We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would for sure stay again in the future if in Hyeres”
Review of Hotel des Palmiers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Palmiers
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Hyeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2015

We stayed 3 nights at the Casino Les Palmiers as we had to attend a wedding in Hyeres. Despite the size of the building, it's a small hotel (less than 20 rooms). I must admit we were not impressed at first sight (the back of the casino is undergoing some works and does not look very well maintained), but once we walked in we felt relieved. Be aware that the main business is the casino, so the hotel is more an "add-in". The reception is a small desk next to the casino entrance, and the hotel elevator is accessed via a small corridor on one side. The room was however very nice, large and well appointed, clean, quiet and well taken care of. All rooms have a nice terrace (large enough to fit a table for 3 or 4 and a deckchair). Ours had a gorgeous view to the sea. I must admit the terrace could have been a tad cleaner, but Hyeres is very windy and close to the sea. The services of the hotel are rather limited, and breakfast is only served in the room, but enjoying it on the terrace was really nice ! Having stayed in other hotels in Hyeres, I would not hesitate to come back to the Casino, though it would be great if the management could work on some improvements for the guest experience (we could see some water leaks on the roof in the main corridor in front of room 307 and 308, some signage and the vending machine look rather cheap, one needs to open some fire doors right after leaving the elevator, there is no ramp to carry heavy luggage into the reception, there are still old fashioned keys and bolts on the room doors and no safety locks). We did not eat at the Casino restaurant, but to be honest there are several really nice places in Hyeres with a lot more character (e.g. Le Jardin, Le Pavillon Thai). The hotel is very well located if you are planning to visit Hyeres. Staff was very friendly (at least to us French speakers).

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZinnekeReiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffroy M, Directeur de l'Hôtel at Hotel des Palmiers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedbacks regarding your last stay in our hotel.
We have taken note of your comments and thank you for taking the time to share your experience
See you again
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2015

Great room (303) on the second floor had a lovely balcony and everything you needed. Reception did not speak any English so had to check in on on Google translate. Only overnight that was pleasant and we had a great meal over the road at Le Ribbs. Parking on premises.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This place is not really a hotel, it is a casino offering a few rooms on top of the casino (last floor). But rooms are of good quality and we enjoyed our stay there (5 days in august): rooms are big, clean, very calm, very comfortable and with great terraces. I advise to choose a room with view on the old city and its castel rather than a room with view on the see as the see is very far and the view is much more on the parking than on the see...
Breakfast is ok although we would have welcomed more variety (e.g. eggs, delicatessen). It must be taken in the room, but this was not a problem for us, we took it every morning on the terrace with the view on the castel, that was really a nice way of starting the day.
To improve:
- the parking is free but you need to move your car every 19h otherwise you pay... We had to pay extra fees when departing due to this and the hotel did not want to reimburse, which really iritated us...
- the restaurant of the casino is very bad, don't go there, you'll find plenty of great restaurant in the old city.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view on the old city and its castel (not on the see!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WENDYMON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

For a 3 stars we were disappointed by the hotel and brasserie. Everything is fine with the room.
The terrasse of the basserie is average and the food is not great. There are still some smoking rooms, so close your windows at night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johann p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Perhaps it is unfair to rate this place partly based on its location. Hyeres is a working class, unimpressive town. Perhaps it's unfair to judge it without having experienced other accommodation in the region (which fares even worse on Tripadvisor). We chose this as the best of a bad lot in the area - and that is what it was. Not bad in general, if you can overlook the area. But certainly expensive for what you get. I guess I can recommend it, but at the same time, I can recommend avoiding Hyeres.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hyeres hotels
1 km away
Best Western Plus Hyeres Cote D'Azur
0.4 km away
Mercure Hyeres Centre Hotel
4.7 km away
Hotel Le Mediterranee
Hotel Le Mediterranee
#6 of 32 in Hyeres
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Ibis Styles Hyeres Centre Gare
0.5 km away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#23 of 32 in Hyeres
189 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel La Potiniere
Hotel La Potiniere
#4 of 32 in Hyeres
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Palmiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Palmiers

Address: 1 avenue Ambroise Thomas, 83400, Hyeres, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Hyeres
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Hyeres
Price Range: $124 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Palmiers 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its elegant and contemporary profile, our charming hotel welcomes you to Hyères right in the centre of the Côte d'Azur. The Hôtel Casino des Palmiers commands attention and invites one to prolong a stay in this unique and well-preserved corner of the Côte d’Azur !The Hôtel Casino des Palmiers, open all the year round 24h/24, provides you with a unique stay where everything is designed solely for your comfort…Our hotel is ideally situated in the town centre of Hyères, a domain of palm trees, near to the Mediterranean sea. It offers elegant, air-conditioned rooms with private terraces overlooking the islands or the old town.All of our rooms have free Wifi connection, a flat screen, satellite television with Canal+ and a private bathroom in Italian marble, with a bath. All, also, have lift access.Spend a relaxing moment with a drink at the Bar in the Casino area and come and taste the Mediterranean specialities in the Palm’hyères restaurant.The Casino des Palmiers regularly puts on shows and concerts to provide an atmosphere of complete relaxation.The ’Hôtel Casino des Palmiers in Hyères, also has, 1200m2 of reception rooms for seminars, study days, cocktail parties, but also celebratory meals, weddings, christenings and communion receptions… Always ready to listen, our commecial department offers you personalised and sophisticated evaluation, made to measure services, especially adapted to your needs for the success of your events.Municipal Parking (parking providing for a 19 hour stay – depending on availabillity)Infrastructure for people with reduced mobilityMeans of payment accepted: cash, cheques, Bank Card, Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Restaurant Tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Palmiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing