We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Bucolic Idyll”

Review of Le Grand Courtiou

Le Grand Courtiou
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Grand Courtiou
The Lounge Room The Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Le Grand Courtiou
The Lounge Room
The Kitchen
TV Room
Trophy
The Landing
The Main Bedroom
The Purple Room
Through the round window
The Blue Room
The Mezzanine
The Veggie Garden
The Lake
By the pool
Summer afternoon by the pool
The Ladies
Monsieur Turpeaus Delicious Goats Cheese
Poitou donkeys near Mirebeau
Le Grand Courtiou
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Poitiers, Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Wordguy
WASHINGTON, DC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Bucolic Idyll”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you treasure peace and quiet, verdant countryside, bucolic views, ultra-comfortable beds and consciously minimalist interiors, Le Grand Courtiou is for you. We enjoyed our restful week here and appreciated the close proximity to so many of the Loire chateaux. David, the Australian property manager who lives in a separate gatehouse, is a superb and kind guide to the area, with suggestions for day trips and inside info on the best bakeries and restaurants. We found the traditional kitchen and all baths and bedrooms well-equipped, and really enjoyed the two fireplaces (LR and kitchen). In warmer weather the conservatory overlooking a small lake on the property would be a great spot for breakfast, and we could only imagine (in November) how inviting the pool would be in summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location and peace and quiet
Liked least: Comfortable chairs for reading would be a great addition.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceRedTr...
Edenbridge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Week!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely week at Le Grand Courtiou. A week of wonderful weather helped, as we spent most days by lovely, good-sized pool with our three young children just splashing about, or going for a row on the lake, or tormenting (sorry...visiting) the chickens to feed them scraps or collect eggs, or even pulling up some carrots to have with our dinner.
The house is very well equipped - we needn't have brought beach towels, or even kitchen supplies as the place doesn't get completely cleared out after each visit (unlike most holiday homes).
The beds are really comfortable and - important for a party of 6-footers - two of them are kingsize.
Satellite TV (with CBeebies) came in very handy for the youngsters' downtime, and David the caretaker couldn't have been more helpful.
The house is in the middle of nowhere - the nearest small town is Lencloitre, about 7-10 mins drive away. Lencloitre has a decent supermarket, boulangeries, and a few bar-restaurants, as well as the prettiest car park we have ever seen.
If it had rained for a week our time there may not have been so fabulous, but as it is we had a great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool.
Liked least: The flies.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amandella
London
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous in every way!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled as two families with 5 children aged from 6 years to 15 years and stayed at Le Grand Courtiou for 2 weeks. We could not have been happier!

it is a beautiful house which has been lovingly and sympathetically restored. It's very large and well appointed - loads of space for all of our party of 9 in the house itself. Set in a beautiful rural location it is exceptionally peaceful and the outside of the house is just as impressive as the inside. From the huge pool with diving board which kept the children amused for hours, to the rambling gardens down to the lake with boat, not to mention the chickens and their fabulous eggs and veggie patch - there is always a quiet corner to be found.

In the gatehouse lives the lovely David who was incredibly helpful during our stay. Nothing is too much trouble and he is very knowledgeable and passionate about the estate and a fountain of local knowledge. David is a true asset to both Le Grand Courtiou and to the guests who stay there.

We only ventured out a few times to the beautiful towns of Richlieu and
Poitiers as well as our daily trips to the local boulangerie and supermarket (about 10 mins away and very well equipped). We simply didn't have the inclination to leave Le Grand Courtiou!

We certainly plan on visiting again and just hope that not too many people find this gem! Truly fabulous on every way!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim T
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect French countryside escape”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and twelve year old daughter loved Le Grand Courtiou.
It combines history with a very modern and comfortable renovation, with the lake, gardens and orchard all picture postcard stuff.
Drove to local restaurants and an easy drive to Chinon for lunch and to visit the caves.
As a mad cook, I particularly enjoyed shopping for seasonal local produce at the several nearby markets and cooking at the chateau. Best beef casserole ever, scrambled eggs from the chateau's chooks and local goat's curd spread on everything.
Can't wait to get back in summer when the figs are in season.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being away from tourists and at least pretending to live like a Frencman
Liked least: The flip side of the isolation is that it is a ten minute drive to get the morning baguettes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark V
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well appointed farmhouse nestled in the heart of wine and history.”
Reviewed 4 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We tarvelled to Le Grand Courtiou with our two teenage sons in January of this year and had a marvellous time. Only an hour and a half to Poitiers on the TGV from Montparnasse we rented a car and drove the half hour to this rustic farmhouse.

Met on arrival by the live in housekeepers and a plate of cheeses and charcuterie we settled in for a relaxing three days. Within minutes the boys had clambered onto a rowing boat and where exploring the small lake at the back of the property!

The bedrooms are large,clean and very comfortable and the well appointed kitchen becomes tyhe central hub of the house. We found the local produce very good even in the heart of winter. There are even chickens, fresh eggs and a rooster affectionately known as DSK, although the affection is not always reciprocated!

The best thing about the house is the location. We took day trips to Angers and had dinner in Saumur ( as well as tasting the famous local wines). On a second day we visited Chenonceau and Amboise all within easy driving.

We loved the ambience of the place so much that we plan to come back here with friends next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience.
Liked least: I couldn't swim in the pool as it was mid winter
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing