We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good”
Review of Hotel Le Colbert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Colbert
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quite good”
Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

This hotel was comfortable, conveniently located, clean, and well run by a very helpful couple. It is quite a good value. Breakfast was consistently appetizing and interesting, if a bit insubstantial for American tastes. The only downside, for us, was the decor in the rooms. The owners are fans of modern Polish art, and have decorated the rooms accordingly. One of us found an art poster in our room disturbing, so we took it down. We would, however, stay again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WincVaLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    118
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
34
294
44
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Avignon is one of my favorite cities in the world, and offers a great base for visiting nearby sites in Orange, Vaison-la-Romain, and wine tours. I have stayed at Le Colbert twice, in 2009 (solo) & 2011 (with partner). The owners of this quaint hotel are very friendly and take pride in their work. The location is wonderful, especially for those travelling by train or bus, as it is super close to the stations and tourism office, yet inside the old city walls on a quiet side street. Breakfast is different, as others have noted, but we found it to be a delicious deviation from the normal continental fare offered. If you don't like different, there are a ton of cute cafes nearby. One downside is the lack of elevator, but just carry the luggage and enjoy the good nightly rate the lack of elevator warrants.

Room Tip: If mobility is an issue, ask for the main floor, or lower level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AnnaCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Hotel Colbert is a very nice and affordable hotel with clean rooms (we had two) and comfortable beds. The service was very good too. Our only regret is that we could only stay there for one night. If we return to Avignon we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ubkvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Nice small hotel. The location was ideal and the staff was friendly and accomodating. Easy access to everything that Avignon has to offer. We plant to come back soon.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dimmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I also selected this hotel on the basis of the Trip Advisor reviews. I was travelling on my own for the first time and it was nice to see so many good reviews from solo travellers.
Patrice the owner speaks fantastic English, and, both he and his wife made me feel very welcome. Patrice pointed out the local points of interest and even made a hotel reservation for me on the Sunday.

As I was on my own I had one of the smaller rooms off the courtyard garden, although it would still be big enough for two. The room was comfortable and clean - what more can you ask for. The bathroom was big enough and the shower, although it had to be handheld which took some getting used to, was hot and powerful enough.

The location is fantastic, just three minutes from the bus stop from the TGV station, five minutes from the railway station and round the corner from the Tourist Information Office. In the other direction there are many fantastic restaurants and places to find a meal or just breakfast.

I will be going back to Avignon and I will be basing my stay around the Hotel le Colbert if I can get a room as it appears to be very popular.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
784 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,510 reviews
0.4 km away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#16 of 69 in Avignon
785 reviews
0.1 km away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#26 of 69 in Avignon
499 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Colbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Colbert

Property: Hotel Le Colbert
Address: 7 rue Agricol Perdiguier, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#2 Family Hotel in Avignon
#3 Business Hotel in Avignon
#6 Best Value Hotel in Avignon
Price range (per night): $115 - $136
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Colbert Hotel in Avignon is an authentic little "hotel of charm", located right in the heart of the historic center of Avignon. The hotel stayed in a small and typical quiet street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Colbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Colbert Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing