We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good experience”
Review of Hotel Le Cavendish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Le Cavendish
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a good experience”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We spent 2 nights in the hotel La Cavendish. It was a present from our friends for our celebration. The best thing was location, it is quite near every spot you would wish to visit.

Breakfast is very fresh and has a real selection of cheese, The rooms are impeccable with high quality french amenities. Staff is very helpful and non intrusive. It's not a big hotel but a quite friendly place where we spent a very good time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilap_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    146
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
64
506
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

J'Adore.

Le Cavendish is fantastic! This hotel has old world charm yet amazing features and service. A free happy hour... in FRANCE... with snacks? Who would have thought since breathing costs you about 10 cents each breath in this country. The hotel staff are wonderful and very helpful!

I would stay here again and again. I realize Cannes is full of superstar hotels but this hotel competes with the best of them! The character of the hotel itself is incredibly gorgeous and artsy and the rooms are fantastic! You even get your own terrace overlooking the street and shops.

It's quite romantic here. I give Le Cavendish 5 stars even if the hotel is not considered to technically be 5 stars, it deserves 5-star praise completely!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I booked this hotel on the basis of the TripAdivsor reviews and I couldn't be happier. The staff were amazingly accommodating. The breakfast really is a treat and the open bar between 6 and 9 was a great way to meet other guests and to relax before going out for dinner. We had one of the Rotunda rooms and these were immaculate and comfortable with a lovely balcony on which have a glass of wine or a morning coffee. On arriving we had one of the smaller rooms which was equally as elegant and comfortable, so much so that my fiancée wasn't too keen to move to what was theoretically a much nicer room.

The hotel is only a short 5 minute walk from la croisette and the buzzing night life and the hotel provide towels for the beach.

The hotel really is great value for money and much better than the others I have staying in on previous occasions.

I'll definitely be back on my next visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed here over the Memorial day weekend and the property itself is nothing great and a typical average European hotel (having stayed at many other boutiques around the world, it would be a stretch to call this one so). This is more of a 2 or max 3 star establishment.Most of the staff was good. I say 'most' because the check in lady (also plays the concierge) was a bit indifferent and too serious at times. While she was resourceful, she wasnt very friendly at all which kind of takes the fun away from interacting with her (esp since she was the first person we interacted with). The breakfast staff, bell man etc were super friendly. I give them an 'average' rating below only because of the other staff (else would have given them a poor rating). Also our room had a hole in the floor which was just covered up with a carpet, which was odd. Furniture was very old - dont go by pics on the website. Location was good. While the price was OK (we paid around $200), I would choose another hotel next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkLove2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavendish11, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Cavendish, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

May I introduce myself as the owner of the hotel Le Cavendish. I thank you for your stay with us and try to meet with each of every customer but seems we did not get the possibility to have a chat together.
I just wanted to advise you that we did receive last week the official french new homologation of the hotel as a 4* property. This process is long, all rooms are inspected, all services are rated according several mystery guests visits. Of course, no hole in carpet could not have been accepted by the inspectors / and for information, the carpet has been changed 2 years ago .
As far as you mention the old furniture, we decided with the designer to recreate the atmosphere of these "demeures" owned by british lords in Cannes during last century as the building was built in 1872 . A famous french designer specialised in 18th century based in Paris has furnished all rooms and public areas : on their website, you will be able to view some of our pieces . I can understand that this style does not meet with your expectations of a " boutique hotel" but all pictures on the website show exactly that style of atmosphere.
I am sorry about this but do appreciate you liked our friendly and helpful staff.
Christine WELTER
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

A lovely little hotel near to the main attractions. Staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to check out train/bus times etc and recommended places to visit. You can borrow towels from the hotel to take to the beach. I think the hotel is associated with some of the main front beach sites and can provide access to loungers etc. Continental breakfast varies each morning but always comes with lovely fresh croissants, freshly squeezed orange juice and a choice of teas! Complimentary snacks with open bar each night are also varied - different cheeses, selection of cold meats, dips etc. We intended to meet friends in Cannes and were invited to take them back for complimentary drinks at the hotel also (a really nice touch). The rooms are perfectly good although not particularly plush, but clean and comfortable with plenty hot water, towels toiletries etc. The lift is like something out of an Audrey Hepburn film!

Room Tip: The rotunda rooms are definitely the nicest ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoberie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 126 in Cannes
786 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.5 km away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
510 reviews
0.3 km away
Novotel Suites Cannes Centre
0.2 km away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#12 of 126 in Cannes
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cavendish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cavendish

Property: Hotel Le Cavendish
Address: 11 boulevard Carnot, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price range (per night): $205 - $323
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Cavendish 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few steps away from the famous Croisette and the luxurious shops in rue d'Antibes, Le Cavendish 4* hotel in Cannes offers an intimate getaway in a refined and cozy setting. Belle Epoque facade, lift dating back from 1920, stairs in marble of Carrare, genuine wood floors combine elegantly with a charming decoration for a definitely intimate stay. With the exclusive upscale service of luxury hospitality, Le Cavendish - boutique hotel in Cannes - and its 34 rooms has become one of a kind place to stay. Whether in couple, family or for business ... Enjoy Cannes differently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Cavendish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing