We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A magical, one-of-a-kind experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Avignon, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rick P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical, one-of-a-kind experience”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Believe the reviews! This accommodation is unlike any other, with fastidious and artful attention to details. We stayed here with three adults and two teenagers and there was plenty of living space for all. Amaury was a most gracious and helpful host. A few suggestions: enjoy Avignon, rather than use it as a jumping off point for the rest of Provence so that you can enjoy the town and these incredible digs (you will not want to leave). Embrace Amaury's suggestions and bring the smallest car that can possibly accommodate your luggage if you are driving, for the streets are ancient, tiny, and Byzantine. This Atelier is well worth the extra coin if you appreciate sumptuous and transformative living -- which is the whole point of going to the likes of Avignon in the first place. Recommended unreservedly for those with full mobility.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tb1250
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breath taking and beautiful. Better than any 5 star hotel. Amaury is the most amazing host!”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you are reading this review all I can say is stop looking and book now! We stayed over the new year and wish we never had to leave.

Amaury is the most amazing host! He will make sure your stay is special and wonderful. He went to the train station 3 separate times to get each one of our party. He went out of his way to get us to lunch on our first day before everything shut. He knows the area and will not steer you wrong. Ask him, his advice and suggestions are amazing. Jill his partner is wonderful. They are 2 of the warmest people you will ever meet.

The apartment is beautifully appointed and immaculate. We had great evenings sitting by the fire, drinking wine and enjoying each other. It is centrally located and easy to get around Avignon as well as for exploring Provence.

My husband and I have never repeated a visit to any vacation spot until now. We will be back and can't wait to stay with Amaury!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason A
2 reviews
“Fantastic Avignon Accommodations for Families with Children”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Our American family of four (two boys 9 and 6) stayed four nights at the Atelier d'artiste in Avignon. We were a bit nervous bringing the boys to Avignon, not certain there was enough to keep them busy. We were wrong.

Our fantastic Avignon adventure started when Amaury, the property owner, met us at the apartment entrance. Amaury is a wonderful man, spending 25+ minutes showing us the apartment (how to use the A/C, washer/dryer, etc) and providing an oral history of the artist and building he used as his residence and studio. When the home tour was completed, Amaury spent another 30+ minutes making recommendations for dining and entertainment. He took our kids likes/dislikes into account. We visited three of his recommended dining spots... and wow were they great. Much more personal than picking from tripadvisor. Amaury really got our Avignon trip off to a great start.

The apartment itself is beautifully decorated and truly amazing for a 16th century building. It retains much of its historic character while simultaneously offering modern amenities (a/c, wifi, great kitchen, etc). The kids room in the attic is also well thought out... our kids especially enjoyed the spiral stair case that leads up to that room. It was nice having a garage for the car since I can't imagine trying to find a parking spot within the walls of the city. The washer/dryer was also a plus. While the pictures on the property page are representative of the place, the apartment in person is much more charming and beautiful.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. In fact, I wouldn't even look at other properties in Avignon before booking here again. Amaury added so much to our trip that separating the apartment from his hospitality is hard to do.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
954thomas
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“What a fantastic place ...”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The pictures you see do not do it justice, nor does the description, and in fact, nor will this review. In short the place is amazing. This is a 18th century home that has been completely remodeled top to bottom with nothing but love and attention to detail. It's not the ultra modern renovation, it's a modern renovation that keeps the charm and comfort of a French country villa, with an artist's flair, but with all the modern amenities.

This is a fantastic place for the family. We had our three kids stay on the top floor (see picture 18) and they loved it. They where living in a castle up there. There is even a circular staircase which helps seal the effect.

The apartment is on a non-pass through street so it's nice and quiet but it is also super close to Palais des Papes and the town center where the action is. We surely lucked out when we found the place and the owner, Amaury, went above and beyond to help us have a great stay.

Does this all sound to good to be true. I hope not. We spend several days there and a very much looking forward to making it back to Avignon and the Jean-Pierre Gras’ artist studio.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing