We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,588)
Filter reviews
1,588 results
Traveller rating
447
628
303
137
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
447
628
303
137
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar old town great location top floor place massena the bus very nice hotel small pool superior room the main shopping area privilege room air conditioning long weekend central location flower market sea front breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 1,588 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018

I went to Nice to spend a weekend with my mum. The hotel is in a very good position, very central and 5 minutel walk from the beach. From the terrace you can view the sea and a beautiful sunset. The hotel is surrounded by little bars and restuaurants that are very lively during the weekend. The staff is young and friendly and they could speak good English, something pretty rare around Nice. We had the Privilege room on the 3rd floor. The room was very clean, bright and clean, with a nice view, a big rainfall shower and a big television. It was a bit too small, so I would probably recommend it to couples more than to a mother-daughter situation. The only problem was that on Saturday night it was a bit noisy, due to the people that were partying in the streets, but that could be avoided by requesting an inner room, not facing the street, I presume. We went to the terrace for a drink at sunset and it was really beautiful, even though the upper part with the pool is closed during the winter, but we had been informed about that. The buffet breakfast was really good, with plenty of savory and sweet food, good quality baked croissants and a lot of different choices, including healthy ones. If you are a big fan of good coffee, you won't find it there or in any other place in Nice, as fas as I am concerned! It has been an overall very pleasant experience and the hotel is suitable for couples or families.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stefania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edouard C, Directeur général at Hotel Aston La Scala, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Good Morning Mrs,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your stay in our establishment. We are glad you had a very pleasant experience with us.

However we are truly sorry to learn you were not fully satisfied by the size of your room. As mentioned on our website our standard room size is of approximately 21 square meters, those measurements are standard for a city Hotel in Nice.
In a continuous effort to improve our guest experience we are currently working on a control room to change the windows of our establishment to improve the soundproofing of each room and improve your comfort.

We are responsive to your comments and strive to offer a satisfying experience in our establishment. Therefore, because we believe providing you with a well-tailored service is of the utmost importance, we will study a way to improve our coffee and show you that we do everything to better ourselves.

We thank you deeply and sincerely for your trust and would be delighted to host you again at the Hotel Aston la Scala.

Edouard Courgeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Location is the main reason for this hotel, seconds away from Place Masséna and minutes from the promenade and the Vieille Ville, you really can't do much better than that.

The room was clean and well maintained, but tiny and a little claustrophobic. Room had a bizarre feature where the bed was right next to a "windows" which opens to the immediate shower area in the bathroom.... you would want to be very intimate with your roommate for this arrangement. There was a "blind" on this window but with the bathroom light on, it was like a strange peep-show. Not an issue if you are traveling alone or as a couple I suppose, but an odd feature in a hotel room.

Hotel did have external electronic blackout blinds where were great, and the bathroom was well equipped and stocked. There was a safe in the room too.

However, what really annoyed me was the WiFi policy. I haven't seen something like this in years - €18 per day to surf at "normal" speeds, or opt for the "free" WiFi. Yes, they technically offer "free" WiFi if you don't want to pay, but its seriously limited to the point it's actually useless. In fact, I measured the speed of the "free" WiFi, and it never really reached 1Mbps, the kind of speeds one got in the early 2000's. It was so slow and unreliable I actually abandoned it and moved to my mobile phone for internet, which is not acceptable for the 4 star hotel.

This is the sort of nonsense that hotels did back in the 1990, and this hotel needs to get with the times. Fast and stable WiFi is a minimum expectation for business travelers. WiFi is not something that should ever be charged extra for, and especially not for an extortionate €18 a day!

Hotel had a pool on the roof, but it was closed at this time of the year, so I can't comment. Hotel staff were a little dour at check-in, there were three suited individuals all facing out from behind this really tiny reception desk, and it felt like I was checking into a funeral home. Didn't try the bar or food, so can't comment.

This hotel is four stars and it should impress - the rooms are fine, albeit small, and the location is great - but had I known about their archaic WiFi policy, I would not have chosen to stay here at any price.

Overall, a somewhat disappointing experience and I would not recommend if only for the ridiculous WiFi policy.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edouard C, Directeur général at Hotel Aston La Scala, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your stay in our establishment.

We are truly sorry to learn you were not fully satisfied by the size of your room and our internet connection. As mentioned on our website our standard room size is of approximately 21 square meters, those measurements are standard for a city Hotel in Nice.

We are responsive to your comments and strive to offer a satisfying experience in our establishment. In a continuous effort to improve our guest experience, our team acts to meet your expectations. Therefore we have taken action very recently to upgrade our internet connection with a Fiber internet connection. All rooms of the hotel are now equipped with a Fiber internet connection

Because we believe providing you with a well-tailored service is of the utmost importance, would be delighted to host you again at the Hotel Aston and show you that we do everything to better ourselves. We thank you deeply and sincerely for your trust and hope to host you again at the Hotel Aston la Scala.

We thank you deeply and sincerely for your trust and would be delighted to host you again at the Hotel Aston la Scala.

Edouard Courgeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

See comments above under poor experiences and time wasted attempting to have these corrected by Team Members who say yes to everything and deliver nothing, until taken to a higher Managerial Level.The Team lack discipline and good training.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BATBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edouard C, Directeur général at Hotel Aston La Scala, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your stay in our establishment.

Please accept our most sincere apologies regarding any inconvenience you have experienced during your last stay with us.

We aim to provide you with the quality of service you are entitled to in our establishment. Therefore, we can assure you that your remarks will be dealt with great seriousness as your satisfaction and your comfort are our number one priority.

Because we take pride in providing a customized service, I invite you to contact me personally so that I may answer you.

Kindly provide us your details at the following email address : ast.gm@hotelastonlascala.com.

Edouard Courgeau
Assistant de Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Love this hotel and stay at this hotel every time I am in Nice. Well located and great value for money. Fantastic view from the cocktail bar + swimmingpool area. Staff very accomodating and cannot imagine this hotel without Mr. Alex who is so supportive and helpful on all levels - thank you for yet another great stay with Hotel Aston La Scala

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Milo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Very Good location Good Service and breakfast.But dinner wasn'tGood and expensive ,the beautifull bar at the rooftop stopped at 1.00 AM 31st December. ..!.!But was a very nice holidays ,amazing place and weather to.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank valeria z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews