We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ClaudiaYoung
New York City, New York

An Avignon Jewel

Review of Hotel d'Europe
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 June 2024via mobile
A perfect hotel. Charming and elegant. The designer was spot on. Furniture, paint colors, art on the walls - beautiful in keeping with the vibe. It’s Avignon personified. Book if you can. It’s the perfect place. Terrace on 4 is amazing and private. Room is tasteful and comfortable. Outside courtyard a lovely respite.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$235
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$186
  • Expedia.com
    AU$236
  • Hotels.com
    AU$235
0.2 km from Hotel d'Europe
Free Wifi
AU$434
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$348
  • Vio.com
    AU$312
  • Hotels.com
    AU$363
5.8 km from Hotel d'Europe
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$168
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$168
  • Hotels.com
    AU$161
  • Expedia.com
    AU$168
1.0 km from Hotel d'Europe
Free Wifi
AU$219
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$230
  • Official website
    AU$169
  • Hotels.com
    AU$230
0.9 km from Hotel d'Europe
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$193
  • Mercure
    AU$194
  • Expedia.com
    AU$179
  • Hotels.com
    AU$179
2.9 km from Hotel d'Europe
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$231
  • Booking.com
    AU$241
  • Expedia.com
    AU$242
  • Priceline
    AU$267
0.3 km from Hotel d'Europe
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$106
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$107
  • Hotels.com
    AU$106
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$107
6.2 km from Hotel d'Europe
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$80
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$80
  • Premiere Classe
    AU$76
  • Expedia.com
    AU$80
6.5 km from Hotel d'Europe
Free Wifi
Free parking
La vue depuis notre terrasse panoramique
AU$111
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$111
  • Vio.com
    AU$85
  • Expedia.com
    AU$112
1.4 km from Hotel d'Europe
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
The Pool at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Paradou
AU$120
  • Expedia.com
    AU$122
  • Hotels.com
    AU$131
  • Priceline
    AU$152
8.9 km from Hotel d'Europe
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Avignon
Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
987 results
Traveller rating
669
212
56
32
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
669
212
56
32
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old world charm star hotel beautiful courtyard large bathroom walled city within the walls old city walls la mirande france valet euros bridge square
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 987 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2024 via mobile

Hotel d’Europe offers the perfect location and luxurious 5-star hotel experience in Avignon. We booked two nights in a Superior room, and we were very pleased with the large room size, the very large white marble bathroom, fully stocked mini fridge, beautiful tall ceilings, and the historic shuttered windows overlooking the courtyard. The hotel has been a fixture in Avignon for almost 500 years. Special recognition to the front desk team, who provided personalized service for me and my husband throughout our stay. The dining room and breakfast buffet was fantastic, and we were very impressed with the special attention we received from the server each morning. The courtyard was a lovely outdoor retreat to enjoy the Spring sunshine and shady corners under the huge tree branches. The hotel is a short walk to the Pope’s Palace, the Rhône river, the Benezet Bridge, Place de l’Horoge and restaurant options. We both loved the romance and history of Hotel d’Europe, and we would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ATLpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2024 via mobile

It’s a beautiful property, and a great location. However, their attitude and treatment towards us made it a poor experience. The bathroom lacked basic fixtures, and made it difficult to have a shower. Our repeated complaints were met with a shrug and an answer that “it is being refurbished and the fixtures have been ordered, but not here yet”. I am shocked they rented out an unfinished room - surely there are rules against that? When we checked out, and we told them we were not happy, the manager, through the front desk, gives a 20 Euro discount (which she upped to 34 Euros, the cost of a breakfast). Which was laughable, considering we just spent almost two and a half thousand Euros on a suite for a 3 night stay. She would not even talk to us. After paying 5 star rates, it is only fair to expect a 5 star experience, which it was not. Best to avoid this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sandeep U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2024

Booked a suite but would not suit my wife's disbilities so had a disabled access room which was ok. Lovely courtyard with good food. Nice staff. Valet parking good. Lots of help with arrival and luggage. Really enjoyed our time there. Front rooms would be too noisy.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2024 via mobile

Beautiful French style hotel with high ceiling, Venetian blinds.

Room and bathroom is very spacious but we were pleasantly surprised the hotel upgrades our room to prestige room which has a small lounge area.

Courtyard is charming as well.

Charming Old town city centre is just 5min away. 10min taxi ride from Avignon TGV.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

We booked the one Michelin Star restaurant in the hotel for dinner the next day and can’t wait to try.

Highly recommended

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Cath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2024 via mobile

We drove from Aix-en-Provence via Arles & Saint-Remy-de-Provence to Avignon to stay the night (on a French Impressionism drive through the South of France).
This hotel came up quick when you entered the city walls and took us a little while to circle around and find a place to park to unpack the car.
The amazing concierge staff helped with this and I’d recommend you turn left at the road just before the hotel and park in their small driveway area.
Hotel entrance was just beautiful. Felt like we had stepped back in time.
Check in was seamless and the staff were extremely helpful. They assisted with our luggage and valet parked our car.
Our room was huge and again felt like stepping back in time. It was clean, tidy and had everything we needed. The only thing I didn’t like was the shower in the bath. Seems to be a European hotel thing, not for me, but you may like it.
Hotel was easy walking distance to the town centre and all major attractions.
The staff were very accommodating in giving ideas of where to spend our time or restaurant choices for dinner.
The buffet breakfast was delicious with lots to choose from.
I’d definitely recommend this hotel if you’re in the area. It would be a place I’d stay at again if I was in the area.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Feebee0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews