We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable stay in Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Meyerbeer Beach
Ranked #1 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A reasonable stay in Nice”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We had a resonable stay at the Hotel Meyerbeer in Nice. The hotel is in a good location - approximately one block back from the beach, cafes nearby, and approx 15 mins walk to the old town. The area felt slightly seedy so may not be appropriate for single female travellers. There is a lift in the building that isn't available to hostel guests, but since there is only 1 flight of stairs this isn't a problem. The reception staff were polite, if not warm, and spoke excellent English. The room was pleasant and of a reasonable size. The furnishings were obviously cheap (Ikea?) and a touch rickety. The bathroom was adequate though quite small. The only real downsides were the quality of the towels and bathmats (appeared very marked and ragged) and the noise. We were located on the same level as reception, which was noisy until midnight each evening, when the kitchen and common room appeared to be closed for the night. This was not a huge problem to us, but wass a nuisance and would be a significant issue if you were a light sleeper or wanted an early night. Perhaps the hostel could look at putting a door in to separate rooms from the common area? We didn't use the kitchen area but it appeared to be well equipped and there was a good 'community' feel among other guests. We didn't partake of breakfast but this was provided at a reasonable price. This place was reasonable value for the location and price, but a few tweaks would improve it significantly.

Room Tip: We stayed on the same level as reception, which (as per my review) was very noisy. I did not go up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourist82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    83
    30
    8
    18
See reviews for
11
44
89
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Myself and a friend booked a private twin room for 5 nights. We booked expecting a basic hostel but the amenities put it somewhere between a hostel and a hotel.

The hotel is situated just off the main Promenade des Anglais on Rue Meyerbeer. There are stairs from a foyer up to the hotel and no lift available, but as we only travelled with hand luggage this was no problem for us.

When we arrived the receptionist was very friendly and efficient, as were all the other staff we encountered. They were all knowledgeable about buses and excursions.

Our room was clean and bright with two metal framed single beds. One minor gripe was the bed covers which were just cheap fleece blankets and not quite warm enough for the time of year. The sheets were very fresh and the beds were made daily.

Each room has its own en suite bathroom. The shower pressure was good but the water temperature was a bit hit and miss. The was also no shower curtain or screen so the bathroom got a bit flooded after showering. The toilet didn't flush very well, but if you held down the flush button it would clear. The bathroom was really clean and for the money we paid it was nice to have our own private facilities.

The room also featured a flat screen TV with plenty of French channels (no English ones I think, but as we both speak French it was good for us!), a table and two chairs, a large wardrobe with hangers and a small kitchenette with a fridge, sink and two hotplates - very useful as the communal kitchen area is very small.

The breakfast included was good - cereals, croissants, brioche, jams and nutella, coffee, juice etc.

As other people have mentioned it was a bit noisy, especially as we travelled during the American spring break, but the hotel does market itself to young people on a budget. We still managed to get a good nights sleep as we hadn't booked the holiday to party.

It's nice that towels and beach towels are included.

If I ever go back to Nice I would definitely stay there again. It's great value for money in an expensive city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinguoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had a horrible experience at this hotel. The trouble began when we first arrived and our room was not ready at 3:00pm. We were promised that it would be ready by 3:30pm but were told upon returning to the hotel that the cleaning staff would need an additional hour. There was plaster dust all over the hallway floor as the result of a renovation project, which we tracked into our room. The receptionist tried to aggressively sell us tickets for the “Nice Party Bus” three times in one afternoon. Two polite refusals should have been enough to get her to stop hawking the tickets. In addition, the window shutters were stuck open and could not be closed at night. The English skills of the hotel staff were poor at best. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke5214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynnewood, PA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed in a private room for three nights during spring break. PROS: Front desk staff was very helpful and the hostel offers a variety of services like DVD rentals, guide books, free wifi / computer access, beach chairs, and free breakfast. 5 minute walk to beach, 15 minutes to Old Nice. CONS: Very loud, could hear through the walls and outside of the room / building. Towels in bathroom also were slightly dirty and the room smelled of mildew. Would go back on a quieter weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Meyerbeer, the room only have fans they are so hot, the lockers dont work, my stuff got taken, the staff arnt freindly especially the owner he was very agressive especially when I advised my items were taken, they overcharged my credit card. Once they have access to your credit card they make additional transactions. Do not give them you card details. One of the worse hotels I stayed in Europe & Nice..

I would never stay there again.. Dwayne

Room Tip: All the rooms are hot no airconditioning do not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustGuy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#89 of 204 in Nice
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Fontaine
#5 of 204 in Nice
420 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyerbeer Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyerbeer Beach

Property: Hotel Meyerbeer Beach
Address: 15 rue Meyerbeer, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Nice
Price range (per night): $77 - $252
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Meyerbeer Beach 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Meyerbeer Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing