We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Roy Soleil

view from front balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from front balcony
View from balcony  enjoy the sunshine Sitting / Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
view from front balcony
View from balcony  enjoy the sunshine
Sitting / Dining Room
Elegant dining!
View from sitting room
Take in the view of the Azur sea
View of the Promenade des Anglais taken from the balcony
The cosy sitting room
Fully Fitted American Kitchen
Master bedroom
master bedroom
Second Bedroom (twins or double)
Main family bathroom
Master bedroom en suite
Front view of Le Roy Soleil
Hallway Le Roy Soleil
view from rear balcony
Enjoying the sunshine from the balcony
Port Vauban at Antibes
Ski at Isola 2000 - 1 hours drive from Nice
Visit nearby Monaco
view from front balcony
opposite apartment
balcony at night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Snowmonke...
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect home from home”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Have just returned from our 3rd stay at this wonderful apartment,it really is a home from home very comfortable clean and safe with a fantastic view from the balcony overlooking the sea and the Promenade des Anglais you could quite easily spend the whole day just people watching. Bus stop a couple of mins away which is good value for travelling around Nice if you don't want to walk all the time a 10 ticket pass costs €10 or single fare is €1.50, Carrfore supermarket a 5min walk away.
Arranging our holiday via Kate was simple and straight forward and as always Kate was very informative and professional we will be returning again as soon as we are able and have no hesitation in recommending a stay at this lovely home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aka_space
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding apartment in excellent location - wonderful balcony with mesmerising views”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My wife and I have stayed in a variety of apartments in Nice in the last ten years or so - this one is probably the best. Internally it is spacious (many on the Promenade are quite small) and very well decorated and equipped; it is clear that there has been great attention to detail.
The balcony is the outstanding feature. For us, watching the sea, the city, the joggers, the roller bladers, the walkers and all the rest is one of life's great pleasures. There is no doubt that there is a lot of road noise but for us that is all part of the rhythm of life. When you go inside and close the doors the road noise is greatly reduced and the bedrooms at the back of the apartment are very quiet.
We have stayed right in the centre of Nice before and there is no doubt that you do get a better selection of shops, markets etc on your doorstep in the centre. However there are plenty of reasonable shops nearby and the walk into town is pleasant and easily manageable.
There were minor niggles regarding dud light bulbs and a faulty electric blind. However the managing agent was very helpful and quick to react - but for us any such issues were of no significance in the sense that they had no bearing on the excellent overall quality of the apartment.
Staying in this apartment is a real treat. We have already booked three weeks next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Balcony
Liked least: Didn't dislike anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllyFerg
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic view which matched the Apartment”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is a true treasure. Not only does it have a beautiful view, but it is perfectly situated on the Promenade to enjoy all that Nice has to offer. If you rent this flat, you will hurt for nothing as it is appointed with everything you need to make it feel like home. Kate Muriel, the property manager, maintains it to perfection and is a wonderful wealth of knowledge concerning all things related to the South of France. I would not hesitate staying here again the next time we visit the French Riviera.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved everything about this apartment
Liked least: Nothing was unsatisfactory
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallens20...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at the Le Roy Soleil was simply perfect. The facilities were great and everything we needed was catered for; great kitchen, living room (with books and DVDs), wi-fi and a lovely balcony upon which we enjoyed our fresh patisseries from the local shop just around the corner. There was also a local Spar store just around the corner which catered for all our other supply needs. The location was so central; from the balcony we could relax and enjoy the calming view of the beach and watching all the people walking along the promenade. The old town with all its shops and restaurants was only an easy 20 minute walk.
Kate also gave us a great induction upon arrive; sharing lots of local information and events with us to ensure our stay was perfect.
I would recommend it to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaT824
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sitting on the patio for breakfast every morning for 3 weeks was heaven”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the apartment and we loved the spaciousness of it.
When you spend 3 weeks in an apartment, one must be comfortable and happy in one's temporary accommodation and I therefore I feel that I must also point out a few problems that we encountered as well.
There was a very dim light in the main bathroom, I had to use a torch to operate the washing machine, no light above the mirror and my husband could not even shave himself in there.
The bed in the main bedroom was terrible. I woke up several times during the night, always having to move from one end to the other. Waking up in the morning with a sore back is not a good way to start a day. We also found that the bed's mattresses in the same room were quite dirty and stained, something I am not used to and have never encountered before. We have stayed in apartments all over the world in fact.
I would therefore not give it 5 stars as I want to be honest about it.
The owner was most sincere about the problems and is going to look into it which is how it should be. We appreciate their concern.
We are in a beautiful apartment in Paris for 2 weeks at present and cannot find fault with anything in fact.
We do love Nice, have quite a few friends there, French and Irish and normally visit every 2nd year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the apartment, also its spaciousness and great location. We are surprised the two problems highlighted were not raised with Kate, our apartment manager, who was contactable at all times during your 3 week stay.

Firstly with regards to the bathroom, we had difficulty sourcing in Nice replacement bulbs for the light above the mirror, these had to be ordered via internet and have since arrived and been replaced. In addition we have replaced the central light with a stronger bulb, so all are now working correctly.

The bed in the main bedroom (as explained in our website) can be made up as 2 singles or combined to make a 6ft double. In retrospect you may have been more comfortable if the bed was made up as a single rather than trying to find a comfortable position in the center of the combined beds.

We have not had any previous negative comments from guests about the condition or comfort of the beds and feel your description of the condition of the mattress is greatly exaggerated. We would like to point out that all mattresses and pillows in the apartment are fitted with protectors which are washed on a regular basis to ensure constant high standards.

However in light of your comments and in order to reassure future guests we have decided to change and upgrade the mattresses thus ensuring a good nights sleep for all.

In spite of the problems we note and appreciate you giving the apartment 4 out of 5 stars, no doubt inspired by your off screen comments that "the apartment is in a great location, extremely quiet and well equipped plus the balcony has been well utilised over the last 3 weeks and overall we have enjoyed our stay very much".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing