We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - fantastic staff team - would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Ranked #43 of 203 Hotels in Nice
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We got off to a bad start with the hotel - where due to a mix up because i had booked my stay in two parts - originally for 2 days and then extended to 5 days... i was very upset and frustrated when i arrived on Friday evening to find out they had given our room away (the better room - but had charged me for it already) and they had grouped our stay into the smaller Harmony room...

It is to the hotels credit that they sorted the issue on Saturday - were extremely professional and polite throughout the time of resolving issue - for which we were grateful.

The staff were all very friendly, the roof terrace is a huge bonus - and breakfast there was lovely. I used the spa for a pedicure and the lady there was also very friendly and very efficient at her job. Coffee on the roof terrance was 5.50 euros - which is a little steep - but not much more than in the town....

The wifi was an issue for us - it was very weak in our room (5th floor) and if you ventured to far out on the roof terrace - the wifi also dropped out... this led to frustration - but not impossible. I did have to check in for our flight home downstairs on the computer in reception - as we just couldnt connect!

The reception staff were extremely helpful and knowledgable and the location of the hotel was perfect for us.... a short work to the promenade - plenty of places to eat around about - but quiet location in the evenings...

Warning - their Harmony rooms doesn't appear to have showers... only a bath with a shower head low down.. if this is an issue for you - its worth noting.

The lower level rooms are awaiting a refurb... and we saw a 1st floor suite that was extremely tired and dingy! The upper levels seem to be done. Because of the issues we had - we ended up in a suite on the 5th floor - this was meant to have been refurbed... and the bed and drawers etc were def newer, but the door to the toilet and main cupboards as you walk in were very 'tired' to say the least. Again it is to the hotels credit - that these things became unimportant as we stayed - because the other things were ok.

Overall - it was a good location, and we would recommend it - but be careful when booking that you get the room requirements you want. It is a good price if you have a basic Harmony room - if you want more i think the costs increase more than are warranted.

Room Tip: upper level rooms more refurbished than lower level... some rooms have balconies - others dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michel t, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Bonjour

Thanks a lot for your kind review; as you can imagine these are always very helpful for fellow travellers... and also for us ! I was delighted to know that we could sort our the difficulty and that you enjoyed your spa

It is always better to reserve with us directly, as we can be in control rather than going through third party who do not always pass on the information you give

We all look forward to welcoming you again : you shall always find our best rates and packages on our website splendid - nice . com or by email to info @ splendid - nice . com.

In autumn we shall open a brand new, extended, larger, fitness room..

Thanks again and have a splendid evening

michel tschann - président

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

We have just returned from a four night stay in the hotel. It was in a very good location convenient for both the Promenade des Anglais and the shopping district - also close to lots of Restaurants.
The hotel Reception Staff were excellent - knowledgeable about the area, and giving immediate attention to our requests - we asked for an iron and this was sent up to our room very quickly. Also we found the wifi to be very good.
The bedroom was good with plenty of storage room - we also had a nice balcony with a table and chairs. A fridge was provided with soft drinks that were complementary, and these were replaced as we used them.
We felt breakfast was only average - the hot food was just ok, so we preferred the cold buffet which included smoked salmon.
There is a lovely roof terrace with amazing views over Nice. However when we wanted to sit there the day after a thunderstorm we found all the seat cushions absolutely soaked through which made this area uninhabitable for the day. We felt let down by this as part of the attraction of this hotel was to be able to sit on the roof terrace. We could not understand why management had not taken the cushions in when the thunderstorms were forecast. However, despite this, we still enjoyed our stay, and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank freddavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michel t, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Bonjour

Thanks a lot for your kind review; as you can imagine these are always very helpful for fellow travellers... and also for us ! I was delighted to know you enjoyed your stay ,the terraces, the hotel's location, .. and sorry about the cushions still being a bit wet; storms are sometimes unpredictable and we obviously did not react quickly enough

We all look forward to welcoming you again : you shall always find our best rates and packages on our website splendid - nice . com or by email to info @ splendid - nice . com.

In autumn we shall open a brand new, extended, larger, fitness room..

Thanks again and have a splendid evening

michel tschann - président

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel staff friendly and very helpful. Very clean near to all amenities. All in all we had a brilliant time in nice and would certainly recommend staying here. Only downside was poor WiFi access.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michel t, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Bonjour

Thanks a lot for your kind review; as you can imagine these are always very helpful for fellow travellers... and also for us ! I was delighted to know you enjoyed your stay ,the terraces, the hotel's location, .. but surprise about your comments regarding the WiFi as usually we have no difficulties with it

We all look forward to welcoming you again : you shall always find our best rates and packages on our website splendid - nice . com or by email to info @ splendid - nice . com.

In autumn we shall open a brand new, extended, larger, fitness room..

Thanks again and have a splendid evening

michel tschann - président

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

This was a short stop over in Nice
Hotel is very well located and five to ten mins walk to beach
Room was fine - i got a good deal on last minute as well
Parking outside and not too bad price wise
Helpful folk at the hotel
I would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidTraveller6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michel t, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Bonjour

Thanks a lot for your kind review; as you can imagine these are always very helpful for fellow travellers... and also for us ! I was delighted to know you enjoyed your stay ,the terraces, the hotel's location, and the views...

We all look forward to welcoming you again : you shall always find our best rates and packages on our website splendid - nice . com or by email to info @ splendid - nice . com.

In autumn we shall open a brand new, extended, larger, fitness room..

Thanks again and have a splendid evening

michel tschann - président

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We stayed at the Splendid Hotel with our 8 month old baby. Upon arriving, the staff realized the room we originally booked was a little cramped with the portable crib they set up for us, so they moved us to a larger room. They even provided a small stuffed toy for our baby to keep as a souvenir. The rooftop pool was very clean and well kept. The beach that you have access to (Sporting Plage) was great and also very accommodating for baby. The location of the hotel is not far from the shopping district, restaurants and beach. My husband and I also left a few things in our room on accident (I guess that happens with a baby!) and the staff was very helpful in mailing them back to us in the United States promptly. My only regret is that we only stayed here for one night and we are looking forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NYC_8389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michel t, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Bonjour

Thanks a lot for your kind review; as you can imagine these are always very helpful for fellow travellers... and also for us ! I was delighted to know you enjoyed your stay ,the terraces, the hotel's location, and the views...

Indeed, we love babies: they are our future and deserve attention; I only know it is not always easy to travel with them

We all look forward to welcoming you again : you shall always find our best rates and packages on our website splendid - nice . com or by email to info @ splendid - nice . com.

In autumn we shall open a brand new, extended, larger, fitness room..

Thanks again and have a splendid evening

michel tschann - président

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Musiciens
La Malmaison Nice
La Malmaison Nice
#23 of 203 in Nice
211 reviews
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#20 of 203 in Nice
1,070 reviews
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#53 of 203 in Nice
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#12 of 203 in Nice
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Hotel & Spa

Address: 50 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens , Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nice
#5 Spa Hotel in Nice
#27 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $120 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Hotel & Spa, part of the Warwick Hotels & Resorts, is located in Nice city center, 5' walk from the beaches, casinos, shopping area and Massena Museum. Its 128 rooms and suites are elegantly furnished and very comfortable with full bathrooms, satellite TV, free WiFi, tea making facilities, free soft drinks in the minibar, safety box etc. On the 8th floor, a panoramic bar : l'EssenCiel, swimming pool and heated jacuzzi. On the ground floor, a spa featuring Decleor and Phytomer natural products and essential oils with 2 cabins for treatments as well as jacuzzi, hammam. Fitness et sauna are free for hotel guests. Private underground garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Splendid Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel And Spa
Splendid Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing