We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Nearby Hotels
Boutique Hotel Cezanne(Aix-en-Provence)
USD 221*
USD 183*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Aquabella Hotel(Aix-en-Provence)
USD 226*
USD 187*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Mas d'Entremont(Aix-en-Provence)
USD 238*
USD 231*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 166*
USD 131*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Saint Christophe(Aix-en-Provence)
USD 135*
USD 124*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence(Aix-en-Provence)(Great Value!)
USD 102*
USD 94*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Concorde(Aix-en-Provence)(Great Value!)
USD 127*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Villa Gallici(Aix-en-Provence)
USD 671*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Maison d'Aix(Aix-en-Provence)
USD 655*
USD 468*
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 402*
USD 391*
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,090)
Filter reviews
1,090 results
Traveller rating
526
398
130
27
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
398
130
27
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsm gallerycours mirabeaula table dubalcony overlooking the poolfour star hotelpool serviceold townlovely hotelshort walkmacaroonsbreakfast was excellentbusy streetspecial thankswell located hotelenjoyed our staystandard roomonly stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,090 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I spent a week in Provence, and half of that time was based at the Roi René in Aix. What a top notch place all around! The room was gorgeous - we especially enjoyed relaxing on our balcony - the breakfast spread even better than what we had in Paris, and the bar a great place to enjoy a nightcap. The hotel front desk staff- Nina in particular - provided exceptional service and recommended some wonderful restaurants for us to visit. We both strongly endorse this hotel as a perfect place to stay while in Aix.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bessylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethMendes, Manager at Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review regarding your stay at the Grand Hôtel Roi René MGallery by Sofitel.

We are so glad to read your warm comments regarding our team, your accommodation, our breakfast, and so on.

We try to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We already shared it with our team : It was a great encouragement for all of them as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you in our establishment.

Sincerely,
Elisabeth MENDES - Operations Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights at the Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre. We could not fault the staff who were excellent as was the breakfast. The room we were allocated was modern and clean. The gym was a pleasure to work out in and the swimming pool was very clean and had a very calm influence.
We would certainly recommend the hotel and will definitely be visiting it again in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethMendes, Manager at Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Grand Hôtel Roi René MGallery by Sofitel with all the TripAdvisor Community.

It's a real pleasure to receive your positive feedback. We will share your compliments with our team. Your satisfaction is a continual source of encouragement for all of them.

We hope to welcome you again and deliver you an equivalent quality of services.

Sincerely,
Elisabeth MENDES - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Very helpful desk staff including excellent assistance with our logistics, which was essential. Pool area bar seating was very enjoyable in the evening and the staff there was charming and very helpful in suggesting cocktails and food. Location great. The two buses we needed had stops literally just out front and a few steps down. The hotel is only one block or two from Cours Mirabeau, but nicely off the main tourist pedestrian areas. While desk staff told us we could get just coffee and a pastry in the bar instead of the large buffet breakfast in the dining room, the service staff were very confused by this and we needed to talk with staff three times before getting served 20 min or more later. Used the laundry service. Garments done well and returned timely. Room was just basic, but ours was a cheaper room. Hotel decor is supposed to be modern luxury, but for me, I think it just misses and is a bit odd, just not my taste. And too much use of the plum color all over. But pretty none the less. Would have prefered a classic or vintage decor as befitting the hotel's history.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tracy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethMendes, Manager at Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Grand Hôtel Roi René MGallery by Sofitel.

We are glad to read that your stay was positive and pleasant for you and that you felt warmly welcomed by our staff. Your satisfaction is essential, that's why your feedback is very important to us. We take into account your remarks, in a permanent ambition to improve the quality of our services.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Elisabeth MENDES - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We stayed for 3 nights to join with friends in celebrating their son’s wedding at a nearby bastide. The staff were incredibly welcoming and most spoke excellent English. 3 days before we flew out, the hotel rang just to ask if we wanted a double room or a twin room. A nice touch.

Many have commented on the breakfasts which were comprehensive and delightful however a single 2-slice toaster does not work well when half the breakfast guests are English. Apart from this the breakfasts were great.

We were lucky that 2 of our 3 days were sunny and we were able to take advantage of the outdoor heated pool and terrace. The location is excellent and within easy walking distance of the main Cours Mirabeau and from there, to the narrower cobbled streets of the old town which were delightful. On the Saturday, there was a market in the Cours Mirabeau which was selling clothing of surprising quality with much of it being made in Italy but of course, offered at market prices. On the Sunday, the stalls had given way to a display of classic cars, most of which were in concours condition so without walking too far, there was a lot to see and do.

We had one lunch and one dinner in the hotel as well as a light meal when we first arrived and all were tasty, pleasantly served and reasonably priced.

Our final day coincided with the arrival of a number of conference guests and when they broke for lunch all at the same time, the staff seemed to get overwhelmed and it was difficult to get some attention but that didn’t detract from the overall quality of service and our enjoyment

Finally, a few words about the room. It was a Classic Room – the most basic of the available options and it was really rather small. There were no drawers to put clothes in and it was hard to get an acceptable level of lighting in the room for my wife to put on her makeup which therefore had to be done in the bathroom. But the bed was comfortable, the bathroom sparkling clean and was rounded off with complimentary water (still and sparkling) each day as well as tea and coffee making facilities.

We had a great time which was made by the friendly professionalism and excellent customer service exhibited by all staff – no-one let the side down. Would most definitely stay again

Room Tip: Pay as much as you can afford to get a better room
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jonathan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethMendes, Manager at Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at the Grand Hôtel Roi René MGallery by Sofitel with the TripAdvisor Community.

We are really glad to know that your experience in our establishment was so positive and pleasant for you. Our location permits to our guest to fully discover our beautiful city, and we are happy that you could take advantage of it with our beautiful sun. We will share all your positive remarks about the professionalism of our staff, your good thought will be the best recompense for them.

We hope to welcome you as soon as possible.

Sincerely,
Elisabeth MENDES - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We stayed here one night last month, visiting Aix for the Sisley exhibition, and were very happy with our choice. We received a telephone call the day before to warn us that there was no car parking available as it was full, which I found very thoughtful.
The welcome was warm and efficient and our room very comfortable. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant which served excellent food although the menu seemed a little unadventurous - we expected something more sophisticated at a Sofitel. Breakfast was very good and very varied.
The location is perfect, just a short walk from the centre of town, the Cours Mirabeau and the Caumont Centre d'Art which has the wonderful Sisley exhibition this summer. We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisabethMendes, Manager at Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Grand Hôtel Roi René MGallery by Sofitel with all the Community of TripAdvisor.

We attach a lot of importance to the quality of our rooms and the flavor of the products that we serve. That's why we are glad to know that you appreciated our breakfast. Our location is a real advantage to our guest, they can fully disfrute of the center of our lovely town. We will share your positive remarks about our staff with them.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Elisabeth MENDES - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews