We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amarante Golf Plaza
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Le Chardon Bleu(Sainte-Maxime)(Great Value!)
USD 149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
USD 140
USD 135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 149
USD 138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel La Plage(Sainte-Maxime)
USD 166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Domaine du Calidianus(Sainte-Maxime)
USD 222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Royal Bon Repos(Sainte-Maxime)
USD 201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Le Revest(Sainte-Maxime)(Great Value!)
USD 118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 232
USD 216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 270/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Matisse Hotel(Sainte-Maxime)(Great Value!)
USD 152
USD 120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lou Trelus(Sainte-Maxime)
USD 322
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
70
201
145
99
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
201
145
99
77
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 592 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2016

It's a great hotel in the middle of nowhere. literally. Expect to arrive here and leave here with car- there is no other way to get around if travelling off season.

It was a 4star hotel, but many facilities were closed the whole 4 nights we stayed. The biggest problem for us was the lack of a restaurant on sundays and mondays- they are all closed. the closest restaurants are a 15 min drive into sainte-maxime. there is no way one can walk that road since it's uphill and downhill and would take incredibly long. We ate a lot of chips and dried instant noodles the first day when we didn't know about this issue.

The saunas were also dissapointingly closed the whole time.

The rooms were pretty, big and with a lovely view, clean and working with tile floor and aircon. a minus was the 10 euro extra charge if one wanted to rent a empty minibar for the room- they could include the minibars empty in the rooms ready as many other 4 stars have done. The bed was really comfortable and soft and the blanket was warm and cozy.

We ended up using the restaurant when finally opened one time and the food was good- we took it as room service and they quickly delivered on a silver plate- literally.

I recommend travellers to stop by in sainte-maxime ( there is a carrefour center on the way into maxime as well as a lidl on the way to the hotel but still 15 min downhill from the hotel) and fill up on the soft drinks and snacks, since the offered minibar options are 55 euros for a coca-cola and some water.

I would have appreciated icecube machines by the elevator or in the reception or somewhere that would have been to the guests use, since there were no minibar or small fridge in the rooms to cool the drinks.

The indoor pool was lovely but the outdoor pool was freezingly cold.

They do charge extra for the underground parking, which we ended up using because of the indoor access straight to the parking, but the street is perfectly safe to park at if one would prefer. They have a gate a bit downhill when entering the golf areal, and that gate is closed at night so there is no entering after 9 pm (without code).

The hotel indeed has a bit of renovation need in the corridoors and public areas, but we were totally satisfied with our room in which everything worked perfectly and even if not the latest fashion we had no complaints. and the cleaning was everyday and they really did clean very well.

The terrace balcony to the rooms is superb, we had sun since early morning until 5 pm in the afternoon, and ended up just chilling on the terrace when not at the pool. The wifi access didn't always cover to the balcony, while working satisfactiory in the rooms.

There were no pool bar whatsoever, the outdoor pool was outside wifi range, and i didn't see changing rooms close to the pools, we were readily changed and used the robes provided by the hotel and left all stuff in the rooms. If you come with family be aware you have to have your own swim aids with you- they allow them in the pools (which are 1,20 m inside and 2 m outside deep) but they don't offer them or sell such at the hotel. we had with us them so it was no problem, but be aware of this. Those can be bought at carrefour as well. It's not allowed to play games at the pool area, so leave balls etc at home (or in the car).

The spa services did seem a bit pricey especially thinking of the situation- in the middle of nowhere. We didn't use them. However we did try out the golf at the putting area- it wa the first time for the child and the service was superb, we ended up lending the putters and balls free of charge. a really nice afternoon activity and possibility to train on the aim...

We actually loved the decor and the retro lux style in the reception and 9th floor- the chairs and everything seemed as taken straight from an old Bond movie. Yet the hotel if they renovate could keep the same style but just make it whole and clean- change the worn carpets to parquette or laminate or tile (which it seems they have partially done already), and re-do the textiles that has damaged by usage etc. The view is really breath taking when entering the hotel.

I would recommend this for golf enthusiasts, and for couple relaxing or families on shorter vacations. The hotel isn't althought a typical family hotel, there is very little activities for children exept for the golf and pool- no playroom or playground or toys etc. This could be a possible improvement also- renovate one of the chambers to a playroom for families staying here with toys and colouring and a small outdoor play area somewhere?

Room Tip: if possible take a room on higher floors for a more extraordinary view.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sungazer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe G, Directeur général at Amarante Golf Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear sungazer2016, bonjour from Sainte Maxime and thank you very much indeed for your comments and recommandations after your recent stay at the hotel.
Your writting is really interesting giving lots of informations to future clients.
I know we need improvments and renovations and we are still waiting for owner's confirmation to start it.
I'm sorry for the closing of some areas of the hotel during your stay some days due to the end of the season and lack of clients (except you...).
I took good note about some of your recommandations to take place the next season.

My staff and I really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again next year.

Warm regards

Philippe Guinel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Poor services in the hotel, the room is lite a old three star hotel, no fridge in the room. The cleaning is ok, i did not tried the Restaurant. Reception and courtesy Are are ok. The swimmingpool area is nice and the sap as well.

Room Tip: With view
Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matteo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe G, Directeur général at Amarante Golf Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear Matteo S, bonjour from Sainte Maxime and thank you for giving us your qualified comments about our hotel.
Thank you also to compliment the great job done by the hotel's team who do their best every day to satisfy our clients.
We are aware also about the renovation works that should be done in a near future.

Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again next year.

Kind regards

Philippe Guinel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We arrived at the hotel, 2 adults and 2 children after booking via Booking.Com. On arrival we were told there was a mistake with our booking as there were no rooms available to accommodate us. I stressed that I had put the correct details in when booking and had the proof! I was then told at reception that I had to pay €600 extra, which when I complained was dropped to €400 euros.

We were put in a situation of take it or leave it and told our contract was with Booking.Com. I have since contacted them but haven't received a reply.

Really, really not good enough to put a family in this situation.......shameful!

Room Tip: Make sure you've plenty on your credit card for the scam at checkin
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mitchell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe G, Directeur général at Amarante Golf Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Dear Mitchell C, bonjour from Sainte Maxime.

I'm sorry for the trouble caused at the time of your check-in, however I wish to make some corrections on your remarks.
First of all, our partner "Booking.com" perfectly made their job and I have in front of me the reservation and confirmation you and we received, for one superior sea view room with an extra bed for 3 adults from august 8 - 12th, 5 nights.
You arrived with 2 adults and 2 teenagers and you were proposed an upgrade into a family suite with a daily supplement of 120 euros for the 4th person accomodated. After some discussion this supplement went down to 80 euros per day for 5 nights (400 euros), which, I mean, is pretty fair considering the high season period.
So, I'm ready to assume any error from my staff, which is not the case here, and the partner you have choosen for your booking hasn't made any mistake either. This might be the reason why you haven't received any answer from them too.
Finally, every season, we have the pleasure to welcome and accomodate lots of families in our hotel, which is branded a "family plus" hotel in the region.

Except this point, I really hope you enjoyed our beautiful region and property.

Kind regards

Philippe Guinel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Good points:

- The personnel is amazing. Polite, kind and extremely helpful
- The view is breathtaking
- The restaurant possibility to eat indoor or outdoor overlooking the golf with the same beautiful sea view.
- Breakfast is buffet style with something for everyone and the staff once again present and more than helpful.
- Dinner, a proper meal with real meat for the children's menu and served just like for adults in beautifully presented plates. For the adults the meal was fantastic with excellent fresh ingredients. The staff once again were amazing.
- Indoor poor perfect for when the weather is not so good
- Outdoor pool a little chilly but beautifully set out

The down side:
- Potentially beautiful hotel but in dire need of renovation. The carpet both in the communal areas and rooms are all stained and paint work is peeling everywhere.
- The room was lovely and big with a beautiful terrasse but the bathroom showed signs of water damage and the carpet was in a terrible state. All the plug socket were connected to the light switched so the minute the lights were turned off the sockets no longer worked so very complicated to charge anything (we ended up unscrewing the light bulbs)!
- Wifi virtually inexistant in the rooms

If it hadn't been for the staff I would have been very disappointed by our reservation.

Room Tip: All rooms are with a view so they are all good.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Deruluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe G, Directeur général at Amarante Golf Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Dear Deruluc, bonjour from Sainte Maxime !

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to tell us about your experience and opinion after your stay at Amarante Golf Plaza.
I personaly thank you for your great comments about the hotel staff who daily do their maximum to make our client's stay as good as possible.
Your feedback is important to us.
Regarding your comments regarding the state of the hotel, we are waiting for the owner's decision to realize important works of renovation at the hotel to improve the quality of services.
My colleagues and myself hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Philippe Guinel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

First of all, we checked in and checked out within 30 minutes.

The Good.
Breathtaking views of Sainte Maxime and Tropez, very helpful check in staff Laura who also was understanding when we decided to check out 30 minutes later. The fact that the staff had the courtesy and the sense not to charge us. The room itself was clean but !!!

The Bad.
Upon check in there was no assistance to empty our vehicle not a massive issue but necessary when you check into a 4 star hotel. The hotel itself is so dated, very old furniture, design and quality of interior. The spare bed for our son was more suited for a camping site very disappointing.

The Ugly.
The reason we checked out immediately was due to the very poor upkeep of the room, very clear that this hotel had not had a face lift in an eternity. I blame the management they have a fantastic location with breathtaking views and rooms that are disgraceful. Bleached stains on the carpet, drinks stains on the walls, plugs that we broken, mildew on the ceiling, broken tiles etc etc. The management should be ashamed of themselves the hotel is a stones throw from St, Tropez. A clear indication of a lack of investment and short term gain mentality.

Luckily we found another hotel within the hour.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Julianrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe G, Directeur général at Amarante Golf Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Dear Julianrs, bonjour from Sainte Maxime and thank you for taking the time to tell usabout your recent and quick visit at Amarante Golf Plaza and I'm sorry the hotel didn't meet with your expectations.
You're right when writting about the exceptional situation of the hotel and the abolute necessity of renovating the property.
We are waiting for the final owner's decision to make these important works.
I feel sorry you didn't stay more with us, the hotel having excellent other points to make your stay confortable and relaxing.

Kind regards

Philippe Guinel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews