We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
58
50
15
2
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
50
15
2
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Loved our stay at Hotel Oxford, Denis the hotel manager contacted us ahead of time to work out how we could check in early. Super helpful, very knowledgeable and great to chat with. We had visited a vineyard in Nice called Chateau de Bellet (highly recommend!), we brought wine to drink during our trip but needed to cool it - sometimes hotels get funny about these requests but Denis was super happy to help. In fact turns out Denis was from Nice and knew the vineyard - so we shared our wine with him :)

The hotel has a lot of character, very quaint - the room was very clean.

Has private parking for anyone driving. Situated about a 20 min walk to the centre of Cannes when you fancy a drink!

Recommend this hotel to people who like somewhere a bit quieter, like to support the locals and enjoy somewhere that feels personable.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel_Luff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

The hotel is about 2 km from the city center and the sea. Since you can't find easy parking in Cannes, we left the car at the hotel ( they have a good parking yard for free), and took a bus. it is not that a problem, but be aware there is a walk.
The hotel rooms are tinny, and the walls are very thin. so we could hear everything on that was said on the other rooms.
It is a very old building. but was good for two nights stay, and not expensive.
One advice: do not take the breakfast deal (12Eu each). you can get much more at the boloungerie near by, for 5-6 EU each. The hotel's breakfast is croasson and jam, and coffee. We had it at the first morning, and skipped it on the day after.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ofer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel is charming, with a lovely terrace, and ideally located so as to avoid the Cannes crowd but still close to the centre.

The double room itself was clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The air conditioning is a plus.

Finally, the staff was very friendly and thoughtful.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Emilie02840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

The location of the Oxford hotel is very practical and have a private parking very convenient .
The 19th century building is charming with all the modern equipment such as electric shutter,air condition and free breakfast is gourmet .
The price is very reasonable for Cannes

Room Tip: room 24 is the best with balcony
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d0mut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

This hotel is under new management. Mr. Mougenot is now the manager and is making some great changes. I've known him since our days in the film distribution business together and he's also produced TV Series and documentaries. He will do (and has already done) wonders for upgrading all aspects, as not only has he been to film markets and festivals, but his family vacationed there so he knows Cannes like the back of his hand.

He has totally remodeled the Terrasse with new furniture and decorations. It can now hold 60 to 100 people for cocktail receptions and 60 for dinner. Having entertained clients with cocktail receptions in the past I think the Oxford is a perfect place near Cannes, but just far enough away to keep the party crashers away from your reception (having experienced this problem in the past). When there are thousands of people attending these markets spending can get out of hand. It's an inexpensive taxi ride from the center of town to the hotel, or walk, or hop on a bus.

Mr. Mougenot knows all the best restaurants in town and those that might be on a back street but with great food and service. From experience I know it takes years to learn all these neat places, as I've been traveling there for 25 years.

From a business point of view, if you are bringing a large staff to Cannes to man a booth, the market might be providing you with a 4 star hotel, but only are offering accommodations a long bus ride away for your staff. I think this is the perfect option for keeping everyone close to the Palais at reasonable cost.

If you are new to Cannes, I do recommend the Plage du Goeland restaurant, which is the closest beach restaurant to the Palais. Very nice people, but if you are there for a market you need to book a table for each day the very first day you arrive in Cannes, as they run out of tables and people will stand for 30 minutes waiting in line. Good place to entertain clients with a short walk from the Palais.

Room Tip: Rooms with Balconies.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews