We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture
Ranked #50 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

The hotel room was not especially comfortable, but the location , close to the promenade, old city, restaurants, buses made it worth the stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    225
    105
    36
    9
See reviews for
106
260
27
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I don't normally write reviews but felt it necessary as I found this hotel to be at such a poor standard.

The hotel staff on reception were rude (the male receptionist especially) and didn't take any action when our room was like a sauna. Please take note that they don't turn their air conditioning on until June 1st so if you went like us in May and in 20 degree heat the room will be unbearable to sleep in. You can always open the window yes, but the noise on the street will keep anyone awake!

Breakfast was poor - would not recommend for the price and as has already been mentioned on here lots of other cafes etc to go that would be better value and produce.

I go to Nice quite a lot and would recommend the B4 Nice Park hotel or B4 Nice Plaza these are just round the corner from the hotel and even closer to old town etc. The staff, rooms, and breakfast is 100 times better and at a similar if not cheaper price!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

A lovely intimate hotel in the heart of the cafe culture area of Nice but within easy walking distance of the Old Town and within 500 yds. of the Promenade.

We had a Junior Suite which had two bathrooms (!), a sitting area and a balcony overlooking a typical narrow Nice-ian street (with boulangerie, fromagerie, pharmacy and two fresh fruit and mini-supermarkets almost within touching distance).

We didn't have breakfasts in the hotel so cannot really comment although 13.50 euros. p.p. does seem rather steep. With so many cafes and restaurants in the neighbourhood, why bother?

The room was spotlessly clean and serviced each day. I would call the decor "comfortably shabby chic" and all the more relaxing for being so.

Another extremely "plus" point is the comfort of the mattress. Both my husband and I slept like logs - despite the noise from the street. Ear plugs are definitely recommended - particularly in view of the early rubbish collection wagons!

All in all - for a seaside city hotel, this is a gem and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Only having experienced the Junior Suite, the comments made by others about being able to hear other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jktraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Go for it if central, convenient location matters and you get a good deal from travel agent website (probably packaged with flight and comes to much lower than quoted in the hotel website). The room is reasonably clean and in acceptable condition (comes with wardrobe, desk, chair, small TV and not much space in between) but the quality of service varies (Katerina the receptionist was speedy in responding to queries prior to arrival but the male one I actually met didn't smile a lot). Light sleepers may not like the room because the door is very thin that you'll hear anyone walking past your door, especially at night and especially if like me, your door is near the lift. No view from the windows to speak of. Shower etc worked fine but on day 1 we got poor quality towels that small bits were left all over our skin after wiping.

The best bit of the hotel is the location. 5 mins to the beach and 15 mins to Cours Saleya. Next door to a couple of mini markets, patisseries, sushi shop and loads of restaurants. Very close to car park in Rue Grimaldi (EUR8 per night). But the hotel itself doesn't have parking bay. In fact the road in front of it is one way, narrow and can be busy at times. You'll have to drag your suitcase from the car park (2 mins walk and watch out for the dog poo).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HahaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

You need to know, I am not dodgy as I am backpacker since long time. Here I was on a business trip and had a normal price hotel.

> First step in the room, not really clean and there was hair in the bath. There was a terrible smell out of the drainage. So I expect that whole the carpet in the hotel was not really clean at all (at least it smelled like that).
> In the night, the walls are like paper! As people next to my room came home, it sounded like they are standing next to me. You hear all the water lines really good and the doors quailty is poor (lot of light from the corridor came in).
> In the morning, breakfast was not good at all. Cheap toast bread and low quality food. Coffe was okay at least. I just ate breakfast there once, the other days I went to the market right next to the hotal before I went to work.
> The staff was ok. Not bad, not good, Just ok.
> The location was really good. It's a 5-7 minute walk to the old town of nice and the shopping street is right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amikaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#56 of 211 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Centre
Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Hotel de la Fontaine
#9 of 211 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#24 of 211 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Centre
BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture

Property: Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture
Address: 2 rue Maccarani, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Quality Hotel Flore Nice Promenade)
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Nice
#24 Business Hotel in Nice
#29 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#36 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price range (per night): $83 - $269
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Flore Nice Promenade is a 4-star hotel ideally situated in the centre of Nice. The hotel offers 65 rooms that have been carefully thought out and designed for your well-being with a refined, warm Provençal decor. From 6pm, let's enjoy of our HappyTime with Provençal savors in our living room or in the patio : drinks, wines, apetizers... let be tempted yourself ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia APAC, HotelTravel.com, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Flore Hotel
De Flore Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing