We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding courtyard restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 83.Vernet

83.Vernet
Ranked #112 of 591 Restaurants in Avignon
Price range: USD 18 - USD 32
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding courtyard restaurant”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

While walking in Avignon, and looking for a different place to have lunch (not a pizzeria again!!!), we passed in front of this renovated old building with modern-old bar in front. Once passed the front door, you get a glimpse at a courtyard (closed on 4 faces), hidden from wind, with trees for shade...a magical scene and special place. If you visit Avignon, look for it at 83 Joseph Vernet, a bit out of the normal tourist area but worth the additional walk! Food at lunch was reasonably priced for such a classy place (10-20 euro for a very good quality meal) and good choice of wine. Try the 83 special lunch plate, a mix of all appetizers on the menu, great combination. We also tasted the beef tartar (very good) and a handmade cheeseburger à la française! Outstanding with the best fries of our trip. A must if visiting Avignon!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    190
    88
    70
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“fine food, good service”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We have been informed about 83 Vernet restaurant by the front desk of our hotel Cloitre de St Louis, it is located on rue Vernet 83 in the old town, beautiful, minimalist decor,must be even more interesting in summer since they have a large courtyard. We had a menu (for dinner) 165 Euros for 5 adults including one bottle of Pouilly Fume and tip. Food was perfectly cooked and presented, service carefull, they also have a very pleasant bar at the entrance.
Another recomandation of our hotel ,Le petit bedou on the same street , Vernet, was unfortunately quite an umpleasant event, service very, very slow and poor, food less than average, we were 5 and ordered seabass, after half an hour the waiter returned only to tell us that they had only 2 seabass, so 3 of us had to change the order. we the food finally arrived they brought us with a different side dish that the ordered one and the waiter told us if we insist on changing the side dishes ii would take another 30 min! The place smells badly: kitchen and sewage mix.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaela12G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Modern Bar/restaurant with great menu”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The food was delicious at this establishment.Modern music not outdated cruddy stuff.Sleek furniture and surrounds.Lighting is very dark but worth it for the quality of the meal we received.My Husband and I and our son all had an entree.,main meal,and two of us had dessert.I had the mushroom soup followed by the Rigatoni with prawns/mussels and garlic sauce.We also enjoyed local wines.Please note the menu is only in French,my husband can speak a little French so we were able to order without too much fuss,I think it's important to make an effort.The waitress was a little alouf but it was tolerable.
We ate early 7.30pm on a Saturday evening by the time we left it was full ,so very important to make a reservation.This is by far one of the best meals I have experienced in France so far.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn28-00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great find in Avignon”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My wife and I found 83.Vernet during the day during a walk around this wonderful city. It is located in a courtyard of an old church abby or monestary. Fortunately we ventured in and were welcomed by one of the owners. The location is historic and very nice with a reflecting pool in the middle of the courtyard and seating all around it. They had 2 excellent fixed price menus. One at 20 euro which was available until 2100 hours and one at 28 euro which was availalbe all night. We were one of the first customers at 2000 hours but by the time we left at 2200 hours there were over 150 people there. We had the 20 fixed price menu and really enjoyed the salmon (pave de saumon vapeur, sauce vierge). Everything about 83.Vernet was first rate with some of the best French cooking we experience during our trip.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt, France
Level Contributor
208 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“hidden gem!”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

My wife and I stumbled across this restaurant whilst spending a day in Avignon in late August. It is set in a very attractive and modern courtyard with running water through the centre.A great sun trap but plenty of shade is offered by large parasols. Modern food, excellent value, 13€ for a main course and just 4€ for either starter or desert. Large glass of wine at 2€ and coffee for a euro makes it great food, value, setting and service. This was lunchtime, the evening menu looks good too - we shall return. Oh and even the toilets were far out and spotless.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TodgeProvence_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 83.Vernet also viewed

 
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Been to 83.Vernet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing