We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing centre city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Relaxing centre city hotel”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We spent three nights here in May. We were travelling by car and found it initially a little difficult to locate. First impressions were disappointing: internet photos show a lovely garden and we were faced with a side of the street building. All was well however- the garden is at the rear and is a wonderfully relaxing spot; breakfast is served here in good weather.
The hotel is in a lovely old building which has been tastefully extended; ten minutes walk from the old port; five minutes from shops, restaurants etc. yet very quiet. No restaurant, but dozens within 5 minutes.
We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. Oddly, the lady we took to be the manager, though very much in evidence, made absolutely no effort to engage with, or even greet, guests.
There is a lovely little bar, very quiet, where the night receptionist was very helpful about serving drinks.
The room was fine, quite spacious with a well designed, well lit bathroom. Overbath shower.
Our only complaint: from the bathroom conversations from the next room could be clearly heard.
Car parking is available next door for a charge (€7.50 per day)
Breakfast is buffet style and quite good;€11.50.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    268
    34
    8
    1
See reviews for
80
482
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed here the last week in May. It was easy to find and we had booked the car park so no problem with car. The gardens are lovely and a real respite on a very hot day. Staff are very friendly and coped brilliantly with our attempts at french.

Staying a little away from the port gives a different impression of La Rochelle, lovely neighborhood restaurants and bars. Carefour ville, similiar to a centra just down the street, great for water and supplies.
Not cheap but worth every euro.

Room Tip: prestige room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Relaxyourface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Norfolk
Level Contributor
234 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

This hotel is fabulous. The building, the decor, the welcome, the service, the location. Wonderful rooms, mine overlooked the garden. Also a parking garage next to the hotel. Not a cheap hotel but worth every bit of cost. Do stay here when in La Rochelle.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fotofinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

A bit difficult to find and the curb appeal was not that encouraging. But, after all, it's what's on the inside that counts, and this hotel counts BIG in charm, elegance, comfort and friendly service. Had a deluxe room on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard and it was wonderfully quiet, spacious, and well-appointed. The service was attentive and very friendly. Good location for shopping and easy walk to the restaurant-mecca portside. Breakfast buffet had something for everybody (including eggs to order) and was reasonably priced. Good place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finder45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My daughter and I spent a 'short' week here in early May '12. We stayed in room 18, old building, overlooking garden at back - a large comfortable room together with a side-room which could have accommodated another person. There was also a not-too-well-cared-for balcony with access from the side-room. There was no extraneous noise from any
direction. The staff were professional and efficient and the receptionist was excellent. She had plenty of English if your French wasn't up to the mark. There is no lift, but that was not important to us. We had two single beds, by request, and the sofa bed in the side-room was changed back for use as a sofa; the t.v. was also in that room.
All of the expected facilities were provided and the en suite was spacious and well-equipped.

We decided to have breakfast at the hotel, even at the Euro11 per person, which some
reviewers felt was excessive, but was worthwhile in our opinion. There was a good choice of food/tea/coffee/juices etc. If you wished you could boil your own eggs and toast some bread. We got scrambled eggs from the kitchen and could have ordered hot porridge if liked. There was plenty of prepared fresh fruit and a large container of whole fruit - you could squeeze your own orange juice if you preferred the DIY variety! The diningroom was pleasant and overlooked the garden. Everything was pleasant in fact...the weather was sunny and warm
even though some rain had been forecasted.

We were not using a car on this occasion and took the bus from/to the airport (E.1.30 p.p. each way - no coppers accepted) and the bus stop is very close-by at each end. The receptionist offered to call a cab for us but we didn't bother with that. We hope to use this hotel again and that, in itself, is significant. This was our second trip to La Rochelle and we did not re-book the place we had used last year. However, there would be no hesitation next time.

Room Tip: Noise from street does not reach the back rooms. Book early and you may get the extra side-room as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judyjoycethejoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
1.2 km away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#4 of 49 in La Rochelle
683 reviews
0.9 km away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#8 of 49 in La Rochelle
572 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#9 of 49 in La Rochelle
538 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style
0.7 km away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 49 in La Rochelle
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Champlain France Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Champlain France Angleterre

Property: Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
Address: 30 Rue Rambaud, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
#4 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
Price range (per night): $148 - $217
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Champlain France Angleterre 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Champlain France Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Rochelle
La Rochelle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing