We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with stunning views to the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Petit Palais
Ranked #1 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with stunning views to the sea”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed here because of it's close proximity to the University where my wife was working for a short period. I was little apprehensive about reviewers comments regarding it's location. Yes it is in a hilly part of town but this gives the hotel fantastic views across the city and the Mediterranean. The hotel is situated amongst some beautiful villas in an up market part of the city. The hotel has character in abundance and is a delightful change from the more sterile feel of chain hotels. We had some teething problems with the wi fi but the staff and manager could not have been nicer and helped me fix the problems. The rooms again were delightfully kitted out in a traditional French style and our room had a balcony with stunning views. Not particularly large but sufficient.The bed was large and very comfortable. The bathroom had a small bath and shower. There was a wc and a bidet. We did not have breakfast but it is served in the garden .and looks a lovely spot to start the day. I would recommend coming to terms with the sun blind when you arrive. We were woken early with the sun streaming into our room until we realised that there is a cable that converts into a winding mechanism to open and close the blinds. We had fantastic sleeps after that.

Room Tip: Get a sea view. Fantastic views to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hunterstrystjambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    177
    24
    14
    11
See reviews for
106
351
32
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I really must apologise for not writing this review sooner. I stayed there with some colleagues in November 2010. We were there on a business trip & had a very enjoyable few days in Nice.We could not fault the hotel. Everyone was so kind & accomodating to us. We only ate there for breakfast, but we were were very happy with this. Yes, it is a bit out of town, but not that far. It is well within walking distance if you are reasonably healthy. It is definitely not a "plastic" stereotype hotel & has loads of character. Rooms were comfortable & clean. I really could not fault the place. If I ever pass that way again, then I shall have no hesitation in staying at the Petit palais.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlookinig the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malkiesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

A small quiet hotel with excellent views across Nice. Carole the receptionist was lovely recommending restaurants and booking us in if required, as our French isn't the best. If not travelling by car or taxi then the walk up the hill is a little challenging for those of us that aren't as fit as we should be but the hotel rewards you for the effort.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and would fully recommend it.

Room Tip: Sea view room a little more money but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LichfieldDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This hotel was just lovely. Excellent location, just outside the city centre, with an amazing view over Nice. The rooms are impecably decorated, and the owners are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This extremely well run small hotel on the nice hillside is a gem. The staff serve with pride, the owner always available and an excellent mine host. Bedroom with a fabulous view over Nice and large, comfortable and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kobie255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Hotel Negresco
#18 of 204 in Nice
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Petit Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Petit Palais

Property: Hotel du Petit Palais
Address: 17 Avenue Bieckert, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#3 Business Hotel in Nice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#3 Family Hotel in Nice
Price range (per night): $215 - $450
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Petit Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Petit Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Petit Palais Nice
Nice Le Petit Palais
Nice Hotel Le Petit Palais
Le Petit Palais
Du Petit Palais Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing