We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tunera
Chicago, Illinois

Southern France by train- great location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Oct 2022via mobile
Basic hotel adjacent to the train station. We arrived via train to avignon. we stepped outside and quickly saw the train station. Walked less than 5 min. The area is ok. This is a large Ibis. The room was as we expected, small but prsctical. Bring your own face wash and conditioner. The Palace of the Popes was 15 min away. Lots of dining options within 10 munutes walk in the center. We took daily trips Arles, Orange, and Nimes. Great location to explore Southern France by train. We didnt have breakfast here. We walked to Monoprix (Super Market) for drinks, snacks, and water. We went to Petite Grand restaurant twice. Reception desk could be friendlier.
Date of stay: September 2022
Room Tip: use trainline app to book trains..
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicolas CIMETIERE, General Manager at Ibis Avignon Centre Gare, responded to this review
Responded 11 Oct 2022
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We hope to see you very soon !

Please accept, Madam, Sir, our best regards.

Nicholas
Manager of the Ibis Avignon center Gare hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$348
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$434
  • Agoda.com
    AU$316
  • Hotel Website
    AU$375
5.8 km from Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$235
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$187
  • Expedia.com
    AU$236
  • Hotels.com
    AU$235
0.8 km from Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
Free Wifi
AU$509
  • Expedia.com
    AU$553
  • Vio.com
    AU$410
  • Hotels.com
    AU$552
1.0 km from Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$168
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$169
  • Hotels.com
    AU$161
  • Priceline
    AU$168
0.5 km from Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
Free Wifi
AU$219
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$230
  • Official website
    AU$169
  • Hotels.com
    AU$230
0.3 km from Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$193
  • Mercure
    AU$194
  • Expedia.com
    AU$179
  • Hotels.com
    AU$179
2.3 km from Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$241
  • Expedia.com
    AU$242
  • travelup.com
    AU$235
  • Priceline
    AU$267
1.1 km from Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$106
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$107
  • Hotels.com
    AU$106
  • Vio.com
    AU$106
6.5 km from Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$80
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$80
  • Premiere Classe
    AU$76
  • Expedia.com
    AU$80
5.8 km from Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Pool at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Paradou
AU$120
  • Expedia.com
    AU$122
  • Hotels.com
    AU$131
  • Priceline
    AU$152
8.2 km from Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Avignon
Reviews (678)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveller rating
173
318
117
38
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
173
318
117
38
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station old city room was small but clean reception desk main sights the heart of the city two nights on foot minute walk excellent location the palais des papes wall noise palace orange receptionist pope
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 678 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2022

We chose this hotel on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews. Access was complicated as it's next to the central station and the whole station frontage has been dug up, surrounded by fences and apparently just left for years, with trees growing through. There was a path level with the station into the Ibis from the where the taxi dropped us which was fine. We did not need the car park but used the station on our last day to get on the direct shuttle to the TGV station, also the hub for hire cars. The other entry/exit was down a ramp underneath (unlit at night) with homeless people sleeping rough and crowds hanging around a fast food kiosk below. Creepy when on foot, but we had no trouble on the two nights we stayed. Behind the hotel run the main railway lines and in front the main route through town and the tramway but as it's triple glazed it was very quiet to sleep. Inside we had a warm welcome. The receptionist also ran the bar so was run off her feet at times. We did not try the restaurant - the city was too tempting, just across the main road and you're inside the walls, with restaurants everywhere. Our room was small but clean and functional. The bed was comfy with nice linen. Wifi worked fine, the a/c was quiet, and the TV was handy. Breakfast was the usual great Ibis selection which covers almost everything, even down to eggs and bacon. The only small problem was our key kept de-magnetising, despite keeping it away from phones so we had to bother the receptionist to fix it several times and we weren't alone in that. Otherwise, an ideal spot to visit Avignon.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amazonflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicolas CIMETIERE, General Manager at Ibis Avignon Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2022

Dear,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your last stay at the Ibis Avignon center station.

In our establishment, we are strongly committed to the quality of service that we deliver and know that we pay particular attention to your comments. We are happy to be able to personalize our relationship with our customers and your reaction is our best reward.

We are also delighted to have a new opportunity to welcome you back to the Ibis Avignon center station hotel.

In this expectation, we ask you to believe, in the expression of our best feelings.

Nicholas
Manager of the Ibis Avignon center station hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2022 via mobile

Excellent location right next to the train station, facing the old town walls, and a few second’s walk into the old town and all the main sights.

We stayed three nights: the first in a room facing the train tracks and the second, for an extra €5, faced the Pope’s Palace. Good sized rooms, although we had to be creative when it came to finding space for our suitcases.

Fantastically well insulated, we couldn’t hear a thing. There were five layers of glass in our first room!

Bathroom was modern and spotlessly clean.

A couple of tiny minus points were that the lift wasn’t working so we had to lug our cases up the stairs and the first receptionist we came across on our first evening wasn’t the friendliest.

Note: As in other places in Provence, you need to be very careful with all your belongings. There are quite a few unsavoury and unlucky characters hanging around the station and in town.

Room tip: The extra €5 for the view towards the old town is worth it
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BaselLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicolas CIMETIERE, General Manager at Ibis Avignon Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2022

Dear,

Thank you for sharing such a nice comment on our internal satisfaction program.
We are delighted that your experience at the Ibis Avignon center station hotel took place in the best conditions, and that it was pleasant.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again to share even more wonderful moments.

Cordially,

Nicholas
Manager of the Ibis Avignon center station hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2022 via mobile

I spent quite some time researching hotels in Avignon and decided to stay here because of the promised view of the wall. Not only is this view from a small window, I had to change rooms two times because of a sewage smell. In the end, I left after the first night and the hotel kept my money for two unused nights. Of course a reaction will follow on this review that all this was my own fault. Spare yourself the trouble and stay somewhere else.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank traveller10300
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicolas CIMETIERE, General Manager at Ibis Avignon Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2022

Good afternoon,

I am sorry for the delay in responding to your emails. I own 2 establishments and sometimes it takes me time to take stock of what happened.

I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the service and regret that you left in a hurry. It is true that we have been suffering for a few years from aging pipes and bad elbows causing odors to rise. This phenomenon is very random from a geographical point of view (different sides of the hotel) but also from a time point of view since these odors can be present in one place in the morning and no longer be there in the afternoon. Attempts by different chemical and technical means have improved the phenomenon but have not solved it.
Our owner is fully aware of this problem and a request for the renewal of these pipes requiring the temporary closure of the establishment will be carried out during the next works of the hotel.

To come back to your stay, my colleague at the reception offered you a room just above 203->303 and therefore the same technical column for moving out. The chances of success were slim and he indeed did not think of it. There was nothing malicious against you. On the contrary, he thought he was doing the right thing by offering you a change of room, limited that evening since we were almost full.

If I understood correctly, the next morning, furious, you decided to leave the hotel to go and stay elsewhere and I regret it of course. When you notified us at 4:00 p.m., my lead receptionist wanted to upgrade you to one of our premium rooms, without a bad smell, but you even refused to visit it.

I understand your dissatisfaction and I regret that you decided to leave on your own without any prior commitment on our part to reimburse you for the next 2 nights. Our policy very focused on the satisfaction of our customers and the implementation of solutions and offering you a move to a room where we are sure there would be no worries was the best solution. We could also have offered you a commercial gesture on site for all these inconveniences.

It is difficult for me, moreover under the threat of legal reprisals which will lead nowhere, to follow up on your request for reimbursement.

Please accept, my respectful greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2022 via mobile

The rooms are good but we felt insecure outside the hotel. Weird people stay outside the hotel between the train station and the parking. We saw hookers and possibly drugs dealers outside. Avoid walking near the train station at night it’s not safe.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MaxDiLuvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicolas CIMETIERE, General Manager at Ibis Avignon Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion of your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again soon!
I am disapointed to discover this range (normaly for my teams, product...) out of our responsabilities is for outside.issues.

Kind regards,

Nicolas
Directeur de l'hotel Ibis Avignon center gare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2022

I stayed eight nights in total. Despite the lift being out of action, it was an enjoyable stay. It's one of the friendliest hotels I've stayed in and I was made to feel very welcome from the start. It's perfectly placed for trains (and buses) for exploring the Rhone valley, and the Palais des Papes in the heart of Avignon is only fifteen minutes walk away. Oh, and breakfast had the creamiest scrambled eggs ever!

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank casley94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews