 nights at the valrugues hotel..
we were shown to our room and on entering the room our first impressions were of how small it was and how it looked nothing like the website pictures.
we were also greeted by a rancid smell of urine coming from the toilet which over powered the whole room..
we also noted that the paint was pealing off of the bathroom wall.
so i immediately went back down to the reception and asked for a room change due to the smell and was informed by the receptionist that we could only be moved for one night as the hotel was fully booked from tomorrow and would have to return to our original urine smelling room.
so obviously i took this as "this room is not suitable for our other guests but it"s perfectly acceptable for you"..
so pretty astonished by this response i complained but to no avail but they did send up a cleaner with a bottle of bleach(very nice of them)..
another note is that for a 5* hotel there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and on the 35 international tv channels there was only 1 english channel but they managed to put a kazakstan,thai,cuban,brazilian channel on there,so this place must be truly international..

overall a very poor hotel and nowhere near a 4* let alone a 5*..

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LondonJammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

From previous TA reviews we have learned that the rooms are small. Though the reality is that our room was the smallest room we have ever had in a hotel - hence like living in a box. The bathroom was a joke and does not deserve the name bathroom. It is so small that only one person can be in the bathroom. Also one have to enter the tube to take a shower. I don't like this and it is simply not 5-star. All in all the hotel is not bad but it is not 5 star quality compared to other 5-star hotels we have been. The valet parking and check-in was good and fast and we got a renovated room. Wifi worked efficiently and without any additional cost. According to their website, they are offering a gym but this was not ready or not available during our stay of 7 nights. The food in the Bistro was just OK. Nothing special. However, we did not eat in their Michelin rated restaurant. The breakfast was good except that we had to operate the coffee machine ourselves to get espresso coffees. Again, not 5-star. The pool and pool area is really good with plenty of sunloungers and umbrellas. However, the pool service was sometimes inexisting as nobody came along for long times to check for drinks or water. The worst of our stay was that the (small) window of our room was right across from the roof of the new soon-to-be indoor pool. During our entire stay, we have had workers in front of this window and thus we needed to hide ourselves while moving from one corner to the corner in our room. It just happens that you do not want to be fully dressed in your own room... Or we had to move the curtains which is rather strange during sunny days. After a few days I complained about that at the reception and all they offered was to put something in front of the window that would have solved the problem according to them. How come? Do they expect that you sit in the dark? Frankly I would not expect this situation in a 5-star hotel and thus would not give away this room to clients during the work on the roof. Or at least we should have been informed in advance which would also make a little difference. For us it was a reason to leave the hotel one day earlier than initially booked.

We don't think that we will return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1.2 km away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
621 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
290 reviews
2.6 km away
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Le Chateau des Alpilles
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Chateau de Roussan
Chateau de Roussan
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
384 reviews
7.2 km away
Benvengudo
Benvengudo
#4 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
223 reviews
7.6 km away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#1 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa

Address: 9 Chemin de Canto Cigalo, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#3 Family Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range: $276 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vallon de Valrugues is a 5 star Hotel and Spa with 48 rooms and suites, elegant and personalized, mostly renovated in 2014. The Hotel is ideally located in a quiet area just 600 meters from the center of Saint Remy de Provence. You will enjoy discovering the gastronomic restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Vallon De Valrugues And Spa
Hotel Le Vallon De Valrugues St-Remy-De-Provence
Vallon De Valrugues

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing